Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 9
4
Utility to repair damaged Installers Available
Posted: 01 June 2012 04:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1829
Joined  2006-02-17
Tylerguy - 01 June 2012 04:30 PM
Kendall Sears - 01 June 2012 04:24 PM
Tylerguy - 01 June 2012 03:52 PM

I’m afraid the mac version doesn’t seem to be working for me. The file I’m having trouble with is 14063_SupersuitBootsBelt_v1-1.0_trx.zip.
When I try to open it I get “Unable to expand 14063_SupersuitBootsBelt_v1-1.0_trx.zip into ‘documents’ “. I ran it through the FixDaz utility and named the file super.zip, but I get the same message when I try to open the new file.

Not really sure what I’m doing wrong :(

Kaitan

Did the utility give you a message of “Done.”  or something else when you ran it against the installer?

Kendall

Yes, I get the “Done” message.


Kaitan


Hmmm.  That’s curious.  If you get the “Done.” message, that means it found the bad stuff it was looking for and removed it.


Can you pop up a command line and run a “ls -l” against the two files and PM me the results?  I may be able to determine the problem from the differences in the file sizes.


EDIT:  I’m redownloading the sweet-dreams for the Mac (I usually install the PC version to my shared CMS)  I’ll look into it.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 12:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  216
Joined  2003-10-09

Now that DAZ have started replacing product installers with ZIPs I thought maybe, just maybe, somebody would have fixed the obvious bug in file delivery that appends a Magento error report to the end of the file.

Here is what I found at the end of the “new” product file for Sapphire Fox Hair (3434.zip):


Fatal error: Call to undefined method Pisc_Downloadplus_DownloadController::clearConncurrentDownload() in /var/www/html/magento.daz3d.com/app/code/local/Pisc/Downloadplus/controllers/DownloadController.php on line 106

Fatal error: Class ‘Mage’ not found in /var/www/html/magento.daz3d.com/app/code/core/Mage/Core/functions.php on line 244


OK, this is ignored by most unzipping utilities but ... for heaven’s sake,DAZ ... this is actually a serious bug. This is telling you that your file delivery code is not working properly and, even though they work, you are actually delivering corrupt product files.

You really need to get a grip on this.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 06:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  93
Joined  2004-06-28

Won’t open for me….Nothing happens….smile

On my winxp 32 comp..

I have tried to reset a few past purchases and get invalid zip file when I try to install

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 02:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  75
Joined  2009-06-11

Your utility is extremely handy as opposed to doing the same with a hex editor.
A couple of things I can think of though that would make it even better:
One would be the ability to do multiple files at the same time. Or if that is too much extra programming, then at least keep the program loaded and the main window open afer each file finishes so it doesn’t have to be restarted each time.
Second would be setting a default output filename based on the original filename with something like “-fixed” appended to it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 04:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1829
Joined  2006-02-17
Art_Junkie - 02 June 2012 02:26 PM

Your utility is extremely handy as opposed to doing the same with a hex editor.
A couple of things I can think of though that would make it even better:
One would be the ability to do multiple files at the same time. Or if that is too much extra programming, then at least keep the program loaded and the main window open afer each file finishes so it doesn’t have to be restarted each time.
Second would be setting a default output filename based on the original filename with something like “-fixed” appended to it.


I thought about the multiple file thing, but I’m hoping that DAZ will resolve the problem before too much longer and then this utility will be no longer necessary.  Actually, I’m surprised that it’s gone this long.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 05:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  457
Joined  2010-12-13
Kendall Sears - 02 June 2012 04:40 PM
Art_Junkie - 02 June 2012 02:26 PM

Your utility is extremely handy as opposed to doing the same with a hex editor.
A couple of things I can think of though that would make it even better:
One would be the ability to do multiple files at the same time. Or if that is too much extra programming, then at least keep the program loaded and the main window open afer each file finishes so it doesn’t have to be restarted each time.
Second would be setting a default output filename based on the original filename with something like “-fixed” appended to it.


I thought about the multiple file thing, but I’m hoping that DAZ will resolve the problem before too much longer and then this utility will be no longer necessary.  Actually, I’m surprised that it’s gone this long.


Kendall

I’m surprised it’s gone this long too. FWIW, I wrote a utility that does the same thing, but in the Tcl scripting language. This requires that you have Tcl installed (it’s free). Mine has no gui, but it does fix multiple files. You put all the damaged files in one folder, with nothing else but the program, then double click on the program. All the fixed files are named “FIXED…” and the originals are untouched. If a file did not get a “FIXED” replacement, that means the error message was not found in the original file. If somebody really wants this to batch process multiple files, I can post it on ShareCG. Kendall’s is more user-friendly, tho and doesn’t require the additional download. cool smile

 Signature 

Daz Gallery
DA Gallery
Old post count 1725 (seems lame compared to some)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 05:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2011-09-24

Is it possible for DAZ to add in the available download of the custumers who can’t resolve the problem with the fix program a zip file with the runtime ready ? It will be helpful for us, no ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 06:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  83
Joined  2004-05-09

Norton 360 on my win 7 32-bit system does not like the 32-bit installer fixer.

Image Attachments
dazinstallerfixernogo.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 06:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4753
Joined  2011-10-04

False positive. It does not like the fact that there is a file which tries to modify an .exe file. Viruses often do that, except this time it is what you want it to do.

 Signature 

Thanking: M F M for a gift of dragons!
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 07:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1829
Joined  2006-02-17
alexandre01 - 03 June 2012 05:48 AM

Is it possible for DAZ to add in the available download of the custumers who can’t resolve the problem with the fix program a zip file with the runtime ready ? It will be helpful for us, no ?

 

If you can give me more information of what is happening, or is not happening, in your environment, I may be able to help.  What steps exactly are you taking, and what messages (if any) exactly are you getting?

 

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 07:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1829
Joined  2006-02-17

I’m quoting myself here in case Tylerguy isn’t monitoring the “Superbelt. Deforming errors” thread.  The 14063_SupersuitBootsBelt_v1-1.0_trx.zip file is corrupted beyond repair.  The last 2 Megs of the file are NULLs.  It does contain the errors that all DAZ downloads contain at the moment that my utility fixes, which it does fix for you.  However, even after the errors are fixed, the zip file is trashed.


Kendall

Kendall Sears - 01 June 2012 04:35 PM
Tylerguy - 01 June 2012 04:30 PM
Kendall Sears - 01 June 2012 04:24 PM
Tylerguy - 01 June 2012 03:52 PM

I’m afraid the mac version doesn’t seem to be working for me. The file I’m having trouble with is 14063_SupersuitBootsBelt_v1-1.0_trx.zip.
When I try to open it I get “Unable to expand 14063_SupersuitBootsBelt_v1-1.0_trx.zip into ‘documents’ “. I ran it through the FixDaz utility and named the file super.zip, but I get the same message when I try to open the new file.

Not really sure what I’m doing wrong :(

Kaitan

Did the utility give you a message of “Done.”  or something else when you ran it against the installer?

Kendall

Yes, I get the “Done” message.


Kaitan


Hmmm.  That’s curious.  If you get the “Done.” message, that means it found the bad stuff it was looking for and removed it.


Can you pop up a command line and run a “ls -l” against the two files and PM me the results?  I may be able to determine the problem from the differences in the file sizes.


EDIT:  I’m redownloading the sweet-dreams for the Mac (I usually install the PC version to my shared CMS)  I’ll look into it.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 07:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1829
Joined  2006-02-17
ibr_remote - 03 June 2012 06:47 AM

Norton 360 on my win 7 32-bit system does not like the 32-bit installer fixer.


Norton does not like programs that modify .exe files.  Name the “fixed” installer so that it does not end in .exe or disable your Norton for the time that you’re “fixing” the installer.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 07:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  34
Joined  2007-02-28

I can’t download fixdaz

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 07:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1829
Joined  2006-02-17
Dr_Frankenshroom - 03 June 2012 07:56 AM

I can’t download fixdaz

click on the link below:


http://ovbi.org/gallery/v/krsears/utilities/


click on the text “no thumbnail” above the bold FixDaz


click on “Download archive”


save the archive to your local drive.  Unzip the version you need and run it.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2012 04:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2005-08-09

It won’t work.  It keeps failing.  I give up, I’m through with DAZ

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 9
4