Digital Art Zone

 
     
Which Content to Install
Posted: 28 September 2012 03:44 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2009-07-07

Hi guys, I have a pretty basic question (well actually I have about 4 basic questions but don’t want to look like a complete dork just yet),

My computer crashed last weekend and I had to get a new motherboard and CPU and I boosted the ram a little as well.
I have been reinstalling stuff and the first program I put in was Bryce, but I am a little confused, over the years since I bought my original version of Bryce Pro there were some upgrades to Bryce and Content.
While looking in the folder for the Bryce Pro install file I came across 2 Bryce content files as well as Bryce Lightning files

One was           Bryce Content 7.0.0.21 win
the other was     Bryce Pro Content 7.0.0.19
Am I right in assuming the one I need to install is the Bryce Pro file even though the version number is smaller?

I will get to the other questions later smile

As always any and all help is greatly appreciated

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 September 2012 04:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  102
Joined  2005-11-18

Actually you should install both content packages since each has different stuff in it.  Also don’t forget to grab the bryce content packs that are still free in the store even if they say version 5 and 5.5 they all still work in 7 just fine.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 September 2012 05:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2009-07-07
GreyMouser69 - 28 September 2012 04:31 AM

Actually you should install both content packages since each has different stuff in it.  Also don’t forget to grab the bryce content packs that are still free in the store even if they say version 5 and 5.5 they all still work in 7 just fine.

Hi Grey
thank you, will head off and do that now

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 September 2012 05:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3824
Joined  2004-10-01
shaykall - 28 September 2012 03:44 AM

Hi guys, I have a pretty basic question (well actually I have about 4 basic questions but don’t want to look like a complete dork just yet),

My computer crashed last weekend and I had to get a new motherboard and CPU and I boosted the ram a little as well.
I have been reinstalling stuff and the first program I put in was Bryce, but I am a little confused, over the years since I bought my original version of Bryce Pro there were some upgrades to Bryce and Content.
While looking in the folder for the Bryce Pro install file I came across 2 Bryce content files as well as Bryce Lightning files

One was           Bryce Content 7.0.0.21 win
the other was     Bryce Pro Content 7.0.0.19
Am I right in assuming the one I need to install is the Bryce Pro file even though the version number is smaller?

I will get to the other questions later smile

As always any and all help is greatly appreciated

If I remember right, 7.0.0.19 is the content a couple of brycers contributed for the launch of Bryce 7.0. Content 7.0.0.21 is additional content only for the 7.1 Pro version when we still had PLE, Standard and Pro.

 

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 05:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17049
Joined  2003-10-09

Bringing this one back up with a question, Does anyone know what size these 2 downloads should be. Please.

Added to that does anyone know how big the actual Brcye & Pro download should be.

I am not trusting the downloads I am getting, and My original download is apprenetly on the external that dies.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 05:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5222
Joined  2012-04-07
chohole - 01 October 2012 05:39 AM

Bringing this one back up with a question, Does anyone know what size these 2 downloads should be. Please.

Added to that does anyone know how big the actual Brcye & Pro download should be.

I am not trusting the downloads I am getting, and My original download is apprenetly on the external that dies.

If my downloads came through correctly they are:

Bryce 7.1.0.109 Win32 is 253mb

BryceContent 7.0.0.21 Win is 670mb

BryceProContent 7.0.0.19 Win is 17.2mb

 Signature 

Lots of photos in my DA Gallery including PD Textures.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 October 2012 06:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17049
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks for that, so I got one out of 3 right so far   rolleyes  this is going to be fun I can see.  Should know better than to try downloading on Monday morning (UK time) with my ISP

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile