Digital Art Zone

 
     
Something Bizzare Today
Posted: 30 May 2012 04:20 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-03-11

Hello peeps
I just booted up Daz 3 and curious because it always pops up with the updates box, it said “Disallowed main characters” what in the world is that all about?? The primary characters still load, but it’s naturally got me worried I’ll loose my content or something. Any advice please?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 04:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14324
Joined  2003-10-09

I noticed that yesterday - I’ve no idea what it means, I will send an enquiry off.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 04:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-03-11

Thankies, very worried about that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 09:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1011
Joined  2007-10-17

I am not sure what is causing this without a screen shot, I can only make a guess.

Let me point out that DAZ Studio 3 is no longer officially supported, and we do highly recommend updating to DAZ Studio 4.

The most likely culprit is the “what’s new pane,” which doesn’t work with the new store and will not be fixed to work in the future. You can go into the plug-ins folder and remove that plug-in and that is likely to clear this up.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14324
Joined  2003-10-09

It isn’t the new at DAZ pane, which just shows what you get with various bad links to the site as expected, but rather an update notice. I was able to get it back and screenshot it through the check now button in Edit>Preferences

Image Attachments
Disallowed_characters.jpg
 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 01:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1011
Joined  2007-10-17
Richard Haseltine - 30 May 2012 12:44 PM

It isn’t the new at DAZ pane, which just shows what you get with various bad links to the site as expected, but rather an update notice. I was able to get it back and screenshot it through the check now button in Edit>Preferences

That one is the new site. (I guessed wrong. smile ) And that one is actually on the get fixed list.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 02:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14324
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 02:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-03-11

Soooo if I’m reading this right, it’s some king of glitch to do with no longer supporting Daz3?  If so that’s fine as I got D4 in the free offer sale, just not installed it yet. As for characters as it indicates, will they be alright?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 04:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14324
Joined  2003-10-09

I don’t think it’s doing anything, it’s an error, so it shouldn’t have any effect on your content. Certainly the files I loaded into DS3 yesterday came in OK.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 10:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1011
Joined  2007-10-17

OK, It is a combination of a bug in the request to the store, and an effect of the new store. It has been fixed in DAZ Studio 4.5 but will not be fixed in DS 4.0.3 or DS 3.

It does not affect Content or DAZ Studio actually functioning.

Sorry about the inconvenience.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 01:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14324
Joined  2003-10-09

Given that these versions aren’t being updated you can safely turn the check off in Edit>Preferences.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 01:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1011
Joined  2007-10-17
Richard Haseltine - 31 May 2012 01:24 PM

Given that these versions aren’t being updated you can safely turn the check off in Edit>Preferences.

Thanks Richard, I forgot that. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 02:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-03-11

Thanks peeps, sheesh that had me worried. Much appreciated!!

Profile