Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Anyone Know of Free Software to Release Memory?
Posted: 07 October 2012 11:58 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  998
Joined  2007-04-08

Hi guys,

Strictly speaking this isn’t anything to do with Daz software or 3D but since it’s going to help me to get my software running smoother I thought it relevant and might help other people too!

Some software doesn’t release memory properly when I close it, and obviously that eventually slows my machine down.  I was wondering if you knew of any good memory management software that was that glorious price of free?

Thanks in advance,
Barry.

 Signature 

You’re never too old for metaballs!  ~Michael Frank

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 02:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4937
Joined  2004-07-01

reboot is best

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 04:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7986
Joined  2006-03-19

yep, the only way I know of is a re-boot

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Ravenwood Cemetery*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 04:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17134
Joined  2003-10-09

If you don’t have a reboot, would a heavy leather boot do the trick,  As in percussive maintenance. rolleyes

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 05:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8351
Joined  2009-05-14

I use a flip flop to beat it in to submission at the same time shout “release the memory”

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 07:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2303
Joined  2010-12-18
BlumBlumShub - 07 October 2012 11:58 PM

Hi guys,

Strictly speaking this isn’t anything to do with Daz software or 3D but since it’s going to help me to get my software running smoother I thought it relevant and might help other people too!

Some software doesn’t release memory properly when I close it, and obviously that eventually slows my machine down.  I was wondering if you knew of any good memory management software that was that glorious price of free?

Thanks in advance,
Barry.

Is the program still running in task manager? If so I would kill it.

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 07:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8491
Joined  2009-07-13

don’t be silly like me and accidently kill windows explorer in task manager!!

had to get on my android and read on the Microsoft forum how to bring up the run program window and enter Windows explorer to bring it back!!
pressing alt ctrl shift or something?? forgotten already!!

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 07:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17134
Joined  2003-10-09

I am so glad I am not the only one managed to do that.  red face  I worked for the last 18 months or so on the old puta with a shortcut for windows explorer on my desktop after I managed to kill it once.  rolleyes

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 11:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  998
Joined  2007-04-08

I’ve killed Explorer a couple of times myself.  Didn’t feel guilty!

So far I’ve just used the task manager, but yeah, a reboot is probably best.  I tend to do one every month or so!

 Signature 

You’re never too old for metaballs!  ~Michael Frank

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 12:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2303
Joined  2010-12-18

sometimes its good to kill explorer every once in a while. Back in XP i used to HAVE to kill it once in a blue because it was getting out of hand with ram/resources. Sometimes explorer had a hard time previewing files and would become a pain.

But if you do kill it you can always just start a new explorer task. and in some versions of windows explorer would auto relaunch if it got killed anyway. Been a while since I killed explorer though, might not have had to do it since I got Windows7.

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 02:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  57
Joined  2008-03-27

I use FreeMemeory, seems to do the job quite well.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 02:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  998
Joined  2007-04-08
Aelfric - 08 October 2012 02:43 PM

I use FreeMemeory, seems to do the job quite well.

Hi Aelfric.  Sadly I forgot to mention that I use Windows, so the Mac software wouldn’t work.

 Signature 

You’re never too old for metaballs!  ~Michael Frank

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2012 04:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1503
Joined  2012-08-31
chohole - 08 October 2012 04:46 AM

If you don’t have a reboot, would a heavy leather boot do the trick,  As in percussive maintenance. rolleyes

Aw man, I haven’t started modelling boots yet. I’m still modelling pants. Can I just repants?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2012 03:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  819
Joined  2012-09-24
larsmidnatt - 08 October 2012 07:38 AM

Is the program still running in task manager? If so I would kill it.

I am running DAZ Studio on 32bit Windows XP. It seems to never exits cleanly and the process is always still running in the task manager, except sometimes when it runs out of memory and crashes (need more ram and 64 OS).

When I first started using DAZ Studio I noticed my computer got slower and slower each time I started and stopped DAZ Studio. Then I looked in the task manager and discovered 5 or 6 DAZ Studio executables running. I killed them all and performance was fine.

I assume this is a Windows XP problem only. I am planning to get a 64 bit Windows 7 machine soon.

 Signature 

DAZ Gallery

Renderosity Gallery

Deviant Art Gallery

My Art Studio Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2012 06:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13
mark - 09 October 2012 03:57 PM
larsmidnatt - 08 October 2012 07:38 AM

Is the program still running in task manager? If so I would kill it.

I am running DAZ Studio on 32bit Windows XP. It seems to never exits cleanly and the process is always still running in the task manager, except sometimes when it runs out of memory and crashes (need more ram and 64 OS).

When I first started using DAZ Studio I noticed my computer got slower and slower each time I started and stopped DAZ Studio. Then I looked in the task manager and discovered 5 or 6 DAZ Studio executables running. I killed them all and performance was fine.

I assume this is a Windows XP problem only. I am planning to get a 64 bit Windows 7 machine soon.

I believe it may be an OpenGL or Qt problem…there’s an old registry hack, for XP to force programs to close…

Windows has an Auto End Task timer which means that after a specified time interval, the not responding applications will be terminated automatically. Setting this Auto End Task timer to 0 seconds will terminate the not responding apps instantaneously.

To alter the registry setting for this timer:

Go to Start –> Run –> regedit

Go to the following key: HKEY_CURRENT_USERControl PanelDesktop

In the right hand pane, find the key called “WaitToKillAppTimeout”, double click it and set the time to wait for not responding applications to come back to normal. The time is in milliseconds. If you want to end the task immediately, give the value as 0 but this will not be wise.

Now, of course, the better way is to find out what is actually preventing it from stopping correctly…but that involves a lot of debugging and looking, in depth, at all running processes….something that Windows native tools can’t do.

Also, if it is an OpenGL problem…try updating your video card drives.

As to the original intent of this thread…if you aren’t running Win9x, then no, a ‘memory’ cleaner isn’t going to help.  Windows memory management has gotten much more complex, from XP on and that old trick isn’t all that helpful any longer (and was of marginal value back in 9x days).

If you want to use less memory…shut off the ‘eye candy’...kill the fancy desktop effects (Aero), make sure you aren’t running a bazillion things at start up…(really do you actually NEED Yahoo, Google, Ask and every other tool bar?  HP, Toshiba and every other vendor’s autoupdater?). 

Then make sure that motherboard, video AND audio drivers are up to date (along with Windows updates, Java, Adobe and your AV).

And most importantly…for Windows reboot, at least every 48 hrs…if not daily.  Unless you are running a super lean, clean install that seldom, if ever connects to the Internet, Windows just isn’t robust enough to go very long without restarting.

Of course, if you really want to maximise memory usage/efficiency…get Linux.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 01:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  998
Joined  2007-04-08

I updated my graphic card yesterday and Photoshop has decided to close properly now… How odd is that?  It doesn’t use OpenGL or anything too fancy from a video point of view.  But I don’t care, it shuts down nicely now!

As for Linux, well I went through a phase of using that last year and I found that I hated the lack of software.  Someone actually said “Ah yes but with Wine you can simulate Windows” and I wondered why I would want to do that when I’ve got real Windows.

 Signature 

You’re never too old for metaballs!  ~Michael Frank

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1