Digital Art Zone

 
   
24 of 72
24
Genesis Meets Poser - Introducing DSON Importer for Poser
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 346 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  274
Joined  2003-10-09
ken1171 - 12 October 2012 07:04 AM
fixmypcmike - 11 October 2012 09:57 PM
ken1171 - 11 October 2012 09:41 PM

I have installed the plugin in PP2012 SR-3.1 x64, and the Python scripts work without errors, but Genesis and all contents loaded from that runtime leave me with an empty scene. Poser claims the figure has been loaded and the name shows at the top, but I see no figure. I have installed the “Genesis Starter Essential for Poser”, adding it as an external runtime in Poser. I have also installed the DS package. I don’t get any errors when I load Genesis (or anything else from that runtime), but there is nothing on the scene.

I have followed the tutorials by the book, but I suspect this has something to do with *where* I have to install the “starter essential” files. The Poser version was installed at an external runtime, and then linked to Poser. 

I need some help here.

What is the path to the external runtime?

I had this problem too last night…I found that my problem what there are 2 “Genesis Starter Essential for Poser” files to install and I had only installed 1 of them. Not sure if this is your problem or not but I am thinking it may be..
So there are actually 3 files you need to install into Poser..the Importer itself and 2 “Genesis Starter Essential for Poser” files.
Hope this helps you!!

Genesis Starter Essential for Poser—> L:\DSON\Runtime\
Poser Pro 2012—> L:\Poser Pro 2012\
My main runtime—> L:\Poser 7\Runtime\

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 347 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  219
Joined  2005-07-18
Alisa Uh-Lisa - 11 October 2012 03:16 PM

Don’t know if this will help anyone - I was trying to figure out how to know which items have been updated.

This is a list in alphabetical order of the 96 items showing right now

A3 and H3 Shapes for Genesis
A4 and H4 for Genesis
Abominable
Alruna
Beasts and Brutes
Bella Hair
Benjamin for M5
Buccaneer Basic for Genesis
Casual Surf Wear for Genesis
Chelsea Hair
Clothing Cleavage Modifier
Dark Priest Poses for M5
David 3 for Genesis
DragonLord for Genesis
Eastern Riding Wear
Easy Going Poses for Michael 5
Elven Dress for Genesis
Elven Hair for Genesis
Ethnicity for Genesis Bundle
Ethnicity for Genesis: African
Ethnicity for Genesis: Asian
Ethnicity for Genesis: Native American
Expressive for Genesis
Fantasy Shapes for Genesis
Feminine Touch for Genesis
Feminine Touch for Genesis
G4 and F4 for Genesis
Gabi for V5
Gen 3 Iconic Shapes for Genesis
Genesis Bikini
Genesis Body Morph Resource Kit 1
Genesis Creature Creator Bodies
Genesis Creature Creator Bundle
Genesis Creature Creator Heads
Genesis Evolution: Body Morphs
Genesis Evolution: Head Morphs
Genesis Evolution: Morph Bundle
Genesis Evolution: Muscularity
Genesis Head Morph Resource Kit 1
Genesis Head Morph Resource Kit 2
Genesis Head Morph Resource Kit 3
Genesis Ranger
Genesis Starter Bundle
GOM Genesis Male Morphs
Hampton Hair
Handsome Head Morphs for Genesis
Handy for Genesis
James for M5
Knights and Knaves for Genesis
M5 Casual Male
M5 Photographic Poses
Magna Hart for Genesis
Manly Men M5
Medieval Male Peasant Clothing for Genesis
Men of Character II
Michael 5
Michael 5 3D Model Pro Suite
Michael 5 Pro Bundle
Morphing Fantasy Dress for Genesis
Night Guardians
Outland Marauder for Genesis
Pajamas for Michael 5
Pin Up Poses for V5
Poke-Away!
Posed for Victoria 5
Preppy for Genesis
Princess
Pure Hair Bubblegum
Pure Hair Casual
Pure Hair Classic
Pure Hair Nightlife
Pure Hair: Sleek
Pyrit Hair
Reby Sky for Genesis
SciFi Bunny For Genesis
Scoopback Mini Dress for Genesis
Sexy Silky For Genesis
Starla Hair
Stephanie 3 and FREAK Shapes for Genesis
Stephanie 4 for Genesis
Street Mage For Genesis
SWOLE for Genesis
Tori for V5
Town and Country for Genesis
Trixy Hair for Genesis
Troll for Genesis
V3 and M3 Shapes for Genesis
V4 and M4 Shapes for Genesis
Victoria 5
Victoria 5 3D Model Pro Suite
Victoria 5 Elite Ponytail Hair
Victoria 5 Pro Bundle
Victoria 5 Starter Bundle
Wicked Dance Fevah
Wicked Fairytale Morphs
Zac Hair

Very helpful, thank you, you’re awesome! grin Hopefully, this list will get updated with the coming additions by someone and become a sticky!!!

 Signature 

http://www.daz3d.com/media/3d/badges/images/badges/badge_16.png

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 348 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  730
Joined  2006-10-07
Dimension3D - 12 October 2012 07:08 AM
FSMCDesigns - 11 October 2012 02:58 PM

Any idea if GenX will updated to work with the poser version?

There’s no need for an update to GenX. The morphs created by GenX are loaded directly with Genesis when it is imported into Poser. To apply the DUF shaping presets generated by GenX to Genesis, I made a small script to load DSON files without Poser companion files. (The script can be downloaded here: DSON Loader.) However, the morph transfer itself will require DS, because GenX is a DS plugin.


You are AWESOME!! Has anyone told you lately that you ROCK!!? If not let me be the first to do so. Thanks for sharing this python script.

 Signature 

“When wrongs are pressed because it is believed they will be borne, resistance becomes morality.”  “The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not.”  “Most bad government has grown out of too much government.” —Thomas Jefferson.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 349 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1137
Joined  2007-10-17
Jepe - 11 October 2012 04:56 PM
Richard Haseltine - 11 October 2012 04:33 PM
Jepe - 11 October 2012 04:24 PM
Richard Haseltine - 11 October 2012 04:22 PM
Jepe - 11 October 2012 04:18 PM

How can I set/change the Default UV of Genesis for Poser? So far it loads fine into Poser but only with the V4 UV, I don’t need that, I want M4 UV.
Any hints?

If you apply a preset using one of the other mapping the UVs will be changed - I don’t think there’s currently a way to change them directly.

No, that’s not working unfortunately, Genesis still has V4 UVs, even after applying M4 Presets.

I loaded the Basic female, applied the Sample Jeremy preset and textures seem to lack seams so it’s working here (and I also did some more testing earlier with the same result, but I don’t have renders).

Well, you should have said that I have to apply the MC6 file of Sample Jeremy (the one and only M4 UV as far as I could see) first to change the UV of Genesis (for dummies like me! lol), bu it works now, Genesis changes the UV with that Sample file.
Thanks a lot for your help!

UV switching is a tougher thing to do, after the fact, we had to use the same tactic we used for Carrara 8.5.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 350 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2008-10-29

Hi,

I get already this error message. Can someone help me?

Thanks!

Image Attachments
error.jpgerror2.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 351 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  197
Joined  2007-03-10
Richard Haseltine - 12 October 2012 06:51 AM
pete.c44 - 12 October 2012 06:45 AM

Poser has been added to DAZ Studio version 4.5.1.6 Where can I find this 4.5.1.6? My Itemized list shows 4.5.0.137 as the Beta file…that is the latest version I can find. Also, will Reality 2.5 work in the 4.5.1.6 version? Thank you.

It’s not Poser that has been added, but the action for converting and creating Poser companion files (should you want to use something that hasn’t yet been updated in the store, or that you made yourself). See this thread http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/9471/

Thank you for the link.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 352 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  114
Joined  2008-04-10
pete.c44 - 12 October 2012 07:01 AM

Here is a quick-n-dirty animation test of the Genesis figure in Poser with an aniBlock import.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NASJ4YvDI2U&feature=youtu.be

Love it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 353 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1137
Joined  2007-10-17
AngelusPrime - 11 October 2012 04:57 PM

And another question. Will we be able to use Gen4 clothing on genesis within Poser? Or should we resort to the WW plugin?

Unless PhilC updates his Genesis shape, that won’t work. I am not even sure that would be possible, but I have learned not to underestimate PhilC. smile

Currently the only way to use Mil4 clothing on Genesis is through Autofit in DS. You can save Genesis with the converted clothing. Follow the conversion instructions in the docs and you can then open in Poser.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 354 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1794
Joined  2008-05-31

I installed the updated Genesis Starter Essentials in S:\DAZStudio\My Library as with the previous versions, and DSON suggested linking to that library per default so I did that. I can only see the Starter Essentials files in Poser though, despite there is other Genesis content in some of the folders, which is visible in DS: Will that other content become visible in Poser if it is updated to DSON format?

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 355 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  156
Joined  2007-11-26

OK. I went through DSON ALL, and re-set my downloads that he had on his page that I had bought. Most of them don’t have the DSON part to them yet. I checked the last night or very early this morning. To excited to sleep. Will they be checked to see of all the parts are there. Cause I still can’t get them to work in Poser 9.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 356 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  323
Joined  2004-02-15
amulack - 12 October 2012 07:28 AM

Hi,

I get already this error message. Can someone help me?

Thanks!

From your screen shot, you’re using the German version of Poser. As far as I know, it has SR2 only. DSON importer requires SR3 for Poser.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 357 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1137
Joined  2007-10-17
digitell - 11 October 2012 05:14 PM

Ah..yep that is the instructions I found that I followed..my figures are there in my library and the script is showing up there as it should in my Script Menu..and it seems to be loading Genesis when I try to load…but the figure itself is not visible in my workspace..:( Any thoughts on what may be wrong?

There. Is a Runtime directory in the folder that the Genesis Starter Essentials was installed to. Please make sure that Runtime is mapped in your Poser 9/2012 SR3 Library Pallet.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 358 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1137
Joined  2007-10-17

I want to apologize to those I answered twice. I lost my place in the thread when I woke up this morning. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 359 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  274
Joined  2003-10-09
DAZ_Spooky - 12 October 2012 07:42 AM
digitell - 11 October 2012 05:14 PM

Ah..yep that is the instructions I found that I followed..my figures are there in my library and the script is showing up there as it should in my Script Menu..and it seems to be loading Genesis when I try to load…but the figure itself is not visible in my workspace..:( Any thoughts on what may be wrong?

There. Is a Runtime directory in the folder that the Genesis Starter Essentials was installed to. Please make sure that Runtime is mapped in your Poser 9/2012 SR3 Library Pallet.

I found the problem..I saw that there are actually 2 files of the Genesis Starter Essentials to install and I had only installed 1 of them. Thank you so much for trying to help me! smile Its all good now smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 08:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 360 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2004-11-24
digitell - 12 October 2012 07:08 AM
ken1171 - 12 October 2012 07:04 AM
fixmypcmike - 11 October 2012 09:57 PM
ken1171 - 11 October 2012 09:41 PM

I have installed the plugin in PP2012 SR-3.1 x64, and the Python scripts work without errors, but Genesis and all contents loaded from that runtime leave me with an empty scene. Poser claims the figure has been loaded and the name shows at the top, but I see no figure. I have installed the “Genesis Starter Essential for Poser”, adding it as an external runtime in Poser. I have also installed the DS package. I don’t get any errors when I load Genesis (or anything else from that runtime), but there is nothing on the scene.

I have followed the tutorials by the book, but I suspect this has something to do with *where* I have to install the “starter essential” files. The Poser version was installed at an external runtime, and then linked to Poser. 

I need some help here.

What is the path to the external runtime?

I had this problem too last night…I found that my problem what there are 2 “Genesis Starter Essential for Poser” files to install and I had only installed 1 of them. Not sure if this is your problem or not but I am thinking it may be..
So there are actually 3 files you need to install into Poser..the Importer itself and 2 “Genesis Starter Essential for Poser” files.
Hope this helps you!!

Genesis Starter Essential for Poser—> L:\DSON\Runtime\
Poser Pro 2012—> L:\Poser Pro 2012\
My main runtime—> L:\Poser 7\Runtime\

I have figured it out! I actually installed both packages, so that was not what went wrong in my case. What happened was that I was installing (as you can see from my post above) the packages for Poser and DS at different folders, and now I understand they BOTH must be installed in the SAME folder, so that the runtime directories in both coincide in place. By doing this and THEN adding the runtime folder to Poser Pro 2012, NOW things work as expected.

I wish such things would be mentioned in the installation instructions, so that I could get this right on the 1st try. What set me off course was that one of the companion installs was meant for DS4, so I assumed it must be installed where DS4 resides, which is NOT the case if we want this to work.

Wow, I am exhausted now. Have been trying to fix this since last night and went to bed really late.

But the fun begins NOW! :D

Profile
 
 
   
24 of 72
24