Digital Art Zone

 
   
14 of 72
14
Genesis Meets Poser - Introducing DSON Importer for Poser
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 196 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2003-11-29
fixmypcmike - 11 October 2012 05:47 PM
dol - 11 October 2012 05:43 PM
fixmypcmike - 11 October 2012 05:27 PM
dol - 11 October 2012 05:25 PM

[quote author=“fixmypcmike”

i use 2010 pro.
and i only coth the poser esentials instald,,1.6 dpc
and the program dson poser installer in the map c program files x 86 smid
and i poet the contens in a sepered map,,and i lodet the runtime in poser,,the maps are thare buth when i klik on it i geth the messits,,this is a newer fersion?? poser whil trai to load it anny way?

and than i ceth the messits that thare is not a program? inporterror no module named dson. dzdsonimporter

This will only work in Poser 9 or PP2012—earlier versions do not have weight-mapping and do not have the plugin capability.

that is strains becos poser pro2010 is newer as poser 9 ??

No, Poser 9 and PP 2012 came out a year ago, PP2010 came out alongside Poser 8.

oo stupid me,yes you are writhe sorry.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 197 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  65
Joined  2004-08-04

Ok. So Genesis shows up on my Figures folder, but it says it’s looking for a file outside my program. Where is the solution to this?

Image Attachments
YoSniz!.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 198 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1001
Joined  2007-10-17
Sunfire - 11 October 2012 04:13 PM

Okay this is getting a wee bit tiring, I keep getting errored out when I try to post or load things. Or even pull up the web pages here.

DAZ_Spooky you said that morphs for genesis will already work. What I want to know is…

Does that mean that this: http://market.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?ViewProduct=94447 and this http://market.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?ViewProduct=89123 will work without having to be converted to the DSON format?

If they are done to the DSON Spec, and installed properly then they will work. Note I haven’t checked either of those products so I can’t say for sure on those in particular.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 199 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  156
Joined  2007-11-26
fixmypcmike - 11 October 2012 05:50 PM
WitchStorm - 11 October 2012 05:49 PM

I am using Poser 9 Pro. 64 bit. And, I can’t get Genesis to work.

Do you have SR3, and did you install all 3 files?

What is SR3? And, where do I get it? Then, where do I put it?

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 200 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  573
Joined  2008-07-18
Richard Haseltine - 11 October 2012 05:43 PM
andolaurina - 11 October 2012 05:36 PM

OH…so only DSON Genesis clothing will fit the Poser Genesis?

I tried loading the V4 shape and then adding some V4 clothing. That was a catastrophe. V4 clothing doesn’t work on the V4 Genesis body shape?? I had hoped that DSON would have transferred rigging to the clothing (since basically that is what happens in the Poser setup room these does; is that what I have to do to get it to fit??)

If only DSON Genesis clothing works on this, it’s usefulness is low for me, since there are only a handful of expensive (except the PC items) clothing in the store.  :-(

There are also a fair number of freebies, and some Prime items at Rendo (as well as some full price items). Any DS4 Genessi clothing can be made to work, by the creator or - if a copy of DS 4.5 is available - by the end user. I haven’t tried saving an AutoFitted Gen 4 item and generating a conmpanion file for it, but it won’t work in Poser (unless PhilC’s Wardrobe Wizard Plugin works - and I would think it would, since the figure’s rigging is the same as the exported CR2).

That’s more encouraging. So will, let’s say, SickleYield’s Genesis clothing over at RMP work on Poser Genesis out of the box? I’m clueless in DS4Pro and would have no idea how to “make it work” in DS4Pro and then bring it into Poser.

So, I’m assuming that with PhilC’s Wardrobe Wizard, the process would be:
(1) Convert clothing to Genesis
(2) Bring clothing into Poser & conform to Genesis
(3) Apply a morph to Genesis (like V4)
(4) Use the included DSON Python script to transfer the morphs to the clothing.

Does that sound correct?  If so, that’s reasonably feasible.

 Signature 

My Free Stuff | My Big Store at CP | My Smaller Store at Renderosity | Prayer | Me on Twitter | Me on DA

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 201 ]
Administrator
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2007-05-14
Isikol - 11 October 2012 04:04 PM
DAZ_KatBriggs - 11 October 2012 04:01 PM

All I can do is go by the screenshot which is giving a 32bit error.  smile  And ya….I have done it myself.  LOL Looked RIGHT at the 64bit and installed 32.  So, that’s why I double-check when trying to troubleshoot.  I can’t see your PC so can only see the pic you sent.  smile

Kat im telling you the truth here…i downloaded only the 64 bit version…i doubled and trippled checked…

and im asking you again…is there a way that you accidentally uploaded a 32bit and named it 64bit? 
does everyone gets the same files?

see?

smile  I wasn’t questioning your honesty. I have made that mistake is why I ask.  I can suggest uninstalling the DSON Importer.  Reinstall and make sure you get all 3 installers in as well as make sure the directories are all mapped in Poser.  (DS and Poser Essentials both - unless they are in the same directory…then you just have the one to map smile  ).  Make sure you have SR3 installed.  Those are the biggest issues we’re getting on install.

We have enough users using the 64bit installer so I do not think they got mis-uploaded.  You can try resetting and re-download if you want to make sure….

If you are having troubles after that, when I am in the office in the morning I can try to get with you and help more.  Hopefully uninstalling and reinstalling will do it for you….

Kat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 202 ]
Administrator
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2007-05-14
WitchStorm - 11 October 2012 05:54 PM
fixmypcmike - 11 October 2012 05:50 PM
WitchStorm - 11 October 2012 05:49 PM

I am using Poser 9 Pro. 64 bit. And, I can’t get Genesis to work.

Do you have SR3, and did you install all 3 files?

What is SR3? And, where do I get it? Then, where do I put it?

Poser Service Release 3.  Log into your Account with them and check for updates.  smile  Install the same way as your other Poser updates.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 203 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  573
Joined  2008-07-18
WitchStorm - 11 October 2012 05:54 PM
fixmypcmike - 11 October 2012 05:50 PM
WitchStorm - 11 October 2012 05:49 PM

I am using Poser 9 Pro. 64 bit. And, I can’t get Genesis to work.

Do you have SR3, and did you install all 3 files?

What is SR3? And, where do I get it? Then, where do I put it?

You can get it here:
http://poser.smithmicro.com/updates.html

You will need your serial number.

You’ll install this over your existing Poser 9 installation.  It’s definitely worth updating. Lots of upgrades and fixes.

 Signature 

My Free Stuff | My Big Store at CP | My Smaller Store at Renderosity | Prayer | Me on Twitter | Me on DA

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 204 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1001
Joined  2007-10-17
darkforceprime - 11 October 2012 05:52 PM

Ok. So Genesis shows up on my Figures folder, but it says it’s looking for a file outside my program. Where is the solution to this?

You have to have the runtime, that is within the content folder where the data folder is, mapped to Poser. For example if you have the Genesis starter essentials installed to c:\documents\daz3d\my libraries then the runtime in that folder has to be mapped as a Poser Runtime in the Poser Library Pallet.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 205 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  300
Joined  2005-09-30

Can someone please verify that this version is, in fact, SR 3 for Poser 2012:

9.0.3.22472

I am downloading the Genesis Starter Essentials and Win 7 won’t let me eject my harddrive so I can check my other harddrive where I have my downloads stored (hope that makes sense).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 06:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 206 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1301
Joined  2004-02-13
digitell - 11 October 2012 05:34 PM

I installed both the Importer and the Genesis Starter Essentials.

OK when I installed initially, I got this same error where Genesis was invisible and it was because I installed the content part (genesis etc) into the Poser Runtime structure under Program Files (as I have all my content installed there) but it won’t work if you install it there even if all your other content is there and working. It has to be in an external Runtime (any will do or use either Poser’s new My Docs place or DS4’s which I think is default) and then add that as a new Content Directory in Poser. If not, you will get invisible Genesis.

This should step you through everything:
http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dson_importer/poser/userguide/dson_installation_requirements/tutorials/dson_installation/start

 Signature 

Aundrea M Anderson (ann0314) (ARTCollaborations) (ARTCollab)
DAZ3D Community Volunteer Program Manager
DAZ3D PA/Customer Relations Liaison
Co-Owner of ARTCollaborations

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 06:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 207 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1001
Joined  2007-10-17
andolaurina - 11 October 2012 05:54 PM
Richard Haseltine - 11 October 2012 05:43 PM
andolaurina - 11 October 2012 05:36 PM

OH…so only DSON Genesis clothing will fit the Poser Genesis?

I tried loading the V4 shape and then adding some V4 clothing. That was a catastrophe. V4 clothing doesn’t work on the V4 Genesis body shape?? I had hoped that DSON would have transferred rigging to the clothing (since basically that is what happens in the Poser setup room these does; is that what I have to do to get it to fit??)

If only DSON Genesis clothing works on this, it’s usefulness is low for me, since there are only a handful of expensive (except the PC items) clothing in the store.  :-(

There are also a fair number of freebies, and some Prime items at Rendo (as well as some full price items). Any DS4 Genessi clothing can be made to work, by the creator or - if a copy of DS 4.5 is available - by the end user. I haven’t tried saving an AutoFitted Gen 4 item and generating a conmpanion file for it, but it won’t work in Poser (unless PhilC’s Wardrobe Wizard Plugin works - and I would think it would, since the figure’s rigging is the same as the exported CR2).

That’s more encouraging. So will, let’s say, SickleYield’s Genesis clothing over at RMP work on Poser Genesis out of the box? I’m clueless in DS4Pro and would have no idea how to “make it work” in DS4Pro and then bring it into Poser.

So, I’m assuming that with PhilC’s Wardrobe Wizard, the process would be:
(1) Convert clothing to Genesis
(2) Bring clothing into Poser & conform to Genesis
(3) Apply a morph to Genesis (like V4)
(4) Use the included DSON Python script to transfer the morphs to the clothing.

Does that sound correct?  If so, that’s reasonably feasible.

PhilC’s Wardrobe Wizard uses the rig from Genesis exported as a CR2 from DAZ Studio. This is not going to work with the DSON Importer. Granted PhilC may update his Genesis rig, but as of right now I don’t believe he has.

I may have another solution for you, but I want to be absolutely sure it works first.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 06:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 208 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  203
Joined  2003-10-09
Mari-Anne - 11 October 2012 05:59 PM

Can someone please verify that this version is, in fact, SR 3 for Poser 2012:

9.0.3.22472

I am downloading the Genesis Starter Essentials and Win 7 won’t let me eject my harddrive so I can check my other harddrive where I have my downloads stored (hope that makes sense).

yep thats the version of SR3 that I have

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 06:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 209 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  65
Joined  2004-08-04
DAZ_Spooky - 11 October 2012 05:57 PM
darkforceprime - 11 October 2012 05:52 PM

Ok. So Genesis shows up on my Figures folder, but it says it’s looking for a file outside my program. Where is the solution to this?

You have to have the runtime, that is within the content folder where the data folder is, mapped to Poser. For example if you have the Genesis starter essentials installed to c:\documents\daz3d\my libraries then the runtime in that folder has to be mapped as a Poser Runtime in the Poser Library Pallet.

Ok. Got the figure going!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 06:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 210 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1301
Joined  2004-02-13
adzan - 11 October 2012 06:02 PM
Mari-Anne - 11 October 2012 05:59 PM

Can someone please verify that this version is, in fact, SR 3 for Poser 2012:

9.0.3.22472

I am downloading the Genesis Starter Essentials and Win 7 won’t let me eject my harddrive so I can check my other harddrive where I have my downloads stored (hope that makes sense).

yep thats the version of SR3 that I have

Yep it is.

If you are having some issues, please double check what I said above as it caused me all sorts of problems at first.

 Signature 

Aundrea M Anderson (ann0314) (ARTCollaborations) (ARTCollab)
DAZ3D Community Volunteer Program Manager
DAZ3D PA/Customer Relations Liaison
Co-Owner of ARTCollaborations

Profile
 
 
   
14 of 72
14