Digital Art Zone

 
     
Misleading Product Labelling
Posted: 04 October 2012 01:18 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  61
Joined  2003-10-09

Light Dome Pro

The blurb: “Compatible Products: Daz Studio”. No mention of version

The reality: only works in DS3


Animated Textured Plug-in

The blurb: “Compatible Products: Daz Studio”. No mention of version

The reality: only works in DS3

Some connection between the two products perhaps? Why yes, both by the same vendor. Sorry, but this really is a bit poor. I know we can reclaim money wasted on buying products that won’t work in the version of DS we happen to be using, but we really shouldn’t be lured into buying them in the first place. Be honest and say “DS3 only” in the Compatible Products box, if that is the only version of DS in which the product works

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 02:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2815
Joined  2004-04-14

File a bug report here - https://bugs.daz3d.com/login_page.php (requires a seperate login and pass)

Posting it here in the forums will most likely not get it changed.  If it does, it wont happen anywhere as quickly as submitting a bug report

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 03:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  61
Joined  2003-10-09

i do occasionally report bugs in the bug tracker, but i don’t consider this to be a bug as such, and in any case there’s no reporting category in the system that i can see which covers something like this

there’s a more general point too, that all products should be properly labelled, and certainly shouldn’t be misleadingly labelled (as these two are)

the reasons for the original post were that in the first place i was extremely irritated to find that i can’t do animated textures in DS. i didn’t buy the product just so’s i could come here to complain that it doesn’t work in DS4, i bought the product because i wanted to USE it. and the other reason was to warn other potential buyers about these particular products, and perhaps to flag up to anyone who might be listening, that all store products should be labelled in a way that makes it possible for potential buyers to make an informed decision on whether or not to buy them

i had, and extensively used LDP2, in DS3, and i’m still waiting for it to be updated for DS4. a forlorn wait i think, and both of these products show, to me, the intrinsic problems inherent in using add-ins for DS, that we’re very much at the mercy of whether or not the add-in creator can be bothered to update them when new versions of the app come out

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 04:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06

Report it in the bug tracker—in the upper-right, change the Project to “Content Products”, and then under Category choose “Web Page Issues”.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2012 09:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  61
Joined  2003-10-09
fixmypcmike - 04 October 2012 04:43 AM

Report it in the bug tracker—in the upper-right, change the Project to “Content Products”, and then under Category choose “Web Page Issues”.

i could do that, and now you’ve pointed out where to post the issue, perhaps i will, just to see if anything gets done about it

the point really is that if the store was run properly i shouldn’t HAVE to do that. it shouldn’t be up to individual users to correct any misleading labels they happen to come across. if anyone cared about the issue then controls would be installed to prevent it from happening in the first place

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2012 10:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  331
Joined  2003-10-09

The other side of that coin is that there are thousands and thousands of products in the store. If a version number wasn’t updated on 2 items (or even 10) it isn’t a crime. A bug report alerts them that they missed some.

 Signature 

“Own the day”
Live, Love, Laugh, Dream, Believe  

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 October 2012 10:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  61
Joined  2003-10-09
SassyWench - 05 October 2012 10:22 PM

The other side of that coin is that there are thousands and thousands of products in the store. If a version number wasn’t updated on 2 items (or even 10) it isn’t a crime. A bug report alerts them that they missed some.

yeah, i guess you’re right. if only they had some kind of, i dunno, database or something, with all the product information on, and there was such a thing as a… database enquiry, that could be run to catch these things

but no, i guess the technology just hasn’t reached those heady heights yet

 

anyhoo, until the boffins manage to invent such a miraculous thing i’ve raised a bug report in the meantime

Profile