Digital Art Zone

 
   
13 of 72
13
Genesis Meets Poser - Introducing DSON Importer for Poser
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 181 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  279
Joined  2003-10-09

I installed both the Importer and the Genesis Starter Essentials.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 182 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  539
Joined  2008-07-18

OH…so only DSON Genesis clothing will fit the Poser Genesis?

I tried loading the V4 shape and then adding some V4 clothing. That was a catastrophe. V4 clothing doesn’t work on the V4 Genesis body shape?? I had hoped that DSON would have transferred rigging to the clothing (since basically that is what happens in the Poser setup room these does; is that what I have to do to get it to fit??)

If only DSON Genesis clothing works on this, it’s usefulness is low for me, since there are only a handful of expensive (except the PC items) clothing in the store.  :-(

 Signature 

My Free Stuff | My Big Store at CP | My Smaller Store at Renderosity | Prayer | Me on Twitter | Me on DA

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 183 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2006-06-10
Richard Haseltine - 11 October 2012 05:27 PM
Gregorius - 11 October 2012 05:13 PM

Question: what’s the “Core” vs the “Poser Companion”?  I didn’t download the former, thinking it to be for computers that used DSON in a more fundamental way.  Now that I read more about it, though, it seems DSON doesn’t work that way.  That’s the only other mistake I can think of that I may have made.  I’m downloading it now (or trying to, since it seems to be unusually slow).

Core has the textures and geometries, the Poser companion just has the Poser library files to load those. You do need both.

Downloaded and installed.  As I expected, it didn’t solve the problem.  My brief research on Google shows that the most likely culprit is that my Python installation is somehow meant for a 32-bit system (I installed 64-bit DSON),  The problem is that I got Python with Poser and know nothing about how Python works independently, so I have no clue how to verify that this is a case of architectural mismatch.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 184 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9653
Joined  2007-11-06
digitell - 11 October 2012 05:34 PM

I installed both the Importer and the Genesis Starter Essentials.

There are 3 files, the importer, the GSE Core, and the GSE Poser Companion Files.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 185 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  184
Joined  2007-03-10
Richard Haseltine - 11 October 2012 05:30 PM
pete.c44 - 11 October 2012 05:20 PM

So, if I have this right…there is a limited number of items that can be imported into PP2012. Not complaining….I just want to be sure I’m not missing anything. For example, if I make a Sabatic Goat or a Chibi girl in DS4.5….can that be imported into PP?

Content needs to be in DS 4.5 format (.duf files) and needs to have a Python script anda Poser library file that calls the script. You can set things up by hand, even without DS, using the existing stuf as a guide but I wouldn’t want to do it for a big project. Pretty well all content should be getting updated - some, the stuff in 4.0 format, will need updating and all will need the companion files added.

Yikes! I’m too dull-witted for that. I’m sure a lot of stuff will be coming down the pike. All is good.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 186 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2006-04-19

yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! wonderful!!!!! i’m so impatient to try!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!! ^-^

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 187 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  44
Joined  2005-04-12

Fabulous news!  Now I’m hoping for a sale on Poser 9. 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 188 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2003-11-29
fixmypcmike - 11 October 2012 05:27 PM
dol - 11 October 2012 05:25 PM

[quote author=“fixmypcmike”

i use 2010 pro.
and i only coth the poser esentials instald,,1.6 dpc
and the program dson poser installer in the map c program files x 86 smid
and i poet the contens in a sepered map,,and i lodet the runtime in poser,,the maps are thare buth when i klik on it i geth the messits,,this is a newer fersion?? poser whil trai to load it anny way?

and than i ceth the messits that thare is not a program? inporterror no module named dson. dzdsonimporter

This will only work in Poser 9 or PP2012—earlier versions do not have weight-mapping and do not have the plugin capability.

that is strains becos poser pro2010 is newer as poser 9 ??

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 189 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15775
Joined  2003-10-09
andolaurina - 11 October 2012 05:36 PM

OH…so only DSON Genesis clothing will fit the Poser Genesis?

I tried loading the V4 shape and then adding some V4 clothing. That was a catastrophe. V4 clothing doesn’t work on the V4 Genesis body shape?? I had hoped that DSON would have transferred rigging to the clothing (since basically that is what happens in the Poser setup room these does; is that what I have to do to get it to fit??)

If only DSON Genesis clothing works on this, it’s usefulness is low for me, since there are only a handful of expensive (except the PC items) clothing in the store.  :-(

There are also a fair number of freebies, and some Prime items at Rendo (as well as some full price items). Any DS4 Genessi clothing can be made to work, by the creator or - if a copy of DS 4.5 is available - by the end user. I haven’t tried saving an AutoFitted Gen 4 item and generating a conmpanion file for it, but it won’t work in Poser (unless PhilC’s Wardrobe Wizard Plugin works - and I would think it would, since the figure’s rigging is the same as the exported CR2).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 190 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1359
Joined  2004-02-13
digitell - 11 October 2012 05:30 PM

I did try to render and there is just a blank screen..it is like when you try to load an obj file..and the obj file cannot be found…the drop down list says it is there..but actually it is not.

I had the same thing happen on my initial install…give me one sec.

 Signature 

Aundrea M Anderson (ann0314) (ARTCollaborations) (ARTCollab)
DAZ3D Community Volunteer Program Manager
DAZ3D PA/Customer Relations Liaison
Co-Owner of ARTCollaborations

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 191 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9653
Joined  2007-11-06
dol - 11 October 2012 05:43 PM
fixmypcmike - 11 October 2012 05:27 PM
dol - 11 October 2012 05:25 PM

[quote author=“fixmypcmike”

i use 2010 pro.
and i only coth the poser esentials instald,,1.6 dpc
and the program dson poser installer in the map c program files x 86 smid
and i poet the contens in a sepered map,,and i lodet the runtime in poser,,the maps are thare buth when i klik on it i geth the messits,,this is a newer fersion?? poser whil trai to load it anny way?

and than i ceth the messits that thare is not a program? inporterror no module named dson. dzdsonimporter

This will only work in Poser 9 or PP2012—earlier versions do not have weight-mapping and do not have the plugin capability.

that is strains becos poser pro2010 is newer as poser 9 ??

No, Poser 9 and PP 2012 came out a year ago, PP2010 came out alongside Poser 8.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 192 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1842
Joined  2008-05-31
dol - 11 October 2012 05:43 PM
fixmypcmike - 11 October 2012 05:27 PM
dol - 11 October 2012 05:25 PM

[quote author=“fixmypcmike”

i use 2010 pro.
and i only coth the poser esentials instald,,1.6 dpc
and the program dson poser installer in the map c program files x 86 smid
and i poet the contens in a sepered map,,and i lodet the runtime in poser,,the maps are thare buth when i klik on it i geth the messits,,this is a newer fersion?? poser whil trai to load it anny way?

and than i ceth the messits that thare is not a program? inporterror no module named dson. dzdsonimporter

This will only work in Poser 9 or PP2012—earlier versions do not have weight-mapping and do not have the plugin capability.

that is strains becos poser pro2010 is newer as poser 9 ??

No, Poser 9 is newer - it was relased at the same time as PP 2012.

 

 

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 193 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15775
Joined  2003-10-09
dol - 11 October 2012 05:43 PM
fixmypcmike - 11 October 2012 05:27 PM
dol - 11 October 2012 05:25 PM

[quote author=“fixmypcmike”

i use 2010 pro.
and i only coth the poser esentials instald,,1.6 dpc
and the program dson poser installer in the map c program files x 86 smid
and i poet the contens in a sepered map,,and i lodet the runtime in poser,,the maps are thare buth when i klik on it i geth the messits,,this is a newer fersion?? poser whil trai to load it anny way?

and than i ceth the messits that thare is not a program? inporterror no module named dson. dzdsonimporter

This will only work in Poser 9 or PP2012—earlier versions do not have weight-mapping and do not have the plugin capability.

that is strains becos poser pro2010 is newer as poser 9 ??

PoserPro 2010 is the Pro sibling of Poser 8, Poser 9 or PoserPro2012 are the requirements for the importer (or for loading the CR2 exported directly from DS) as they are the versions that have weight-mapping.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 194 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  138
Joined  2007-11-26

I am using Poser 9 Pro. 64 bit. And, I can’t get Genesis to work. So, what am I doing wrong?

Image Attachments
Untitled-2.jpgUntitled-2.jpg
 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 195 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9653
Joined  2007-11-06
WitchStorm - 11 October 2012 05:49 PM

I am using Poser 9 Pro. 64 bit. And, I can’t get Genesis to work.

Do you have SR3, and did you install all 3 files?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
   
13 of 72
13