Digital Art Zone

 
     
Looking to export Genisis as a Character into DAZ Studio 3
Posted: 07 October 2012 05:13 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2010-01-05

Why am I looking to do this? I used Face gen to create face morphs for Genisis and I wanted the character created to be it’s own Character rather than being another Genisis Figure and 2) Because I primarily still use Studio 3. I’m not a fan of studio 4/4.5’s layout and prefer the older program. Set in my ways I guess. Well I try to export as a Poser file but when I import it into DAZ 3 the figure becomes distorted (long limbs, out of wack rigging). I’m guessing it’s because DAZ 3 automaticly begins to load The Genisis OBJ rather than the OBJ I exported. I know it can be done for Poser, but I don’t know what’s going on here.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 05:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9615
Joined  2007-11-06

DS3 doesn’t support PP2012 weight-mapping—you would need to rig the figure using Poser legacy rigging.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 06:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  98
Joined  2006-02-02

You could get Bryce and use the bridge to export Genesis from Studio 4 to Bryce, then use the brige to export the result to Studio 3. LOL

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 06:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2010-01-05
fixmypcmike - 07 October 2012 05:23 AM

DS3 doesn’t support PP2012 weight-mapping—you would need to rig the figure using Poser legacy rigging.

Well that sucks. Guess I’m going to have to use DAZ 4 whether I like it or not, and I don’t. While we’re on the subject can anyone explain why the hands and feet get distorted every time I use a pose that’s not for Genesis? None of the Previous models like Michael 4 did that. I know there’s a script to correct the problem but I have to run the script each time I pose Genesis which slows things down.

dyret - 07 October 2012 06:33 AM

You could get Bryce and use the bridge to export Genesis from Studio 4 to Bryce, then use the brige to export the result to Studio 3. LOL

I don’t understand the Humor in this.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 07:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7083
Joined  2005-08-15

None of the Previous models like Michael 4 did that. I know there’s a script to correct the problem but I have to run the script each time I pose Genesis which slows things down.

The point is that Genesis is a completely different model to any that went before.  It is a brand new figure, it has different rigging, and it is a single skinned figue too.  Clothes for Genesis will generally fit any morphs of Genesis (within reason).  I think if you try it in DS4 you will be amazed at what it can do.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 07:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3036
Joined  2004-04-14
Kane01 - 07 October 2012 06:44 AM

Well that sucks. Guess I’m going to have to use DAZ 4 whether I like it or not, and I don’t. While we’re on the subject can anyone explain why the hands and feet get distorted every time I use a pose that’s not for Genesis? None of the Previous models like Michael 4 did that. I know there’s a script to correct the problem but I have to run the script each time I pose Genesis which slows things down.


Though that was an issue in the past, I do not see the hands and feet weirding out at all on Genesis in DS45 no matter what gne4 pose I apply to it

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 08:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2010-01-05
Mattymanx - 07 October 2012 07:25 AM

Though that was an issue in the past, I do not see the hands and feet weirding out at all on Genesis in DS45 no matter what gne4 pose I apply to it

Did you try Rage Pose for Freak 4 (as shown in this pic)? This is the #1 issue I have with this model and the #1 reason why I don’t like to use it very often.

Image Attachments
error.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 11:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9615
Joined  2007-11-06

M4 and V4 have translations on the hands and feet locked.  Genesis did not in DS4.0, but the DS4.5 version does, so it doesn’t have this problem any more.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 11:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2010-01-05
fixmypcmike - 07 October 2012 11:31 AM

M4 and V4 have translations on the hands and feet locked.  Genesis did not in DS4.0, but the DS4.5 version does, so it doesn’t have this problem any more.

*Scratches head* But I am useing DAZ Studio 4.5. I uninstalled Studio 4 and installed studio 4.5.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 12:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  98
Joined  2006-02-02

It wasn’t meant as humor as such. It’s just a bit long and winding. Sorry if I offended you, but my solution is actually doable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2010-01-05
dyret - 07 October 2012 12:04 PM

It wasn’t meant as humor as such. It’s just a bit long and winding. Sorry if I offended you, but my solution is actually doable.

No offence taken, I just though you made a funny and it went over my head.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 05:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  378
Joined  2003-10-09
Kane01 - 07 October 2012 08:12 AM

Did you try Rage Pose for Freak 4 (as shown in this pic)? This is the #1 issue I have with this model and the #1 reason why I don’t like to use it very often.

I’ve tried all of the DAZ poses for Freak 4 and even the Freak 3 on Genesis and the feet are ok. But none of the poses I’ve tried looked like yours, though.

 Signature 

My DAZ Store
SqueeZings - Poses for Squee
Cool & Sexy - Poses for Stephanie 5
MoveS for Hitomi
FaerieWylde

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 07:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1069
Joined  2006-04-16
Kane01 - 07 October 2012 08:12 AM
Mattymanx - 07 October 2012 07:25 AM

Though that was an issue in the past, I do not see the hands and feet weirding out at all on Genesis in DS45 no matter what gne4 pose I apply to it

Did you try Rage Pose for Freak 4 (as shown in this pic)? This is the #1 issue I have with this model and the #1 reason why I don’t like to use it very often.

I don’t usually get this problem either but when I do, I just use the Node Selection tool, click on the offending body part and then go to Edit>Object>Zero and click on Zero Selected Items. smile

 Signature 

Genesis is head & shoulders above “Genesis 2” (or better known as BF2/BM2) and is the FAR superior figure. Why? It doesn’t suffer from the UN-necessary gender split

My DeviantArt Page.

ULTIMATE SUPER-HERO FREEBIES!

The Supersuit product comes with a Basic Supersuit. DAZ has finally fixed it’s UV’s. Re-Download now to receive the update. Thanks DAZ! smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 October 2012 10:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

Adamr001 has a script to fix hands and feet when the do stuff like that.

http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=170864

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 07:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2010-01-05
fixmypcmike - 07 October 2012 11:31 AM

M4 and V4 have translations on the hands and feet locked.  Genesis did not in DS4.0, but the DS4.5 version does, so it doesn’t have this problem any more.

If M4 and V4 have hands and feet locked why didn’t they do the same with Genesis? Was it a ploy to get people to buy Genesis poses or just something they didn’t consider?

Oh and a quick update. For whatever strange reason the feet of the Genesis model have stopped screwing up even when I used poses that screwed it up before. I don’t know why but I’m not complaining.

Profile