Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 5
1
What’s up with .duf?
Posted: 28 September 2012 08:24 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  655
Joined  2003-10-09

I just purchased the Heart of the Labyrinth scene
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/heart-of-the-labyrinth
and installed both PC download files (Poser and DS).

I run DAZ Studio 3.1.2.32 under Windows7-Pro 64-bit

When I search for new content it finds the Poser “.cr2” file and the Poser light “.lt2” file
C:\Users\<MyName>\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio3\content\Runtime\Libraries\Character\Muze\HTLabyrinth

but doesn’t find the DAZ Studio format “.duf” files for the same product.
C:\Users\<MyName>\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio3\content\Props\Muze\HTLabyrinth

I can live with the Poser .cr2 file but the Poser lights are WAY to bright. :-(

Are all new Studio products going to be incompatible with Studio3?
Can the “.duf” files be converted to older format files compatible with Studio3?

 Signature 

I’m sooo confused…  I’ve come to grasp a little of the nature of reality and the answer to life, the universe, and everything.  I even have an inkling as to who and what I am. Auuummmmm…
But please, please, who the hell are you?  And why are you trampling my roses?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 September 2012 09:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5859
Joined  2005-08-15

DS3 cannot open DUF files, even DS4 before the 4.5 release cannot open them, so this item is probably intended for DS 4.5 or higher.

There are a few items like that in the store now.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 September 2012 09:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  301
Joined  2003-10-09
LeatherGryphon - 28 September 2012 08:24 AM

Are all new Studio products going to be incompatible with Studio3?
Can the “.duf” files be converted to older format files compatible with Studio3?

.duf is the new format for pretty much everything in the latest version of DAZ Studio (4.5) and looks like that is the future for all DAZ native content. I think most of the content providers are using it.  It is not compatible with earlier version of Studio.

 Signature 

Songbird ReMix.comSongbird ReMix Merchandise | SBRM Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 September 2012 11:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  655
Joined  2003-10-09

I was afraid of that. Sigh :-(

I really really really don’t like Studio4 and really really love Studio3.  I have a large library already and haven’t been buying many items recently especially Genesis related stuff but I figured props and architecture would continue to be backward compatible.  I guess that’s not in the cards.  :-( 

Well, there’s one upside to this.  I don’t buy from other stores unless they support DAZ formats so I’ll be saving money by not buying any new items.  And I will be asking for a refund from DAZ.

I feel like I and other Studio3 afficionados are standing on a rug at the edge of a cliff and DAZ is yanking it while yelling “Fly, you fools, fly!”

I’m going to crawl into my hole, pull the rock over me and play with my existing toys.

 

 Signature 

I’m sooo confused…  I’ve come to grasp a little of the nature of reality and the answer to life, the universe, and everything.  I even have an inkling as to who and what I am. Auuummmmm…
But please, please, who the hell are you?  And why are you trampling my roses?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 September 2012 11:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12378
Joined  2003-10-09

You can have both 4.5 and 3 installed without conflict. Load the .duf files into 4.5 and use File>Save as>Deprecated>Material Preset to save the materials in .dsa format, then apply those to the Poser items in DS3.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 September 2012 01:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  896
Joined  2008-11-01
JimmyC_2009 - 28 September 2012 09:17 AM

DS3 cannot open DUF files, even DS4 before the 4.5 release cannot open them, so this item is probably intended for DS 4.5 or higher.

There are a few items like that in the store now.

Yes, this. They do mention that they are only compatible with DS4.5 on the product page though. (well, the ones I’ve seen anyway)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 September 2012 02:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2032
Joined  2003-12-06
JasmineSkunk - 28 September 2012 01:53 PM

They do mention that they are only compatible with DS4.5 on the product page though. (well, the ones I’ve seen anyway)

Not all of them. I’ve bought a few things recently — at least a couple from before 4.5 was out of beta, which is not what I would consider a good idea — which had 4.5-only files with no mention of this in the product page. I was holding off on installing 4.5 until I was sure there wouldn’t be an immediate bugfix update.

I’m in the same boat as LeatherGryphon, although for different reasons. I have 4.5 installed, and I’m trying to get to grips with it, but I just plain don’t like some of the directions it’s taken. I’ve said all along I consider the UI to be several steps backwards from the D|S3 Classic I’m familar with and can use quickly and easily. Some parts I feel are crude and clunky, some just work differently for no readily apparent good reason.

The main reason why I won’t be abandoning D|S3 yet, though, is that many of my figures I’m developing will not work in 4.5 — in particular some adapted A3 and H3 figures, with geometry switching in the legs. The D|S3 scenes I’ve saved cause 4.5 to crash instantly to desktop with a cryptic error in the log. Loading the original Poser figures will allow the geometry switching to work, but I’ve developed these figures over several years and I can’t remember everything I’ve done to them. Some things involved saving as a Poser .cr2 and I don’t even have that installed any more. (BTW, yes, the figures are Melody and Micah, with the Kasa digitigrade legs, Capsces morphs and a few other tweaks.)

I’d love to try adapting my current D|S3 figures to D|S4.5, but until they actually work, there’s no way I could consider it.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 September 2012 06:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  655
Joined  2003-10-09
Richard Haseltine - 28 September 2012 11:52 AM

You can have both 4.5 and 3 installed without conflict. Load the .duf files into 4.5 and use File>Save as>Deprecated>Material Preset to save the materials in .dsa format, then apply those to the Poser items in DS3.

I have Studio4 on a separate machine but I guess I could try that technique.  Thank you.

 Signature 

I’m sooo confused…  I’ve come to grasp a little of the nature of reality and the answer to life, the universe, and everything.  I even have an inkling as to who and what I am. Auuummmmm…
But please, please, who the hell are you?  And why are you trampling my roses?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 September 2012 07:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  54
Joined  2004-05-24
LeatherGryphon - 28 September 2012 11:35 AM

I was afraid of that. Sigh :-(

I really really really don’t like Studio4 and really really love Studio3.  I have a large library already and haven’t been buying many items recently especially Genesis related stuff but I figured props and architecture would continue to be backward compatible.  I guess that’s not in the cards.  :-( 

Well, there’s one upside to this.  I don’t buy from other stores unless they support DAZ formats so I’ll be saving money by not buying any new items.  And I will be asking for a refund from DAZ.

I feel like I and other Studio3 afficionados are standing on a rug at the edge of a cliff and DAZ is yanking it while yelling “Fly, you fools, fly!”

I’m going to crawl into my hole, pull the rock over me and play with my existing toys.

Well, its a lot like the game console market. Eventually your favorite console is going to be abandoned in favor of something newer.
Perhaps a better example would be when Windows 95 gained more steam, less and less programs and games were made for Dos.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 September 2012 08:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  655
Joined  2003-10-09
vrba79 - 29 September 2012 07:16 AM
LeatherGryphon - 28 September 2012 11:35 AM

I was afraid of that. Sigh :-(

I really really really don’t like Studio4 and really really love Studio3.  I have a large library already and haven’t been buying many items recently especially Genesis related stuff but I figured props and architecture would continue to be backward compatible.  I guess that’s not in the cards.  :-( 

Well, there’s one upside to this.  I don’t buy from other stores unless they support DAZ formats so I’ll be saving money by not buying any new items.  And I will be asking for a refund from DAZ.

I feel like I and other Studio3 afficionados are standing on a rug at the edge of a cliff and DAZ is yanking it while yelling “Fly, you fools, fly!”

I’m going to crawl into my hole, pull the rock over me and play with my existing toys.

Well, its a lot like the game console market. Eventually your favorite console is going to be abandoned in favor of something newer.
Perhaps a better example would be when Windows 95 gained more steam, less and less programs and games were made for Dos.

What!!! you mean I’m going to have upgrade to Windows95!  Ohhh noooooo….

 Signature 

I’m sooo confused…  I’ve come to grasp a little of the nature of reality and the answer to life, the universe, and everything.  I even have an inkling as to who and what I am. Auuummmmm…
But please, please, who the hell are you?  And why are you trampling my roses?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 September 2012 09:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  214
Joined  2007-03-03

I’m still angry that DAZ doesn’t support DOS.  grin

 Signature 

-Kodiak3d

“I wonder what tomorrow has in mind for me, or am I even in its mind at all?”
- “Crystal Ball” by Styx

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 September 2012 08:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7366
Joined  2007-11-06
Kodiak3D - 29 September 2012 09:11 AM

I’m still angry that DAZ doesn’t support DOS.  grin

I think DAZ 3D has had quite enough DOS the last few days.

 Signature 

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products
Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 September 2012 05:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9527
Joined  2007-11-06

...I was afraid of this.  Genesis stuff, that’s fine, I can live with out that, but, props, that’s another thing.

Not only are Poser lights too bright, but all the shaders need tweaking to look proper in the final render as well.

I agree with the “rug on the cliff” analogy.

The only thing that still makes my annual PC membership worth something anymore is the 1.99$ stuff Jack keeps releasing and the occasional cool old car.

 Signature 

...Dammit Jim, I’m an artist not a Database Manager.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 September 2012 06:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1151
Joined  2006-04-16

Why switch to .DUF files? What was wrong with the way things were before?

 Signature 

Genesis is head & shoulders above “Genesis 2” (or better known as BF2/BM2) and is the FAR superior figure. Why? It doesn’t suffer from the UN-necessary gender split

My DeviantArt Page.

ULTIMATE SUPER-HERO FREEBIES!

The Supersuit product comes with a Basic Supersuit. DAZ has finally fixed it’s UV’s. Re-Download now to receive the update. Thanks DAZ! smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 September 2012 06:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9527
Joined  2007-11-06

...other than a means of getting everyone to abandon older forms of the application for 4.5, I’ve been wondering the same thing myself.

 Signature 

...Dammit Jim, I’m an artist not a Database Manager.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 September 2012 07:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7366
Joined  2007-11-06

.duf is plain text and can be edited in a text editor, .daz is binary and cannot be edited in anything
.duf will automatically recreate Data folder files from the Poser versions if the Data files are missing
.duf files can be opened in earlier versions (starting with DS 4.5), .daz files never could
.duf uses a standardized, documented architecture based on JSON, .daz format is a mystery

 Signature 

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products
Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 5
1