Digital Art Zone

 
     
Can not find content purchased from Daz Shop after install
Posted: 07 October 2012 03:18 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-04-16

I am having a problem with content I purchased from the Daz Shop not installing. I am running Daz Studio 4.5 on my MacBook Pro with OS 10.8. I will run the installer for a purchased product, make sure that the correct folder is selected for the install, but once the install has completed and I open Daz Studio the content doe not show up in my Smart Content or Content Library tabs. I read through a couple of other threads and went into the Library folder and removed the files in the databases folder, then went to Content DB Maintenance and selected the option to reimport metadata. Still the all of the content did not appear. When I look in the Runtime folder I can see where the files were placed into the folders. I purchased several products from the Halloween promotion and most of them do no show up (to list a few Spooky Plots, 5 Toadstool Lane, 3 Raven Court and the expansion).  I am not sure what else to do….HELP!!!!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 03:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6773
Joined  2005-08-15

You will find these items in the Content Library tab, under Poser Content > My Library > Characters/Props.

Most older content is in Poser Format, and it will most likely not have any Metadata yet, which means it wont appear in the Smart Content tab.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 06:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5159
Joined  2012-04-07

Sometimes right clicking in the appropriate area in the Content Folder area and clicking the option to ‘refresh’ works wonders too. D/S3 used to refresh the folders automatically but D/S4 doesn’t seem to necessarily.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 07:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Tip that might not matter: Never install content with DS running. Shut down DS before install and then open DS after the install is done. If DS is running you will need to Do a REFRESH before the new content pointers are read. DS reads everything at Open so if you add content with it open and running the new pointers are in the Database but not the loaded database that DS is holding in memory. A Refresh should force a reload and make the items appear in the proper folders. If not I find a full Reboot will fix this for me.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2012 08:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5159
Joined  2012-04-07

Good point. Esp if installs involve drivers, a reboot can be necessary.

 Signature 
Profile