Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Add points to a edge
Posted: 29 May 2012 05:15 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2008-12-29

Simple question I hope, is there anyway to add more points directly onto a edge, for example

instead of having to use vertix modeling tab and tesselate tool, is there a alternative that lets you cut edges into multiple points?

 Signature 

LOL be warned, I might be friendly

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 12:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1535
Joined  2008-01-01

Tow methods, depending on what you want to achieve

1.  Select edge, do a ring selection and connect

2.  Go to lines>insert points - this will make the dreaded N-gon unless you connect the point to another.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 06:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2008-12-29

ok I tried both methods

The first was a line method
I oringally thought this is what I was looking for but for some reason the function only works with poly-lines, not edges that I selected on my object, or maybe Im doing it wrong?

second method was selecting the edge, do a ring selction and then connect
but instead it just ended up creating more edges

im not sure if im doing this right lol, im still learning this XD would be ok if i asked for more details QQ im a newb

 Signature 

LOL be warned, I might be friendly

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 08:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  248
Joined  2009-01-27
Apoc23 - 30 May 2012 06:57 AM

The first was a line method - I oringally thought this is what I was looking for but for some reason the function only works with poly-lines, not edges that I selected on my object

 
That’s correct. You’ve just learned that “edges” are NOT “lines”. They only LOOK like lines.  smile
 

second method was selecting the edge, do a ring selction and then connect but instead it just ended up creating more edges

 
Also correct. “Edges” connect “vertices” (AKA “points”), and “facets” (AKA “faces”) are areas outlined by edges.
 
Imagine a square facet (which is commonly called a “quad”).
A quad is composed of 4 vertices connected by edges, and its face is the area inside the edges.
If you add a vertex in the middle of the upper edge, you no longer have a quad, you now have a 5-sided polygon EVEN IF IT STILL LOOKS LIKE A SQUARE TO YOU.
 
Every time you add a vertex to an edge, you are splitting the edge into 2 pieces - IOW, every time you add a vertex to a polygon, you are also adding an edge to it.
 
Can you describe to us what it is that you’re trying to accomplish by adding a “point” to an edge without wanting to create a new edge? From there we could steer you in the right direction.

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 09:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2008-12-29

Well in simple… im just being blantly lazy LOL
(lmao)
Im well aware that in order to add a point I would need to add a edge as well. Via methods like tesslattion etc etc.

The way I do it currently is to select my object, select a edge, tesselate it ( connecting it to a diff edge ) then going back and disolving the edge. This method already proves useful and creates a point on the object givin without to much hassle. But just out of curosity, ( not discovering all of hexagons secrets ) I was wondering if there was already a built in function to create points on a edge automatically wihtout going trhough all that hassle
If there is not, its not that big of a deal I found multiple ways around making additional points, I was just wondering i If was doing it right raspberry and if there was a more simplier method then to what I was already doing wink
-
-
-
Truth of the matter is.. I thought hexagon would be versitle enough that it might of had a simpler tool for doing this. but to be honest , either im not doing this right :D or I think its something they forgot to include, cause its the simple things like this that makes a program all worth it raspberry

 Signature 

LOL be warned, I might be friendly

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 09:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  265
Joined  2005-08-20

Hexagon is easy enough. But without you coming forth and spilling what you’re trying to accomplish nobody will ever tell you of an easier method to accomplish that.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 09:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  228
Joined  2006-11-17
Apoc23 - 30 May 2012 09:12 AM

Im well aware that in order to add a point I would need to add a edge as well.

No, you don’t. Use the tessellate tool and just click on the edge to create the point, then press “enter”.
It is limited, as it will only allow one point per edge, so you would need to add a point, enter, add another point etc. Long winded yes, but so is Hexagon on various editing, due to it never being updated with needed new tools/option.

Do not know why you are being asked why you want to create points on edges, that is irrelevant, they should just answer the question.

 

 

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 10:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  248
Joined  2009-01-27
Steve athome - 30 May 2012 09:41 AM
Apoc23 - 30 May 2012 09:12 AM

Im well aware that in order to add a point I would need to add a edge as well.

No, you don’t. Use the tessellate tool and just click on the edge to create the point, then press “enter”.

Which, depending on the tesselation type, either creates a new vertex on the edge (which splits the edge into 2 parts, so you’ve added an edge) or it splits the entire quad into 2 polygons which means you’ve added TWO points and THREE edges.

Do not know why you are being asked why you want to create points on edges, that is irrelevant, they should just answer the question

Hey, just a shot in the dark here, but maybe we ask questions in order to understand what he’s doing so that we can help him do it.

If we’re doing such a horrible job of it, perhaps you should take over and “just answer the question”.

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 11:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  228
Joined  2006-11-17
afreaginname - 30 May 2012 10:50 AM

Hey, just a shot in the dark here, but maybe we ask questions in order to understand what he’s doing so that we can help him do it.

He is trying to add a vertex/point to an edge, it even states that in the title of the thread. Is that so difficult to understand!
Whatever the purpose is for, is irrelevant.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 11:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  248
Joined  2009-01-27
Apoc23 - 30 May 2012 09:12 AM

The way I do it currently is to select my object, select a edge, tesselate it ( connecting it to a diff edge ) then going back and disolving the edge

 
I really apologize, but I’m still at a loss to follow you.
 
What do you mean by “dissolving the edge” and how are you doing it?

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 11:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  248
Joined  2009-01-27
Steve athome - 30 May 2012 11:02 AM
afreaginname - 30 May 2012 10:50 AM

Hey, just a shot in the dark here, but maybe we ask questions in order to understand what he’s doing so that we can help him do it.

He is trying to add a vertex/point to an edge, it even states that in the title of the thread. Is that so difficult to understand!
Whatever the purpose is for, is irrelevant.

 
If you ADD A VERTEX TO THE EDGE OF ANY POLYGON, YOU ADD AN EDGE.
 
Show me where I’m wrong.
 
Go ahead, I’ll wait.
 
BTW, I still don’t see you answering his question; only complaining about our responses.
 

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 11:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2004-07-16

Try this create a cube then go to the lines tab select insert points tool. click on one of the cubes edge and release. If you want to add a point in the middle hold down the shift key. Until this question came up I didn’t know you could use this tool this way.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  228
Joined  2006-11-17
Hopper - 30 May 2012 11:26 AM

Try this create a cube then go to the lines tab select insert points tool. click on one of the cubes edge and release.

By default, the “insert point” (when a solid/surface is selected) reverts to “Continuous tessellation by segment”.(check the properties panel after selecting the tool with cube selected).  You still need to press “enter” or click ” validate” to exit the tool before more points(vertex) can be added to the same edge.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 06:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2008-12-29

~_~ think I just started a war… lol guys pls there is no reason to fight over me red face

1st off
* I appologize for the lack of details in the question, but just to clear things up. I was already well aware of how to add lines to a edge
Wiether my method was easy or not. To make this clear , this should of been a YES OR NO question . . . blank stare, if there was I was a easier way, I was happy to learn… if there wasnt I could deal without it as it wasnt really important to me and I had my own comfortable way of doing it.

2nd
* I thank you all for doing a great job of helping me out :D and wiether or not it was irrelevant of what I needed it for, questions are always needed for futher knowledge smile so I didnt mind

3rd
* ( no offence to anyone that helped ) but I think hop gave me the most simpliest answer :D, and steve cleard it up for me. I didnt know I could use the line tool like that either, all this time I never thought of pressing enter tongue laugh

Steve athome - 30 May 2012 11:37 AM
Hopper - 30 May 2012 11:26 AM

Try this create a cube then go to the lines tab select insert points tool. click on one of the cubes edge and release.

By default, the “insert point” (when a solid/surface is selected) reverts to “Continuous tessellation by segment”.(check the properties panel after selecting the tool with cube selected).  You still need to press “enter” or click ” validate” to exit the tool before more points(vertex) can be added to the same edge.

eureka ! it worked raspberry thanks alot everone,

I thank you all for your quick swift feedback, and sorry if I sounded a bit harsh when writting this red face the comments were actually quite entertainig to read cool smile

 Signature 

LOL be warned, I might be friendly

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 07:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  274
Joined  2005-09-15

Hopper is correct though Steve, insofar as he clearly stated that ‘adding a point tool’ is within the line tab tool set.  I don’t think he was suggesting that it would work as you correctly identified by selecting faces. 

Perhaps I’m stating the obvious, in that you can add as many verts to a line as you wish “As long as they are balanced by an equivalent number of verts on another edge/tessellation, thus negating a has been commented on, the danger of introducing ngons.

 Signature 

Cheers, Fanners.raspberry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2012 07:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2008-12-29

I guess the long mystery of hexagon has been solved. Thanks to the meddling kids and there dog named scooby dooby doo. Another case has been solved…

this topic can be closed now . I hope it helps everone else who might of been wondering the same thing

 Signature 

LOL be warned, I might be friendly

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1