Digital Art Zone

 
   
7 of 8
7
The new Itemized Order History area
Posted: 28 May 2012 09:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 91 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  994
Joined  2011-05-19

For what its worth noting, E-On Vue (Vue Esprit etc) has a nice feature in that the apps local content database and object browser has a webservice that querries the Cornucopia3d content store.  It then merges not acquired yet content alongside your purchased content so that you can develop scenes using the full pallet of content available. Unpurchased items are flagged and can be filtered out of the object browser.  Only when you actually place unprocured content in your scene are you given the prompt to purchase (with price and license info displayed).  It would seem to me that the DS4 Content DB manager, certainly the Smart Content could be handled in similar manner, so that they could “Sync” with your DAZ account to stay up to date.  At the minimum I see that you can add custom fields and manually create meta data.  I would probably consider this rather than maintaining an independent spreadsheet. Thats 3 tables to merge and maintain rather than 2 (DAZ and the Local content DB)

 Signature 

Enjoy my games & freebie content created with DAZ 3D:

3dSkyDome.com - Curiosity killed the browser, 3d R&D

3Dnld My Freebies & Games - Farm Peeps Farm Theme 3D Stuff

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 11:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 92 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  28
Joined  2005-07-23
DanaTA - 27 May 2012 05:49 PM
pinkdaisy - 27 May 2012 11:08 AM
booksbydavid - 27 May 2012 10:02 AM
pinkdaisy - 26 May 2012 11:39 AM
fixmypcmike - 25 May 2012 06:54 PM

Pinkdaisy, have you contacted DAZ 3D by emailing support @ daz3d.com (with the spaces removed)?  DAZ 3D support does not read every post in the forums, and the Moderation Team has no access to anyone’s account information.  You may also want to remove your credit card information now that we have a new store—as has been noted repeatedly, the old store was falling apart and it took the web team’s full time effort to hold it together.

Thank you for letting me know which department Ito contact. Do I have much hope of success? NO. Nevertheless, I will give it a try.

 

Let us know how this goes for you. Curious.

I have sent you a PM. Unfortunately, the PM is not working correctly either. There is nothing in my “Sent” box. Would it be possible to let me know if you have received my PM and if you received all of it.? It is fairly long.


There’s a checkbox you have to check in order to save a copy of your message in the sent box.  hmmm


Dana

Dana, I have sent you a PM to test it. The check box isn’t working.  I have sent another 2 PM’s to other members using the check box - no go, it is stone dead. This is probably on the low priority list to fix.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 03:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 93 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11471
Joined  2007-11-06

...for those of us with poor connectivity and a long history of purchases, having to deal with the list broken into multiple pages is a real pain in the bum. 


In the past, I just did a keyword search using FF’s seach function.  Since such browser tools only look at the current page displayed, they are almost useless with the new format. This means a lot of wasted time sifting through the list page by page to check for an item.  When you have over 1,500 items on your list, it can become a major undertaking (and exercise in frustration) especially if it takes a while for each page to load. 


There also needs to be a sort by order date filter.  Because of connectivity and timeout issues from home, I usually have to put off downloading until I can get to my local hotspot (usually only on weekends).  Hence, the active DL has quite often already expired and I need to have it reset.  Having to go through maybe twenty to thirty pages to find the item and then having to do this multiple times, as there is usually more than just a single file involved, is ridiculous.


This is really so not making me look forward to building the runtimes on the new machine since I am waiting for the Zip File option to go live as I am done with the disorganised manner in which the .exe installers place content in the runtime tree.


Had I not invested so much of my time and hard earned money in this pursuit (which is supposed to be a creative outlet and source of relaxation for me) I would quite likely just step back walk away from it all as it seems to becoming more like RL “work” and less like an enjoyable hobby.


I have an axiom at the day job that goes, “don’t get in the way of my getting the job done”.  This also applies to anything I do with what little of my own free time I have when “off the clock”.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 05:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 94 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4591
Joined  2004-08-11

What a royal PITA folks.  I needed to reset something and luckily my brain was working well to figure out that it’s all in alphabetical order so on like page 38 I found the M5 Pro Bundle to reset.  This MUST be fixed…. there is no way to tell it to put the last ordered orders first? REALLY??  Like I said half jokingly in another post… READ THE DAMNED MANUALS.. this is not cool!  GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRr

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 06:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 95 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2007-09-04
AidanaWillowRaven - 26 May 2012 05:15 PM
tekun - 26 May 2012 05:08 PM

One thing that would be nice, is to have a secondary place to reset your products, like the actual purchase order, since it lists the products you’ve purchased and now looks like the individual product files.

-jack

You can do that straight from the spreadsheet and never open daz except for purchases and updating your spreadsheet.


You can do keyword searches, too, to make sure previous purchases are not repeated and also keep track of bundled products, so those don’t get re-purchased by accident.


Especially now that the site evidently no longer warns us if we’ve bought something before, or not.

Not exactly what I was referring to… as I do have an offline system for looking that up, what I’m talking about is another place to hit that ‘reset’ button to allow you to re-download the product. Right now you have to search for where it is in your Order History, which for me defaults with 333 pages at 10 listing per page (yes, I have over 3300 items in my history), this is quite the pain since there is no jump to particular page or searching/filtering/sorting of any sort.


Since I know what order numbers for products I would like to reset, it’s much easier to put

https ://www.daz3d.com/shop/sales/order/view/order_id/id number/

then hit reset for the product.


Simple as long as you have the all important order number, which was easy to find when you tried to add a previously purchased item into your cart (another thing broken now >.> )

-jack

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 10:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 96 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8495
Joined  2004-07-21

I have too many items in my itemized order history to find stuff.  Unless there is a way to show them all on one page like it used to be.

 Signature 

Hello, Sweetie!
click me to save my dragon eggs

Who is cuter Loki or Thor?


Play Runescape

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 10:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 97 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5834
Joined  2005-04-16
pinkdaisy - 28 May 2012 11:02 AM

Dana, I have sent you a PM to test it. The check box isn’t working.  I have sent another 2 PM’s to other members using the check box - no go, it is stone dead. This is probably on the low priority list to fix.


It has worked for me, I have one in my sent box right now.  That, unfortunately, is the only time I remembered to do this little checkbox trick.  However, I never got a PM from you.  Did you change your mind, or recall it?  Maybe you sent it to the wrong person?


Dana

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 10:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 98 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  28
Joined  2005-07-23
DanaTA - 28 May 2012 10:31 PM
pinkdaisy - 28 May 2012 11:02 AM

Dana, I have sent you a PM to test it. The check box isn’t working.  I have sent another 2 PM’s to other members using the check box - no go, it is stone dead. This is probably on the low priority list to fix.


It has worked for me, I have one in my sent box right now.  That, unfortunately, is the only time I remembered to do this little checkbox trick.  However, I never got a PM from you.  Did you change your mind, or recall it?  Maybe you sent it to the wrong person?


Dana

Hi Dana, I didn’t change my mind and I made no mistake. When the PM opened I could see your user name. The PM got lost. Frank… mentioned this problem in one of his posts. I have checked the box now 6 times and still I get a zero next to Sent.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 10:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 99 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  224
Joined  2008-06-12

A good solution - for me at least - would be to add a ‘download order history’ feature that would allow one to download the order history in useful formats such as xml, comma-(or tab-) separated fields, etc.  One could then use standard tools to sort and search the resulting files on the local computer as needed (or do even more ‘useful’ things like selecting four random lines for Random Runtime Render Roulette).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 06:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 100 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2004-12-14

Sorry but this is very confusing and the forums are very hard to read why can’t you guys come up with darker colors especially on white? This is why I dont come here as often.  and apparently I lost all my old posts. New member my arse. Yuck. Goodbye forum, you wont see me here much. What was wrong with the old way? I cant make heads or tales out of my order history now and I just bought a bunch of stuff too. Not spending anymore more money bye. Far, far too confusing. Nice way to do business. NOT! Your site gets worse every time you change it.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 08:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 101 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1436
Joined  2010-03-15
DDSG1 - 29 May 2012 06:55 PM

Sorry but this is very confusing and the forums are very hard to read why can’t you guys come up with darker colors especially on white? This is why I dont come here as often.  and apparently I lost all my old posts. New member my arse. Yuck. Goodbye forum, you wont see me here much. What was wrong with the old way? I cant make heads or tales out of my order history now and I just bought a bunch of stuff too. Not spending anymore more money bye. Far, far too confusing. Nice way to do business. NOT! Your site gets worse every time you change it.


I feel your pain, but I can help with one thing ... a spreadsheet for managing your IOH. The link can be found in the freepository: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/566/

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 08:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 102 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1436
Joined  2010-03-15
Miss Bad Wolf - 28 May 2012 10:13 PM

I have too many items in my itemized order history to find stuff.  Unless there is a way to show them all on one page like it used to be.

Creating the spreadsheet helps with that. It allows me to do a keyword search and even reset a product straight from the spreadsheet. No flipping pages forever and a day.

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/566/

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 08:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 103 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1436
Joined  2010-03-15
RAMWolff - 28 May 2012 05:53 PM

What a royal PITA folks.  I needed to reset something and luckily my brain was working well to figure out that it’s all in alphabetical order so on like page 38 I found the M5 Pro Bundle to reset.  This MUST be fixed…. there is no way to tell it to put the last ordered orders first? REALLY??  Like I said half jokingly in another post… READ THE DAMNED MANUALS.. this is not cool!  GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRr

Even more fun ... an apostrophe is listed before numbers, which are listed before A’s ... so ‘Full Circle’ for Hooded Cloak is not under F, it’s before any leers or numbers.

The spreadsheet has been helping a few of us stay sane, though: ‘Full Circle’ for Hooded Cloak

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2012 08:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 104 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1436
Joined  2010-03-15
Kyoto Kid - 28 May 2012 03:20 PM


There also needs to be a sort by order date filter.  Because of connectivity and timeout issues from home, I usually have to put off downloading until I can get to my local hotspot (usually only on weekends).  Hence, the active DL has quite often already expired and I need to have it reset.  Having to go through maybe twenty to thirty pages to find the item and then having to do this multiple times, as there is usually more than just a single file involved, is ridiculous.


This is really so not making me look forward to building the runtimes on the new machine since I am waiting for the Zip File option to go live as I am done with the disorganised manner in which the .exe installers place content in the runtime tree.

 


Make a spreadsheet first, while keeping the reset links active, and save it to a thumbdrive so you can take it with you to the better connection. Then, resent straight from the spreadsheet. Just go down the list as needed, no flipping. :D


http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/566/

 

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 05:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 105 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  512
Joined  2005-01-18

Of course a spreadsheet is a way to search for your items, I maintain a spreadsheet for a few years now but it’s nothing compared to the item list on the old site. When I want to look up an item I could search my spreadsheet, or my database although I have the bundles split into the individual items in my database, but it was far much fasterto search on site.cool mad 
When I couldn’t find an item I always could search things on my own computer. It’s just about time DAZ does the itemlist right.

I “purchased” the new freebie yesterday… and of course you know how much time it took me to get it into my spreadsheet! smirk

To say I’m not happy with all the changes here is a bit of an understatement. I only know I’m not visiting this forum and shop as often and as long as I did.

Just my 2 cents.

Love, Jeanne

 Signature 

I am what I am, my own special creation

Profile
 
 
   
7 of 8
7