Digital Art Zone

 
   
9 of 9
9
Utility to repair damaged Installers Available
Posted: 25 July 2012 03:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 121 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17

Everybody is welcome.  Since at least 10-July there should no longer be a need for my utility.  It seems that the errors are gone.


For those who may still have downloads with the issues, I will keep the utilities available for at least another couple of months.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 September 2012 07:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 122 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-06-29

Hi,
What is the solution for Mac users? I have downloaded DAZ4.5 about 3 times now, moved it all over from an external drive to a new folder and it still won’t extract. I thought it was because, I was using a mountainlion and somewhere in the knowledgebase section they suggested that I enable “applications downloaded from anywhere”... did that.. still nothing. I keep getting the same message.

“unable to expand “daz-studio-mac.zip” into “downloads” (Error 2 - No such file or directory.)”

I had the DAZ4 which I downloaded months ago… should have just kept that one instead because, if extracting the software alone is this much of a hassle I wonder what other drama I’m gonna encounter when I try to use it program :(

Please help?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 September 2012 07:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 123 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6575
Joined  2006-02-20

I can’t help (because I don’t have a Mac), but I want to reassure you you can get DS4 back: just reset your download for the purchase for Daz Studio 4 Pro - it will give you the files for DS4 and DS4.5.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 September 2012 08:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 124 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17
skyss112 - 20 September 2012 07:53 AM

Hi,
What is the solution for Mac users? I have downloaded DAZ4.5 about 3 times now, moved it all over from an external drive to a new folder and it still won’t extract. I thought it was because, I was using a mountainlion and somewhere in the knowledgebase section they suggested that I enable “applications downloaded from anywhere”... did that.. still nothing. I keep getting the same message.

“unable to expand “daz-studio-mac.zip” into “downloads” (Error 2 - No such file or directory.)”

I had the DAZ4 which I downloaded months ago… should have just kept that one instead because, if extracting the software alone is this much of a hassle I wonder what other drama I’m gonna encounter when I try to use it program :(

Please help?

This is a Mac OS problem, not a DAZ problem.  Google “unable to expand error 2” and you’ll find LOTS of ways to fix the problem.  The best way is to download a dedicated ZIP program for your Mac.  Which one is up to you.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 September 2012 08:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 125 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-06-29

Oops just saw that you posted it already. Sorry. And thanks a bunch.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 September 2012 08:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 126 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-06-29

Okay, back… it doesn’t seem to work and I am getting the same error with the fixed one.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 September 2012 08:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 127 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17
skyss112 - 20 September 2012 08:26 AM

Okay, back… it doesn’t seem to work and I am getting the same error with the fixed one.

Your problem isn’t one that my utility can fix.  It is an issue with your Mac.  You need to go find a dedicated Zip file extractor for your Mac and use that to extract the zip file.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 10:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 128 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  25
Joined  2008-04-13

hi where can i get this tool i have one corrupt install file.and i cant get real help on the helpdesk they always tell me to clear my cache and my cookies.
i downloaded on various computers and with various browsers the file is still corrupt.
it executes but then hangs in a kind of endless loop see what i mean??:

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 10:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 129 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  25
Joined  2008-04-13

do i have to open an account to be able to log into the download page of the tool??.maybe i am blind lol.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 10:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 130 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17
renecyberdoc - 03 October 2012 10:30 AM

hi where can i get this tool i have one corrupt install file.and i cant get real help on the helpdesk they always tell me to clear my cache and my cookies.
i downloaded on various computers and with various browsers the file is still corrupt.
it executes but then hangs in a kind of endless loop see what i mean??:

The link to the utility is in the first post in this thread.  HOWEVER, it won’t fix your problem.  This utility was for issues related to extra garbage written into the files after the switchover.  Those errors have long since been resolved.  The utility is still available in case someone downloaded something in those first few weeks and never got around to using the content.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 10:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 131 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  25
Joined  2008-04-13

hi thanks for the quick reply i wrote to the staff and see what will come out it is the only file that ever was corrupt.i am going to buy a couple of things now and see how they work.my opinion is the file is deat meat lol.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 03:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 132 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9616
Joined  2007-11-06

There’ve been download problems over the past week that were fixed today, so you may want to try again after clearing cache (or using a different browser).

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 February 2013 04:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 133 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  425
Joined  2012-12-18

Hi, I have been having these exact same problems—I DLed Bryce awhile back and it doesn’t execute, and the free Dragon packs today—the only one that works is Mil Dragon 1.0.

How do I fix this?  Because I’m really afraid that I’ll end up purchasing an item I can’t download, and refunding isn’t exactly an option.  Please help me while the dragon bundle is still free, PLEASE!

(Also, I’m unable to log into my account with IE for some reason, and I’m not up to installing any other browser—I normally use Firefox)

Edit: Nevermind.  As I had wondered, the brand new Installation Manager fixes this problem.  You’d think DAZ would explain that on the DL Manager page, or at least somerwhere -_-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 February 2013 08:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 134 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2003-10-09

Thank you for leaving this available i appreaciate it very much

Profile
 
 
   
9 of 9
9