Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Getting presets into Beta?
Posted: 09 October 2012 09:51 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2004-10-25

Hi all,

Installed 8.5 and am thankfully no longer crashing!

That said… is there a way to get my material presets back?

thanks,
Andrew

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 08:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi Andrew smile

You can add the presets folders manually to the beta, ....or you can install the Carrara Native Content into the beta program folder.
Personally, I don’t bother adding the content.
it’s easier to add any existing folders to the browser,. rather than duplicating files I already have.

Hope it helps smile

Image Attachments
add_folders.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 12:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2004-10-25

Thanks!

I deleted C8 before installing C8.5; I also have 7 installed.

Do you know if I need to reinstall 8 to get the shaders from there?

cheers
Andrew

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 01:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi smile

The Carrara presets are in the “Carrara Native Content” installer,. which is a separate installer from the main Carrara program.
So,.. no, ..you don’t need to install Carrara 8 again,.
You should be able to run the Carrara Native content installer and direct it to wherever you have the beta installed.

smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 01:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2004-10-25

Great! Thanks again.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 01:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

No problem.  glad to help smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 02:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2004-10-25

Ok, now I’m really showing how little I know about how Carrara actually works…. smile

Where is the folder containing the default textures? I’ve been searching for about a half hour…..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 05:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2004-10-25

Anyone?

I can’t find the presets anywhere…

thanks
Andrew

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 06:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7674
Joined  2009-07-13

have you got show hidden files folders and drives enabled in folder options?
C:\Program Files\DAZ 3D\Carrara8\Presets is where it usually is
and
C:\Users\user\Documents\DAZ 3D\Carrara 8\My Presets

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 08:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2004-10-25

Well, I’m on a mac, but can’t seem to find any of the content!

Hm…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 10:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi Turner smile

I’m not a mac user, but the presets should still be in the same relative location,.. EG: inside the main carrara application folder.

on PC, it’s program files \Daz3d\Carrara\presets.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2012 09:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2004-10-25

Anyone else?

I still cannot find the materials on my mac…

thanks,
Andrew

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2012 10:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi smile

if you’ve installed the “Carrara native content” into the same location as the main program,...then the shaders should be automatically showing up in the carrara browser.

if you’re looking for the individual texture maps, they should be in the Carrara / presets / shaders folder, along with the carrara shaders.

You should also be able to open a shader in carrara, then go to the shader editor, and hold your mouse over the name of the texture map used in the shader, and a yellow info tag will pop up and give you the full address of the image,

Image Attachments
shaders_select4.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2012 10:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

i just noticed this from your first post ..

is there a way to get my material presets back?

any shaders you make are saved in (on PC) My Documents / daz3d ‘/ Carrara / My presets / my shaders

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2012 11:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2004-10-25

I’ve tried reinstalling the native C8 content; all I’m ending up with is “carrara.app”, but it’s greyed out and cannot be selected when trying to add textures…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2012 11:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Can you open the (non beta) carrara, and then load one of your preset shaders, to try to see where it’s actually located.
or,

Q; is there still a “finder” app on macs, where you could search for “My Presets” ?

Hopefully a Mac user will pop in at some point. wink

 

 

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1