Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Question about Rons Brushes
Posted: 01 October 2012 12:21 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  588
Joined  0

I have quite a few of them after the PA sale. I’ve been trying to use them in the latest version of Gimp but it seems to freeze. I’ve included a picture below. (Note I renamed a few brushes that had names that started with ! and @ in an attempt to see if the naming scheme was an issue for Gimp) Putting them into their own subfolders didn’t help either.

So, my question is as follows. Do these brushes work fine with say Photoshop Elements? I see I can get version 10 for $60 off of Amazon. Is there a plugin I need for Gimp? It says it does .abr brushes natively in the latest version but I can’t get it to work without crashing/freezing.

Image Attachments
rons_brushes.jpg
 Signature 

Having trouble with clothing/props not showing in Daz 4.5? Take a look at this thread:

Thread in Nuts And Bolts forum

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 12:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7957
Joined  2009-05-14

I have a handful of Ron’s brushes and all work in PSE6. I can get some to work in GIMP but boy is it hard work and takes some time to load.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 01:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  998
Joined  2012-01-29

RonĀ“s brushes work in Gimp but you cannot put all of them in the Brushes folder, or Gimp freezes whilst loading. Try only 2-4 brushes. It works for me, although it is a nuisance. If you want to use other brushes, you must delete the previous ones from Brushes folder before putting the new ones there. Gimp cannot handle so many of them at once, they are too big I guess.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 01:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  588
Joined  0

That is probably the issue. Too many at once. So basically I need to know what brushes I want to use. Is Photoshop better about this and more ‘friendly’ than Gimp towards brushes?

 Signature 

Having trouble with clothing/props not showing in Daz 4.5? Take a look at this thread:

Thread in Nuts And Bolts forum

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 01:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2005-10-16
Riggswolfe - 01 October 2012 01:04 PM

That is probably the issue. Too many at once. So basically I need to know what brushes I want to use. Is Photoshop better about this and more ‘friendly’ than Gimp towards brushes?

Yup, I use PS and can load numerous full batches of Ron’s brushes. No hang or slowdown.

 Signature 

Gone.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  588
Joined  0

Do you put them each in their own sub folders or do you just lump em all in the brush folder? I’d think sub folders would help with organization. *eyes that copy of Elements on Amazon*

 Signature 

Having trouble with clothing/props not showing in Daz 4.5? Take a look at this thread:

Thread in Nuts And Bolts forum

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2005-10-16
Riggswolfe - 01 October 2012 01:07 PM

Do you put them each in their own sub folders or do you just lump em all in the brush folder? I’d think sub folders would help with organization. *eyes that copy of Elements on Amazon*

I keep them in sub folders…i have a lot of brushes so for example, I would have a smoke/fog folder with any brush sets that fit the bill.

 Signature 

Gone.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 01:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7957
Joined  2009-05-14

For my low powered computer PSE is better on this side. I have no issue loading any brushes. Even though I learnt to only load one set of Ron’s brushes at a time in GIMP it can still freeze. It all depends on the brushes for me.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 01:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2005-10-16

Keep this link handy if you get an older PS edition:
http://www.texturemate.com/content/abrmate-tutorial-convert-newer-adobe-photoshop-cs-brush-ps7-format-use-any-photoshop-version

The brushes will work but you will need to convert them.

 Signature 

Gone.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 01:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7957
Joined  2009-05-14
jmper - 01 October 2012 01:08 PM
Riggswolfe - 01 October 2012 01:07 PM

Do you put them each in their own sub folders or do you just lump em all in the brush folder? I’d think sub folders would help with organization. *eyes that copy of Elements on Amazon*

I keep them in sub folders…i have a lot of brushes so for example, I would have a smoke/fox folder with any brush sets that fit the bill.

I do then same. No point in clogging up things that don’t need to be clogged up. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 10:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  225
Joined  2011-10-02

I use Elements 9 exclusively and all Ron’s brushes work fine.  I have a huge quantity of brushes and although I can’t always see them all in the drop-down list, I can load any of them.  Some are in sub-folders and some are not; it all works.  Just FYI.  I’m a fan of Elements because of its low price and usually pick up the next to last version on sale.  I guess it depends on which features are most important to you, and your budget allocations.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 10:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  541
Joined  2009-08-07

There’s an ABR preview program that will export to PNG. I am able to use these brushes in Paint Shop Pro 7. This might be a viable alternative to those of you experiencing crashes.

I’m not at home right now, so can’t recall the name of this little program, but it’s free and only about 80kb.

 Signature 

Check out The Lesser Evil, a graphic novel made using DAZ models, and published by Zeta Comics!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 10:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2005-10-16
canberra_boy - 01 October 2012 10:30 PM

There’s an ABR preview program that will export to PNG. I am able to use these brushes in Paint Shop Pro 7. This might be a viable alternative to those of you experiencing crashes.

I’m not at home right now, so can’t recall the name of this little program, but it’s free and only about 80kb.

Could it be the one I linked to, above?

 Signature 

Gone.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 10:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8697
Joined  2007-11-06
canberra_boy - 01 October 2012 10:30 PM

There’s an ABR preview program that will export to PNG. I am able to use these brushes in Paint Shop Pro 7. This might be a viable alternative to those of you experiencing crashes.

I’m not at home right now, so can’t recall the name of this little program, but it’s free and only about 80kb.

abrviewer:  http://sourceforge.net/projects/abrviewer/

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 10:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  541
Joined  2009-08-07
fixmypcmike - 01 October 2012 10:35 PM
canberra_boy - 01 October 2012 10:30 PM

There’s an ABR preview program that will export to PNG. I am able to use these brushes in Paint Shop Pro 7. This might be a viable alternative to those of you experiencing crashes.

I’m not at home right now, so can’t recall the name of this little program, but it’s free and only about 80kb.

abrviewer:  http://sourceforge.net/projects/abrviewer/

I just came back on to link to that site.

That’s the one. Thanks!

 Signature 

Check out The Lesser Evil, a graphic novel made using DAZ models, and published by Zeta Comics!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 11:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  588
Joined  0

I got Photoshop Elements 10. I followed advice in this thread to do a bit of editing of a photo by only sticking 2 or 3 brushes in the gimp brush folder at a time. It actually worked but it was annoying because if I had an idea to try something else I had to save the render jpg. Close Gimp. Swap out brushes. Reload gimp. Reload the jpg and continue my work.

The best part is Elements 10 only cost me $40 because I had some Amazon rewards from a credit card I have. Ironically the credit card I used during the PA sale!

 Signature 

Having trouble with clothing/props not showing in Daz 4.5? Take a look at this thread:

Thread in Nuts And Bolts forum

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1