Digital Art Zone

 
     
Upgraded to DS4.5, metadata settings gone
Posted: 04 October 2012 12:15 PM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5211
Joined  2008-03-06

I’ve just upgraded to DS 4.5.  When I use Transfer Utility, the Content Type is there but is blank.  When I right-click on items in the content library, the words “categorize” and “databases” are there, but they have no options either.

How do I fix this?  For that matter, how did I cause it?

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 12:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6895
Joined  2005-08-15



There is a dropdown on the Content Library tab that allows you to reimport Metadata

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 12:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15119
Joined  2003-10-09

Have you check that the CMS is running? In Task manager, look at the Services tab if you are using Windows 7 or Vista.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 12:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5211
Joined  2008-03-06
Richard Haseltine - 04 October 2012 12:21 PM

Have you check that the CMS is running? In Task manager, look at the Services tab if you are using Windows 7 or Vista.

It says it is there and the status is “Running.”  This is Windows 7.

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 05:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07

SickleYield, what transfer utility? Are you talking about migrating your old database?

And I’m not sure what you mean with Categorize and Database not having any options.

Could you post a screenshot?

Thanks

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 05:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9257
Joined  2007-11-06

Is there anything showing in Content Library > Categories?  If not, the CMS either isn’t running or is being blocked from communicating with DS4.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2012 02:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5211
Joined  2008-03-06

Sorry, I wasn’t getting post notifications and now it’s dumping 50 in my inbox!  Eep.


There is nothing in Content Library - Categories.  Maybe I just need to reinstall.


And cridgit: As far as I know there’s only one transfer utility.  It has nothing to do with migrating databases, it’s just a symptom of the larger problem (in that I no longer have the option of adding metadata to products).


And I mean they literally have no options.  Here’s a couple of pics.  On Database nothing will appear to the right of that arrow regardless of how I click or hover.

Image Attachments
Problem01.jpgProblem02.jpg
 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2012 05:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07

Yeah that really looks like a CMS problem. If it is running then you may have a corruption or possibly a permissions issue.

Did you install everything to the default location? DS should be in Program Files and content should be in My Documents.

Do you have admin permissions on your PC?

Is there anything in Smart Content? Screenshot would help too.

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile