Digital Art Zone

 
     
How to change origin point?
Posted: 27 September 2012 04:19 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-04-06

I currently have multiple objects with origin points. but they are all in the wrong place! i cannot get my origin points to show so I can move them, because I do not know how!  I was going to make an animation look smooth and not look like it’s falling apart.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 September 2012 06:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4894
Joined  2004-07-01
22986 - 27 September 2012 04:19 PM

I currently have multiple objects with origin points. but they are all in the wrong place! i cannot get my origin points to show so I can move them, because I do not know how!  I was going to make an animation look smooth and not look like it’s falling apart.

just a guess - frame 0 - place your models ( all ways )
then goto frame ( x ) where you want to move it
never goto frame ( x ) and place them

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 September 2012 07:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI 22986 smile

What you’re asking depends on what software you’re using.

For example : In Carrara, you can create a Group, or an Animated Group of different objects, which allows you to select and move that single group.

In other programs you’ll need to “Parent” objects , so that one object moves along with the other.

An example of this would be:  A figure walking along holding a box, ..the box ( a prop object ) would be “Parented” to one of the figures hands, and would follow the motion of the hand as if it were stuck to it.

It can help if you mention what type of objects you’re using, and what you’re trying to do, and maybe a screen-capture of what you’re doing.

Hope that makes sense smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 September 2012 11:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3039
Joined  2004-10-25

Your suggestion about “parenting” is a good one 3DAGE, but what if the objects he wants to move aren’t related, such as a character carrying a box.

I don’t know about Carrara, but in DS I often “parent” objects to a Null.  I don’t really do much animation, but couldn’t the Null’s origin point then be used to move all the objects parented to it all at once?

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 September 2012 01:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-04-06

Ok I can try parenting but Just in case you need to know, I used Blender to export my models.


oh and I’m doing an animal and not an object

Profile