Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Duplicate ID’s in DAZ Studio 4.5
Posted: 30 May 2012 12:47 AM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4606
Joined  2004-08-11

Hi Folks,

I’ve created a bug report, found here: https://bugs.daz3d.com/view.php?id=46844

It seems their attempt to squash the Duplicate ID issue in 4.5 rears it’s ugly head on ALL content I’m loading up that was created previous to this build.  New stuff seems OK including newly converted items but stuff, even bought at DAZ3D store is giving me Duplicate ID errors. 

If anyone else is getting these (the error message will pop up when the clothing item is being loaded) then please follow the link and add your name to the list.  I’m not sure what else DAZ may want to see from me concerning this but I was floored when EVERY clothing item returned this error message…. SIGH…......... downer

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 06:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1635
Joined  2010-02-14

Already addressed this in DAZ Studio 4.5 Release Candidate Available Now thread. Richard already responded to it with This.

 Signature 

“I’m sorry, I can’t hear you over the sound of how awesome I am!” ~ Brextor Ultimus

FORUM MEMBER POST RANKS
New Member = 0
Member = 25
Active Member = 250
Power Member = 1000
Addict = 2500

My Art Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 09:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4606
Joined  2004-08-11

Nope, this is new!  Items there were created around the same time that 4.5 was released do NOT return Dup ID errors.  Items created with or before .47 version of DAZ Studio are.  It’s new.  As stated stuff I’ve bought from the DAZ3D store are even returning Dup ID errors.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 10:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9056
Joined  2007-11-06

Did you reset your downloads?  Many items were updated in March and April for this problem.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 11:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4606
Joined  2004-08-11

I’m just running Richards script.  I don’t have the time to re-download and install those PITA installers for this .... not my fault nor any other end user so why should we be subject to this sort of waste of time?  No, Richards script is doing the job I hoped it would do so that’s good enough for now!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 11:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9056
Joined  2007-11-06

We’re sorry about the inconvenience.  The problem was discovered while working on Carrara 8.5.  Even though DS 4.0.3 didn’t show the error, it was decided that correcting the content and having DS 4.5 throw the same error was the proper way to resolve the problem.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 11:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4606
Joined  2004-08-11

To me there is a glitch in the coding or introducing new code that should have been locked at that point.  You can’t just change things mid stream when you have content creators attempting to support this platform.  It’s off putting for everyone, creators and purchasers!  Luckily Richards script is working exceptionally well!  grin  I’ve mentioned in another thread that he should update it to allow it to run on a batch of folders.  Like select the Clothing folder and run the script, it would only look for .dsf files and fix those ignoring png’s and what ever else is in there.  Going to one folder at a time can also a bit of unnecessary time wasted.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14830
Joined  2003-10-09

I id consider a batch mode, but rejected it for a couple of reasons - first, it can be very slow (though having had Rob explain the code for handling JSON files it’s better than the first draft) and second, while it seems not to break things I don’t want to risk letting it run wild. Remember, too, that not every dsf file is going to be an item - some will be presets and although I don’t think my script will hurt those it may throw an error or even terminate part way through on some non-item files so there’s a risk of confusion, at least.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 07:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4606
Joined  2004-08-11

Hmmm, understood.  In the presets is there a line of code up top that tells a script that it’s different from another dsf file??  Perhaps that can be an ‘ignore file’ wildcard if that’s possible???

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 07:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14830
Joined  2003-10-09

Well, the script does look at the content of the file in a structured way so it should be safe, but I didn’t feel happy risking it. Also, another point I forgot first time through is that if a file was processed twice (which could easily happen in a scan through folders mode) the original back up copy would be overwritten - not fatal as the user could always reinstall, and shouldn’t cause issues anyway, but again I’m not comfortable with the risk.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 09:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4606
Joined  2004-08-11
Richard Haseltine - 31 May 2012 07:34 AM

Well, the script does look at the content of the file in a structured way so it should be safe, but I didn’t feel happy risking it. Also, another point I forgot first time through is that if a file was processed twice (which could easily happen in a scan through folders mode) the original back up copy would be overwritten - not fatal as the user could always reinstall, and shouldn’t cause issues anyway, but again I’m comfortable with the risk.

Comfortable or Not comfortable?  If comfortable then bring on the other script.  Might be worth checking out, I’d test it on a few folders and see what happens for ya.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 01:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14830
Joined  2003-10-09

Sorry, “not” inserted. I don’t have time to look at this right now, but if I do get a chnace I’ll see about an “at your own risk” batch option with a ctrl-click launch.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 03:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3462
Joined  2009-08-05
RCDeschene - 30 May 2012 06:41 AM

Already addressed this in DAZ Studio 4.5 Release Candidate Available Now thread. Richard already responded to it with This.

post as freebie please. i hate links that require you to sign up.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 03:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9056
Joined  2007-11-06
Zev0 - 31 May 2012 03:10 PM
RCDeschene - 30 May 2012 06:41 AM

Already addressed this in DAZ Studio 4.5 Release Candidate Available Now thread. Richard already responded to it with This.

post as freebie please. i hate links that require you to sign up.

They’re working on getting it hosted somewhere you don’t need to sign up.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 03:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3462
Joined  2009-08-05

Why not just dump it under the freebie section of the site? Why upload on an external link?

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2012 04:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14830
Joined  2003-10-09

DAZ doesn’t provide file storage for user downloads such as my script, only for official products. However, Kendall Sears did provide me with some free hosting -  if you find the thread on my fix script in the index linked below you will be able to download without needing to be signed up.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1