Digital Art Zone

 
     
Installing help!!!
Posted: 08 October 2012 01:23 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1618
Joined  2005-02-25

Okay, my computer is set up weird.  It’s a 1 TB drive, but it’s partitioned apparently: 100 gb for C drive and 800+ gb for drive D.

I’ve always installed everything in the C drive before but it won’t fit there. but that’s where all the program files are…
is it safe to move my daz/content/runtime folder over to D drive?or will that mess it all up and make daz unable to find things?
Should I uninstall Daz and reinstall it on the D drive?  is that possible to do???

Ug I hate computers when they aren’t set up the way I expect. :(

I may have wasted the last several hours of installing, not realizing that the c drive was so small…. bah.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 01:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2303
Joined  2010-12-18

You should be able to move everything to the d drive and go into daz preferences and select the new location for content paths. Shouldn’t be a problem.

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 02:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2738
Joined  2003-12-06

Just remember to make sure the new content location ends up at the top of your preferences list, otherwise the /data/ folder will stay on your c: drive, grow and grow and grow, and eventually cork it up.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 05:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9608
Joined  2007-11-06

See here for updating the CMS with the new locations:  http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/5639/

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile