Digital Art Zone

 
     
How to use an existing ERC file
Posted: 10 October 2012 04:40 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2010-04-27

There is a nice tutorial on how to create a pose control from scratch and add it to the shaping tab. But, what about if the .dsf file already exists, how can I just “link” it in order to see a new shaping parameter? (In my case it is an FBM and resides in a correct ../ data\DAZ 3D\Genesis\Base\Morphs\<autor>\etc. folder.)

 Signature 

People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it. George Bernard SHAW

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13610
Joined  2003-10-09

Are you asking about ERC (having one property adjust another), or are you just wanting to rearrange the way things show in the panes? Setting up ERC is done the same way, through the Property Editor, whether you are linking an old or a new morph. Grouping and parameter type can be set in the Property Editor or by clicking the cog wheel icon on the property’s slider and adjusting its settings.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 01:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2010-04-27

Hi Richard,
Probably ERC was not the right qualifier. What I want to do is quiet easy: I found out that ..\DAZ 3D\Studio\My Library\data\DAZ 3D\Genesis\Base\Morphs\<author>\... folder contains some .dsf files which are full body (or head) morphs for Genesis (I am quite sure of that, I compare the ASCII files with working ones)  but these files does not appear in the shaping tab I just want to make them appear in this tab. I suppose that I have to use property editor and add an entry at the right place (ex: actor/male/real world) but how to “link” the entry to my specific file? I didn’t find the way. Typing the correct “name” is not enough for DS to localize the dsf file.

I don’t know if I’m clear. 
BB

 Signature 

People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it. George Bernard SHAW

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 05:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  892
Joined  2007-01-04

If it shows up in the parameters tab but not in the shaping tab then it’s been done “poorly”.

With Genesis selected open the Property Editor, find the morph that isn’t showing up and right click it, select “settings” and then “Presentation”, near the top of the new window you’ll see “Content Type”, the line under that needs to say “Modifier/Shape” for it to show up in the shaping tab, you’ll be able to change it as long as DS4 and the CMS are talking to each other, if their not it’s a text editor.

You now need to write your changes into the file, you do that using the Property editors options menu (top corner of each tab, little triangle with 4 white lines), and select “save modified assets”, or by going “File > Save as > Support Asset > Save modified assets”.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 06:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4746
Joined  2012-04-07

? Thought one needed to create metadata for it to show up there.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 05:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13610
Joined  2003-10-09

No, as long as its properties are set correctly it will show in the pane. The preset tabs depend on metadata.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 03:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2010-04-27

Thanks to you,
Yes, if the file is correct (properties are set correctly) DS will display it in the right pane. In my case group information was not accurate; Bejaymac’s advice helped a lot.grin
Regards,
Bernard

 Signature 

People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it. George Bernard SHAW

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 03:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4746
Joined  2012-04-07

Okay grin Nice to learn new things.

 Signature 
Profile