Digital Art Zone

 
     
can you use tga files in poser? 
Posted: 02 October 2012 01:34 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  228
Joined  2010-12-03

So I just got this thing that was listed under daz/poser on a site but all the files are TGA files. There’s no readme or anything in the download so I don’t know what to do exactly. I tried opening the tga with photoshop and it doesn’t even show up so yeahhh what is this

 Signature 

For future reference, I use PoserPro2014

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 01:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  540
Joined  2010-09-02
iDiru - 02 October 2012 01:34 AM

So I just got this thing that was listed under daz/poser on a site but all the files are TGA files. There’s no readme or anything in the download so I don’t know what to do exactly.

Edit: See posts below mine. Here’s a thread for times you would convert them jpg.
Details: http://forum.runtimedna.com/showthread.php?23128-Targa-files-in-Poser-6-SR3


TGA (Targa) is a format that can be opened by almost everything that uses images.


I tried opening the tga with photoshop and it doesn’t even show up so yeahhh what is this


That can’t be right.

File>Open should give you TGA as a choice, and it’ll show up with All Files.


Here’s an extra plugin, from Adobe, that you probably won’t find useful. smile http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=1544


Stuff you don’t care about:
It’s near-universal for almost every reason you could think of:
It’s lossless, so it’s used for preserving quality (master copies, archiving), and for taking an image from one app to another.
It can carry an alpha channel, for transparency, if needed. It’s weakness is the lightweight compression.
It’s very old, it’s easy for software to read (so it loads fast, which really mattered in olden times’s whimpy machines), its quite useful, there’s no patent fee - doesn’t add to the cost of an app, it’s a breeze to design software for it, it’s absolutely standardized, and it was developed for a big-spender industry. Lastly, so many kinds of pros have so many TGA files in their archives.
Its history explains everything else that you don’t care about, heh, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Truevision_TGA

 Signature 

Windows:          DAZ History Manager         Daz Wishlist Manager         3D Content Downloader

Firefox Fixes for the Old Forum:      Bookmarks       Images

Fun With Bundles Thread 2

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 11:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

Poser can use TGA files.  How are you applying the image?

Image Attachments
Image1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 12:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  92
Joined  2004-05-31

I have used TGA files in Poser quite a bit, and it used to be (and still is for production) one of my preferred formats.

TGA is the file extension for Targa images, originally created with Targa graphics and production cards on high end workstations (specialized hardware that allowed work in true 32 bit color as opposed to the more common 24 bit + 8 bit that gets called 32 bit).  TGA images can be in 24 bit, 32 bit, and may or may not have an additional alpha channel with them (not a lot of software can use or make use of the TGA alpha channels, and it does not show up in the version of Photoshop I have).  TGA files may be compressed or uncompressed format, but the uncompressed format was the more popular among print and production artists and graphics studios.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 01:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  228
Joined  2010-12-03
Medzin - 02 October 2012 11:27 AM

Poser can use TGA files.  How are you applying the image?

I’m usually used to applying textures from the library but they do not show up in the library so I’m not sure how to apply it.
The TGA apparently has a bump map and a specularity map as well.
Where exactly is that menu found?

 Signature 

For future reference, I use PoserPro2014

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 01:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

I just included screen shot from material room to make sure I could apply TGA file.

You don’t actually apply textures as such from a library.  You can use a MAT pose (pz2) or Material Library (mc6).  These apply various properties to a Poser surface.  Not all such items apply a texture map (e.g., procedural shaders) but they can if included.

So, what is this mystery object and where did you find it?

Profile