Digital Art Zone

 
     
bump strength
Posted: 04 October 2012 08:50 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1554
Joined  2003-10-09

For some reason I can’t see any effect from the Bump Strength slider in the Surfaces (color) tab.  Is there something I need to do to enable it?  I tried rendering lit via both the default settings and UberEnvironment.  I can see the changes in the thumbnail in front of the slider tab, but changing the slider between 0% and 200% has no effect at all.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 10:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Which surface shader?

Because, if you are using one of the omnifreaker products (uber, uber2, hss) there is also an on/off switch.

Also, what are you applying the bump to?

UV/tiling problems can mess up bump and displacement.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2012 12:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

With Bump or Displacement the sub settings are just as important. The settings of -0.010 and 0.010 are VERY low, I suggest you read the DS3 PDF manual, it gives a very good explanation and those still apply in DS4.5.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2012 08:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2010-02-05

I think sometimes I have to render the scene before I can see the changes too.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2012 09:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  111
Joined  0

Try a spotlight shining from the side on the object, in some lightsituation bump can be difficult to see.

 Signature 

Peter

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2012 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14435
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, you need to render to see bump and displacement.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2012 05:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1554
Joined  2003-10-09
Jaderail - 05 October 2012 12:17 AM

With Bump or Displacement the sub settings are just as important. The settings of -0.010 and 0.010 are VERY low, I suggest you read the DS3 PDF manual, it gives a very good explanation and those still apply in DS4.5.

That was it, thanks!  adjusting the Negative Bump and Positive Bump sliders did the trick. (sliders “Minimum” and “Maximum” or “Negative” and “Positive” in DS3 manual depending on whether you’re looking at the picture or text). 

I didn’t even see them, in fact.  I normally pose in DAZ Studio and render in Bryce, I’m going to use that as my excuse. grin

Profile