Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
OS X 10.8.2, C8.5-172, very slow renders and crash
Posted: 02 October 2012 05:38 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  383
Joined  2008-08-29

I recently got an iMac and have been using Carrara on it. This has been very nice because it renders four times faster than my old system, but I have encountered a problem with my latest scene.

The scene isn’t particularly complex with two props, m4, v4 and conforming clothing. And dynamic hair for grass—but that’s nothing compared to a recent scene with numerous objects, high counts for dynamic hair (three sets), etc., etc. The current scene rendered fine when I did tests to see how it looked, but when I went to do a final render I noticed it was going very slowly—the CPU was at 25% utilization! (reported as 200%, out of 800% due to four core with hyper threading). Normally it is around 750% utilization so I looked for causes and tweaked the render settings.

There’s no disk access going on with plenty of free memory. No other processes are taking up much CPU. I went back to the previous settings and with other tweaking managed to get a little more utilization (reported as 250%). Well, I let it run and did some editing in a text file so I wasn’t watching and don’t know how far it got, but not very far based on time elapsed, when Carrara crashed.

I can’t really see anything to either cause a low CPU utilization render or to induce a crash. I’ve been on 10.8.2 for nearly as long as I’ve had the computer and have rendered for ~8 days solid (batch of multiple scenes) without mishap. So I’m at a loss.

I’ll be trying the render again in a bit, but it will take a while due to the slowness to discover anything. Anyone else on OS X experiencing these sort of issues?

 Signature 

Swamp Living Never Felt So Good

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 06:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  399
Joined  2003-10-09
thoromyr - 02 October 2012 05:38 AM

Anyone else on OS X experiencing these sort of issues?

Carrara on newer versions of OS X can be a bit problematic, although I haven’t seen the exact behavior that you describe.

Please go to the DAZ Bug Reporter and file a bug report with as much detail as you can manage, as this will help DAZ sort out the problems before C8.5 ships.

 Signature 

http://bytescapes.com/            Bryce/Carrara/Reality galleries and resources

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 07:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2009-03-09

If you are on 64-bit, then turn off texture spooling.  (File | Preferences, Imaging and Scratch Disk, uncheck “spool texture on disk”).  Texture spooling on 64-bit Carrara causes symptoms like you describe.

 Signature 

Come visit my store!

http://www.daz3d.com/fenric
http://fenric.com/wordpress/store/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 09:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  383
Joined  2008-08-29
angusm - 02 October 2012 06:18 AM
thoromyr - 02 October 2012 05:38 AM

Anyone else on OS X experiencing these sort of issues?

Carrara on newer versions of OS X can be a bit problematic, although I haven’t seen the exact behavior that you describe.

Please go to the DAZ Bug Reporter and file a bug report with as much detail as you can manage, as this will help DAZ sort out the problems before C8.5 ships.

Well, if it was reproducible (even intermittently) I’d certainly do so. I started the render again and it goes slow but it got much further without crashing (I aborted because I discovered a mistake). I certainly want to get bugs reported before they stop the beta…

 Signature 

Swamp Living Never Felt So Good

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 09:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  383
Joined  2008-08-29
Fenric - 02 October 2012 07:18 AM

If you are on 64-bit, then turn off texture spooling.  (File | Preferences, Imaging and Scratch Disk, uncheck “spool texture on disk”).  Texture spooling on 64-bit Carrara causes symptoms like you describe.

Ah hah! Interesting. It also causes problems when running Carrara in Wine. Thanks and done!

 Signature 

Swamp Living Never Felt So Good

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 April 2014 09:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  224
Joined  2013-04-15

I know it’s an old thread, but I always look on goggle when I have a problem cause it finds threads in carrara forum about the subject.

I was having lots of crashes in a simple render to, using a very recent mac and 64 bits carrara. Already turn off texture spooling… Let’s see if it works…

Thank you

 Signature 

Follow my artistic work in these pages smile I will be very grateful and happy!

https://www.facebook.com/taniagomes.art
http://taniagomesart.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 April 2014 02:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2005-08-31

Isn’t C8.5-172 one of the old betas. It may have bugs. C8.5-245 is the most recent version.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 April 2014 02:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6154
Joined  2006-08-27
BrianP21361 - 28 April 2014 02:28 PM

Isn’t C8.5-172 one of the old betas. It may have bugs. C8.5-245 is the most recent version.

It is a thread brought back from the dead! wink

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 April 2014 03:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  224
Joined  2013-04-15

Well, if my render doesn’t crash again… it’s proven that the problem persist… If it crashes again… well, in the thread I created about this there’s lot’s of other solutions. smile

I actually didn’t even realized this is about an older version… just look for everything to solve a problem… as I said before I searched through google “carrara render crashes) and it brought me here raspberry When I saw this thread I hadn’t find anything better yet. Anyway after the first crash at 50% rendering I was being unable to do much more than 5%... now is rendering fine for more than 6 hours… smile

 Signature 

Follow my artistic work in these pages smile I will be very grateful and happy!

https://www.facebook.com/taniagomes.art
http://taniagomesart.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 April 2014 09:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  76
Joined  2004-09-24

Even though it is an old thread, I do still have occasional problems when rendering on a Mac.

To reduce problems, I have a procedure which I follow before a large render starts.

-Go through all “remove unused objects/consolidate duplicate shaders/remove unused shaders.”

- Save the file

-quit Carrara (Do this separately from saving, as sometimes a save “fails.” If you quite and choose “save” from the dialog, a “fail” will cause you to lose changes.

- Reopen Carrara, open the file and render

- If rendering an animation, _always_ render as some sort of sequenced image. When Carrara crashes, you don’t lose the frames already rendered. Rendering as a movie file means you have to start over if there is a crash.


Crashes are much less frequent with the current version, but they are still there. I seem to have the most problems when rendering a long animation, or after rendering several things. While much better now, I can also see how render time for later animation frames are longer than early frames. Even the first frame renders quicker when Carrara is first opened (per above procedure) as opposed to having Carrara open and working for a while.

Hope this helps.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 April 2014 09:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  224
Joined  2013-04-15

Thank you. It does help.

I’m rendering a single image, not an animation, but it’s a long one cause it is with high resolution.
Actually the render crashed just in the beginning when I had carrara open a long time, and almost in the middle when I just opened carrara. Didn’t saw the relation, but now that you’ve mentioned it…

I’m now trying to do a thing EP told me. I rendered in low res and saved the irradiance map. Now I’m rendering in high res but using this map. It really bumps up the speed render… it’s amazing…

I will keep in mind that thing about unused shaders!!

I have to say, really love carrara!! Although I’m very new at it, I will keep using it. But it’s starting to appear to me that daz don’t give it enough credit. I mean, ds is always having updates… and carrara?? It’s an amazing software!!! It’s a paid software! And for what I see there’s a lot of things that could be worked so that it handle better with the features it have. I see there are stability problems that should be fixed… Like the saving failing lots of times… some crashes over nothing… really over nothing, not in the renders… I know ds is a great platform for selling content… but carrara IS a great great software… They would be smart it they payed it the attention it deserves…

 Signature 

Follow my artistic work in these pages smile I will be very grateful and happy!

https://www.facebook.com/taniagomes.art
http://taniagomesart.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 April 2014 10:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6154
Joined  2006-08-27
TaniaGomes.Art - 29 April 2014 09:16 AM

Thank you. It does help.

I’m rendering a single image, not an animation, but it’s a long one cause it is with high resolution.
Actually the render crashed just in the beginning when I had carrara open a long time, and almost in the middle when I just opened carrara. Didn’t saw the relation, but now that you’ve mentioned it…

I’m now trying to do a thing EP told me. I rendered in low res and saved the irradiance map. Now I’m rendering in high res but using this map. It really bumps up the speed render… it’s amazing…

I will keep in mind that thing about unused shaders!!

I have to say, really love carrara!! Although I’m very new at it, I will keep using it. But it’s starting to appear to me that daz don’t give it enough credit. I mean, ds is always having updates… and carrara?? It’s an amazing software!!! It’s a paid software! And for what I see there’s a lot of things that could be worked so that it handle better with the features it have. I see there are stability problems that should be fixed… Like the saving failing lots of times… some crashes over nothing… really over nothing, not in the renders… I know ds is a great platform for selling content… but carrara IS a great great software… They would be smart it they payed it the attention it deserves…

The neat thing about the low-res irradiance map trick, is that the IR map is that it is for the whole scene. You could change up your camera angles with no need to recalculate. If you change the lighting or move or add an object, then you would need a new map.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 April 2014 10:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  76
Joined  2004-09-24
evilproducer - 29 April 2014 10:53 AM

The neat thing about the low-res irradiance map trick, is that the IR map is that it is for the whole scene. You could change up your camera angles with no need to recalculate. If you change the lighting or move or add an object, then you would need a new map.


I thought I missed something in this thread, but that trick must have been discussed elsewhere. I understand the concept, but would you mind providing some detail on how to do this? (or a link to the thread it was discussed).

Also, is the technique applicable for animations as well?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 April 2014 11:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6154
Joined  2006-08-27
jrm21 - 29 April 2014 10:58 AM
evilproducer - 29 April 2014 10:53 AM

The neat thing about the low-res irradiance map trick, is that the IR map is that it is for the whole scene. You could change up your camera angles with no need to recalculate. If you change the lighting or move or add an object, then you would need a new map.


I thought I missed something in this thread, but that trick must have been discussed elsewhere. I understand the concept, but would you mind providing some detail on how to do this? (or a link to the thread it was discussed).

Also, is the technique applicable for animations as well?

Sorry about that! Sometimes I get forum schizophrenia!

It’s the last paragraph of this post that you want to look at:
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/40661/#595641

If you have any questions, just ask!

There was another discussion a short while ago about animating a figure with a static IR map. and I used the saved IR map trick to actually render a GI scene in a very reasonable amount of time. You can fly a camera around your scene as much as you want with a static map, but if you animate a figure or change the lighting, you’ll have issues. You can’t save an animated IR map, which is a bummer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cLHnOrEyz3Y

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 April 2014 11:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  224
Joined  2013-04-15
jrm21 - 29 April 2014 10:58 AM

I thought I missed something in this thread, but that trick must have been discussed elsewhere. I understand the concept, but would you mind providing some detail on how to do this? (or a link to the thread it was discussed).

Also, is the technique applicable for animations as well?

Sorry about that… have to learn to leave links when I start messing up all the threads I’m talking about a thing… wink

 Signature 

Follow my artistic work in these pages smile I will be very grateful and happy!

https://www.facebook.com/taniagomes.art
http://taniagomesart.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 April 2014 12:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  491
Joined  2013-10-24

So the irradiance map is resolution independent? That’s a useful trick to know.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1