Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 8
2
Who said Blender was hard?
Posted: 02 October 2012 10:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12498
Joined  2007-11-06
Miss B - 01 October 2012 08:19 AM

II think a lot of people had problems because of the old UI, and I think a lot of people had problems because Blender is a full-service modeller, not unlike the top-of-the-line apps like Maya, 3D Studio Max, etc.  Compared to a basic modeller like Hexagon, which doesn’t do half of what Blender does, it takes a while to get into, and that’s why a lot of people considered it hard.  Nothing is hard if you keep at it.  It just takes a lot of practice, and the one of the things that always amazed me about the Blender community is, there IS  a Blender community and it’s large and the app is always being updated, and the amount of tutorials out there is at times overwhelming.  Very often you don’t find that kind of documentation available, but Blender has it, and that’s why I’ll stick with it.  Hex just keeps crashing, and crashing, and crashing, etc., ad infinitum.

...and that too is why I threw up my hands in frustration after spending (wasting) a couple of months (and my hard earned zlotys) with Hexagon and said “I’m going back to learning Blender no matter what it takes”.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 11:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  188
Joined  2003-10-09

Blender ,Max ,Maya ,LW ,C4D ,Softimage All pretty much work the same .polygons ,maps ,textures. rigs .etc etc
All pretty much use the same tools.

Some tools might be more advanced then others.

zBrush & Mudd a lot a like.

and then there’s Rhino.

Blender modeling ,object mode ,edit mode ,does not rotate around selected vertices ,there’s just a lot of small stuff that slows me down in Blender.

Blenders a great app for the price .
Blenders great for beginners n low budgets.
Blender has a lot of power ,could use a lot tweaking & speed.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 October 2012 11:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13
RorrKonn - 02 October 2012 11:20 PM

Blenders great for beginners n low budgets.
Blender has a lot of power ,could use a lot tweaking & speed.

Low budgets…yeah, I’d agree there…

But ‘beginners’, nope…

Tweaking…yeah.  But then again, that’s part of the OpenSource philosophy.

Power…oh yeah!

It is infinitely extensible AND tweakable.  Yeah, to change the UI would be a bit of work, but it IS doable.

As to object mode/edit mode…that was a choice made a long time ago and pretty much is never going to change.  It basically separates what can be done ‘globally’ and ‘locally’

There are ways of changing pivot points/rotation…but they aren’t easy to find.

 

Image Attachments
screen17.png
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 12:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  188
Joined  2003-10-09
mjc1016 - 02 October 2012 11:46 PM
RorrKonn - 02 October 2012 11:20 PM

Blenders great for beginners n low budgets.
Blender has a lot of power ,could use a lot tweaking & speed.

Low budgets…yeah, I’d agree there…

But ‘beginners’, nope…

Tweaking…yeah.  But then again, that’s part of the OpenSource philosophy.

Power…oh yeah!

It is infinitely extensible AND tweakable.  Yeah, to change the UI would be a bit of work, but it IS doable.

As to object mode/edit mode…that was a choice made a long time ago and pretty much is never going to change.  It basically separates what can be done ‘globally’ and ‘locally’

There are ways of changing pivot points/rotation…but they aren’t easy to find.

 

I Don’t want to program so open source does not matter to me.
I don’t care about the UI some of the high $$$ App’s UI’s sux.
Blenders hot key driven anyways.

object mode ,edit mode.
When I’m trying to model .hot key a, hot key c ,right click etc etc.
I never got past it ,I never will.

I just don’t get why Blender makes stuff so complicated.
It slows me down to the point I just won’t use the app.
But I would like to it’s FREE.
Only CGI App anyone can actually afford.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 12:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  193
Joined  2007-03-07

@RorrKonn— Do you mind saying which program you are using that makes Blender seem difficult?

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 02:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  796
Joined  2012-02-12
LmWolfSpirit - 02 October 2012 04:38 PM

While I didn’t really have a problem with Blender’s UI, I did find it unsettling to have to delete each version and reload a new version every time there was an update, so I kind of lost interest in it. I should probably find one version that is stable and works with the plug-ins I like and just stick with that. Anyone have any suggestions as to which version that would be?

Although I currently am using (learning) C4D Broadcast and ZBrush, it is always nice to have a back-up program that contains some features not contained in these programs (although I am not sure what those would be at the moment other than Blender having some dynamics not available in my version of C4D).

 

You can use many Blender versions, that’s what I do. The big problem with Blender is that it is Open source. Which means that a lot of plugin become do not work in newer versions and if the authors don’t update tthem you have to stick with an old version and sometimes reloading a scene made with a newer version just doesn’t work.

The good thing with blender is that it evolves continuously, because it’s open source. But that has a big drawback : if nobody is interrested in fixing some old bug, you can stay with it for years and this is true also for the plugins.

I find Blender great and there is a lot of good plugins also. But I wouldn’t say it is for the beginners. The UI (old and new) gave me some headache at the beginning, as I previously used autocad and 3dsmax. But once you get passed it it gets better.

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 03:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  393
Joined  2003-10-09

So…

Am I the only one who loved the old UI?

That is once Paolo helped me grasp the entirety of the complete suite.

Custom vertical docking (now default in 2.5 series), and a custom setup room for every flavor; Modeling/Sculpting, Texturing, UV-ing, Rendering, LuxRendering, Dynamics, and 3D Painting.  Similar to my different rooms in both Poser, and Carrara.

I still have that 2.49 installed, and play in it every now and then.  Still love that UI…


Don’t get me wrong, though, I love the 2.5 series.  Especially since they have been working so hard on the modeling tools to be on par with Wings3D.

That’s right, I said Wings3D…

Blender isn’t quite there yet, but is getting there slowly but surely.  Eventually, I can see myself completely abandoning W3D, and use Blender exclusively for my modeling tasks.  For now, I’m content with my W3D/Blender/Hexagon/Metasequoia workflows.

 Signature 

Take care all..        “It’s easy to clean up when you got money.”        *Old Post Count:  Don’t know, don’t care…  *New Site Status:  Doesn’t matter one iota.
Ken

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 04:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  188
Joined  2003-10-09
LmWolfSpirit - 03 October 2012 12:58 AM

@RorrKonn— Do you mind saying which program you are using that makes Blender seem difficult?

Not trying to sound like a smart aleck but Blender is the app that makes Blender one of the most difficult app’s to model in.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 05:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  0

I know blender is very good application. (I’ve seen Nature Academy’s tutorials, too.)
But, I really wanto know is how to animate (or simulate cloth or hair) Genesis or G4 figures with blender easily.
Would you show me them?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 06:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1013
Joined  2004-05-14
ytetsu - 03 October 2012 05:26 AM

I know blender is very good application. (I’ve seen Nature Academy’s tutorials, too.)
But, I really wanto know is how to animate (or simulate cloth or hair) Genesis or G4 figures with blender easily.
Would you show me them?

Please take a look at mcjteleblender free Kit of scripts to render Daz Studio Scenes in Blender 2.6x ( Cycles ):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTIIwjTV7s4
and then at mcjTeleBlender:
https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts/mcjteleblender-for-ds1-2-3-4

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 07:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  0
Artini - 03 October 2012 06:03 AM
ytetsu - 03 October 2012 05:26 AM

I know blender is very good application. (I’ve seen Nature Academy’s tutorials, too.)
But, I really wanto know is how to animate (or simulate cloth or hair) Genesis or G4 figures with blender easily.
Would you show me them?

Please take a look at mcjteleblender free Kit of scripts to render Daz Studio Scenes in Blender 2.6x ( Cycles ):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTIIwjTV7s4
and then at mcjTeleBlender:
https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts/mcjteleblender-for-ds1-2-3-4

Yea, I know the script (Thanks Casual for the script).
But it transfer wavefront obj sequence, not rigs.
Can I simulate clothes or hair with it in blender?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 09:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2196
Joined  2011-11-16

Just do search on “dynamic cloth and hair blender” on youtube. Here is one done back in 2008. It’s much better now supposedly (can’t be more specific as haven’t played with this feature yet.) Here is part 1 of a two part tutorial on particle hair in blender… you can find part 2, dynamic cloth etc with just a bit of searching.

Just noticed btw you said ‘sequence.’ One isn’t going to add dynamic hair/cloth in Blender (or any program afiak) on a sequence as each frame in the sequence is a different ‘scene.’ One might be able to automate the process of copying things from one ‘scene’ to another but that would be fraught with complications and not likely a good path to take. To add dynamic cloth, hair, physics etc in another program there is only one feasible way that I know of, import, rerig and go from there. I know it sounds like a lot of work and it is, but it is also the only feasible route atm I believe.

On the plus side, Blender has a decent internal renderer, Cycles, and will work with Oxygen. The dynamics and physics is well beyond anything short of Maya/3DS from what I’ve seen, it has brushes like zBrush (not near as good in this case ofc.. no real substitute for zBrush…) etc..

Not trying to sell anyone on Blender btw… just trying to clarify things for anyone wondering.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 09:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2196
Joined  2011-11-16
RorrKonn - 03 October 2012 12:44 AM

...When I’m trying to model .hot key a, hot key c ,right click etc etc.
I never got past it ,I never will.

I just don’t get why Blender makes stuff so complicated.
It slows me down to the point I just won’t use the app…

I tend to not like a lot of hotkeys as they are usually one more thing to try to memorize, slowing down the learning curve. Blender’s hot keys are different though for me. They are very intuitive. R for rotate, S for size, A for select all, shift+a to pop up an ‘add’ window to add meshes, cameras etc.. They are *so* intuitive that they don’t require the typical brain resources other hot keys do. The benefit is that one can hit ‘S’ for size, immediately followed with x/y/z to constrain the axis while the other hand remains on the mouse and drags… drastically speeding up things from having to relocate the mouse all over the screen to do each action. In short, Blender is the one program that has changed my mind about shortcut keys.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 09:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2196
Joined  2011-11-16
Gedd - 03 October 2012 09:07 AM

... import, rerig ...

This btw is why I hope some file format like obj/dae… gets standardized where a basic rig can be transferred between software packages. Better support for basic materials would help also. This really needs to be addressed on an industry wide level I believe.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 10:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  82
Joined  2004-01-31

The interface was one of the biggest stumbling blocks I had with Blender, just couldn’t get the hang of it and I simply haven’t had the time to install the latest version to have a play with. Though if you though the old Blender UI was a pain you should’ve tried Imagine (my version was on the Amiga), took me a good few years to get a usable image out of the thing.

After that I got into using C4D after getting the full v2 on a cover disk and upgraded to v3 (also on the Amiga) and that was probably where I lost the ability to use the old Blender type UI (Imagine was very similar in some ways to the old Blender UI). I did however click almost instantly with 3DS Max’s interface when I got my hands on it at Uni though, I’m using an old copy that I managed to get my hands on at the moment while learning the new stuff with an educational copy of 2012 (not overly keen on some of the changes for duplicating objects nor the price at roughly £3000/$4800).

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 8
2