Digital Art Zone

 
     
Transition from one shader to another?
Posted: 06 October 2012 04:16 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  407
Joined  2007-07-28

Is there a way to apply two shaders to a figure and tween the transition form the first one to the second one?  I loaded M4 and saved his base “texture” as a shader in “My Shaders”,  then applied a wolf mat pose to M4 and saved that as another shader.  I’d like to transform M4 to a wolf…


Any ideas?

 Signature 

My You Tube Videos
My Gallery

Each player rolls one die
The player with the highest number goes first
Play continues clock-wise

~Milton Bradley

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 October 2012 04:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2208
Joined  2008-01-28

In the shader room at the top of the hierachy of your shader choose Multi shader Mixer.
For source 1 choose one of your shaders, ditto for the second source, then for mixer chooise the 0-100 slider,
You should be able to animate/transition the shader by sliding this slider

 Signature 

http://andrewfinnie.blogspot.com.au/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 October 2012 05:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  407
Joined  2007-07-28

Thanks!  Should I need to do this for each of the shading domains, or can it be done once?

 Signature 

My You Tube Videos
My Gallery

Each player rolls one die
The player with the highest number goes first
Play continues clock-wise

~Milton Bradley

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 October 2012 05:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6469
Joined  2007-12-04
Salem2007 - 06 October 2012 05:06 PM

Thanks!  Should I need to do this for each of the shading domains, or can it be done once?

Yes. Each of the domains that are to change must be set up as Head Wax (bless his heart for the great, and concise explanation) - but anything that doesn’t need to change can be left alone.

However, you will save yourself lots of time by doing the following:
Set up the first appearance. Example, your base M4 texture.
Go to ‘Edit > Remove Unused Masters > Consolidate Duplicate Shaders

Now, in the texture room, you’ll notice that you’ll only have three or so master shaders to change for the skin appearances. Just change those and you’ll be good to go.

YouTube vid I did for Genesis using the exact same method:
http://youtu.be/3mVohVzS1ok

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 October 2012 05:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  407
Joined  2007-07-28

Thanks!  I think I have it working, now!

 Signature 

My You Tube Videos
My Gallery

Each player rolls one die
The player with the highest number goes first
Play continues clock-wise

~Milton Bradley

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 October 2012 05:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6469
Joined  2007-12-04

Awesome Sauce!

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 October 2012 09:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  437
Joined  2008-07-18
Dartanbeck - 06 October 2012 05:19 PM
Salem2007 - 06 October 2012 05:06 PM

Thanks!  Should I need to do this for each of the shading domains, or can it be done once?

Yes. Each of the domains that are to change must be set up as Head Wax (bless his heart for the great, and concise explanation) - but anything that doesn’t need to change can be left alone.

However, you will save yourself lots of time by doing the following:
Set up the first appearance. Example, your base M4 texture.
Go to ‘Edit > Remove Unused Masters > Consolidate Duplicate Shaders

Now, in the texture room, you’ll notice that you’ll only have three or so master shaders to change for the skin appearances. Just change those and you’ll be good to go.

YouTube vid I did for Genesis using the exact same method:
http://youtu.be/3mVohVzS1ok


Dartanbeck - thanks for that excellent tip!  I’ve experimented with this myself and was always frustrated by the vast number of shaders to sift through - removing dups and consolidating should make that a great deal more efficient.

Profile
 
 
   
 
 
[ Shadow Cheese!      BUGGIN ME ]