Digital Art Zone

 
     
M3 to gen M5
Posted: 30 September 2012 09:46 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1597
Joined  2012-09-16

Aaan another question!
I found a very awesome outfit:
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/sade

But no matter how I try, I can’t get it to fit to my genesis M5 character.
There were some more threads about converting m3 to m5, but they seem to address other issues like morphs and not clothing.
I think I need genX but I am unsure about what version and if I may need some other plugins as well.

 

 Signature 

You’re welcome to visit my GALLERY
Need a review or looking for tips? Pay a visit HERE

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 September 2012 10:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6183
Joined  2005-08-15

What you need is the Iconic Shapes for Geneisi, M3 in particular.  It supplies a clone to the Autofit plugin that can convert the clothing for you from M3 to Genesis.  Crossdresser or Wardrobe Wizard may work as well.

Here is a link : http://www.daz3d.com/shop/v3-and-m3-shapes-for-genesis/

The bundle may work out cheaper.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 September 2012 11:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

For me, having GenX enables autofit for M3 to M5.  I had to dig this one out of archive to do render.  Haven’t got around to working much with older classic outfits in DS4

Image Attachments
sadetest.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 September 2012 11:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1597
Joined  2012-09-16

That’s the one :D
And I got the M3 clothing to work now, thanks to your tips!
BUT the long pants keep being stubborn.
It doesnt matter if I use autofit or the genx plugins, the pants keep looking like this.
I do notice your render’s character has placed one foot to the side and it seems my pants follows that pose as well…
Not sure if that is related though.

Image Attachments
pants.jpg
 Signature 

You’re welcome to visit my GALLERY
Need a review or looking for tips? Pay a visit HERE

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 September 2012 12:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13433
Joined  2003-10-09

Try zeroing the pants - I think they may be loading posed. If necessary load them, cancel AutoFit, zero them, and fit the to Genesis (which will trigger AutoFit).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 September 2012 12:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1597
Joined  2012-09-16

I believe you mean by “zeroing” that I have to adjust some sliders?
Sorry to sound like a nuthead, but what exactly do you mean? ><

 Signature 

You’re welcome to visit my GALLERY
Need a review or looking for tips? Pay a visit HERE

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 September 2012 01:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1597
Joined  2012-09-16

Uh, my last response wasn’t posted.
But I wanted to tell that I figured it out!
It is litarally called “zero” in the “Edit” dropdown menu.
Feels like I won a war after 2 hours haha!

 Signature 

You’re welcome to visit my GALLERY
Need a review or looking for tips? Pay a visit HERE

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 September 2012 01:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13433
Joined  2003-10-09

Actually I meant I suspect the figure is posed and you should reset the pose, soo all the rotations are zero - go to the Parameters pane and either right-click the tab or click the menu button in the top corner and then from the menu that appears select Zero>Zero figure pose. Edit: though the Edit menu works too - it used not to be there so I tend to forget about it.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 02:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2200
Joined  2005-09-05
schrijfmijeens - 30 September 2012 11:56 AM

That’s the one :D
And I got the M3 clothing to work now, thanks to your tips!
BUT the long pants keep being stubborn.
It doesnt matter if I use autofit or the genx plugins, the pants keep looking like this.
I do notice your render’s character has placed one foot to the side and it seems my pants follows that pose as well…
Not sure if that is related though.

Glad to see you got it working…

I’ve been playing with the auto fit and gen3 clothing and I’d strongly suggest adding a smoothing modifier via the scene tab and playing with the settings.  I prefer setting thsmoothing type to generic it gives you a smoother finish also don’t forget to play with things like lock distance and the weight settings. It can make a big difference to the finished results…

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 04:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1597
Joined  2012-09-16

“Lock distance” and “weight settings” are some new terms for me for me, I’ll be sure to check it out!

 Signature 

You’re welcome to visit my GALLERY
Need a review or looking for tips? Pay a visit HERE

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 05:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2200
Joined  2005-09-05
schrijfmijeens - 01 October 2012 04:56 AM

“Lock distance” and “weight settings” are some new terms for me for me, I’ll be sure to check it out!

They’re new for me also…I just play until I’m happy with the results. ; )

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile