Digital Art Zone

 
     
Carrara leaves untextured
Posted: 02 October 2012 08:51 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  383
Joined  2008-08-29

I’m working on a (fantasy) tree at the moment and a problem I’m having is that the self-made leaf models come in as untextured, regardless of specifying to load the shader when adding them. The leaves that came with Carrara don’t exhibit this problem. Any ideas?

 Signature 

Swamp Living Never Felt So Good

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 09:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8510
Joined  2009-07-13

I think it has to be added to your leaf folder
I get this a lot if I use a .car file saved just anywhere
if I load it from then save it to under my presets for both tree and leaf it will generally work.
the textures must be in the correct folder too.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 04:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  383
Joined  2008-08-29

the leaves are in the leaf folder, but the shaders haven’t been saved separately. If that is the issue (I’ll check) that’s gotta be a bug because you can either add them from the leaf folder or load arbitrary files. Thanks for the tip about the shaders.

 Signature 

Swamp Living Never Felt So Good

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 07:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  383
Joined  2008-08-29

The issue is the object’s global shader must be set. I haven’t gotten testing done to see if it honors per-shading domain shaders, but at this point I expect not. Which would mean you can’t do particularly complex objects as leaves.

 Signature 

Swamp Living Never Felt So Good

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 08:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1825
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi Thoromyr smile

Carrara’s Plant shader, (layers list shader) currently only allows One shading domain per layer, so,.. if you want more complex shaders you need to UV and unfold the leaf / flower / branch model,. and texture it as a single map

As Wendy mentioned, the leaves need to be saved into the leaves folder,.
If you texture the model, before you save it into the leaves folder, the shader will be saved in the .car file.

I’m working on a (fantasy) tree at the moment and a problem I’m having is that the self-made leaf models come in as untextured, regardless of specifying to load the shader when adding them. The leaves that came with Carrara don’t exhibit this problem. Any ideas?

If your leaf has a single shading domain, and you’re saving the textured/shaded model into the leaf folder, then it should save and work as expected.

Hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 08:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8510
Joined  2009-07-13

it seems to prefer a single shading domain with one map too.
3D paint is good for this.
it is how I have made my few crappy leaves.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 08:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1825
Joined  2004-08-24

HI Wendy smile

yeah,. it’s got to be a single shading domain, although, you can make a complex model and unwrap that so that you can paint or texture it.

I ran into this as a “problem” when I was making the “Orange street” scene,. since there are fruit’s and flowers with short stems on the trees, as well as the leaves.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 10:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  383
Joined  2008-08-29
3DAGE - 03 October 2012 08:32 AM

HI Wendy smile

yeah,. it’s got to be a single shading domain, although, you can make a complex model and unwrap that so that you can paint or texture it.

I ran into this as a “problem” when I was making the “Orange street” scene,. since there are fruit’s and flowers with short stems on the trees, as well as the leaves.

It does not have to be single a shading domain, I’ve got some “leaf” objects that have multiple. But it must be a single shader. As I noted above it is the global shader (that is the label in the GUI). Maybe it’s a minor distinction, but if you want multiple domains you can have, but the global shader for the object is used in all cases.

 Signature 

Swamp Living Never Felt So Good

Profile