Digital Art Zone

 
     
Shader Mixer Scrolling
Posted: 03 October 2012 01:31 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1446
Joined  2012-08-31

So I’m learning the Shader Mixer tonight but input windows keep projecting past the points the Shader Mixer’s scroll bars will let me get to and I have to keep moving the brick around until I find a place on the screen that will let me get at the variable I need.

Is there some sort of setting that makes the Shader Mixers scrolling infinite or at least much larger than it is? Zooming out doesn’t do me any good because by the time I get the workspace big enough to show all the values the text is way too small to see.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 01:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
ghastlycomic - 03 October 2012 01:31 AM

So I’m learning the Shader Mixer tonight but input windows keep projecting past the points the Shader Mixer’s scroll bars will let me get to and I have to keep moving the brick around until I find a place on the screen that will let me get at the variable I need.

Is there some sort of setting that makes the Shader Mixers scrolling infinite or at least much larger than it is? Zooming out doesn’t do me any good because by the time I get the workspace big enough to show all the values the text is way too small to see.

Yeah…a 32” wide screen monitor…

Basically, I haven’t found one…and I’ve played around in SM long enough that I started dreaming in shader bricks.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 02:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1446
Joined  2012-08-31

LOL. 32” Monitor. I’m going to have the biggest laptop in the world.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 03:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

I’ve had networks that scroll on forever…I’m constantly moving things around to get them onscreen.

And yes, I’ve moved one or two over to the computer in the living room…just so I could see them on the TV (that’s how I know a 32” wide screen DOES work…:lol:)

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 10:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1446
Joined  2012-08-31

Ah! I just discovered the shader mixer is far more easily managed if you make the window undockable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 05:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  921
Joined  2007-01-04

You could in DS3 as you got a huge “workspace” with a scroll bar along the bottom and another down the side, but “they” changed the SM for DS4, and for me those changes make it far worse to work with, to the extent that I still use DS3 to make my shaders.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 05:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1446
Joined  2012-08-31

What I did was zoom out to maximum distance then at each bottom corner of the shader mixer window I put an unused binary math brick. Then I just kept pushing those math bricks out to give me more elbow room on the screen. Think of it as a rolled up document and the math bricks were paper weights keeping the corners flat. I just moved them out until I had more than enough room to work in and then saved it as a default setting.

I just with Daz would remember that I want the shader mixer window undockable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 05:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14256
Joined  2003-10-09

If you are having trouble reaching the bottom of the long list of options for Variable bricks, pick one as low as you can go then click again to recall the list - it will now be centred about the option you chose, making those lower down accessible.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 03:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  921
Joined  2007-01-04
ghastlycomic - 04 October 2012 05:37 AM

I just with Daz would remember that I want the shader mixer window undockable.

Minimize it when your not using it, and leave it like that when you close DS, when you restart DS it will still be undocked, you just have to minimize it after it’s open as it starts in full screen.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile