Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 10
2
3Delight Discussion
Posted: 25 September 2012 10:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  54
Joined  2004-05-24
mjc1016 - 25 September 2012 09:58 AM

And something else…

You could set up a computer with just the 3Delight stand alone on it, on your network and dump the RIBs from Studio to it…and then run them on that machine, freeing up the machine with Studio on it. (But the same can be said for using any external renderer.)

Well, while this is the only computer I have on my network that I can use for rendering, I greatly appreciate you sharing that bit about the render speed difference.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 10:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

And here are two done in Luxrender…top at two minutes, bottom at 4 minutes.  I’m using a tweaked SPPM setting that I like a lot.  As can be seen the Lux can stand to run a lot longer…and have the lighting tweaked.

Image Attachments
amkhtest2min.pngamkhtest4min.png
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 10:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  54
Joined  2004-05-24

This also sheds like on my PWtoon problem. Its a Studio Issue, because it renders as it should when I use 3Delight externally.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 10:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
vrba79 - 25 September 2012 10:40 AM

This also sheds like on my PWtoon problem. Its a Studio Issue, because it renders as it should when I use 3Delight externally.

That’s interesting. 

Since the stand alone is just recompiling the actual shader, I wonder if something in Studio is coming into play to either prevent a recompile or some scripting change/error is preventing it…if you wanted to play around, you could check the sdl for it in the RIB folder and compare it to the one in Studio (if you can find it…they can be hard to find, without doing a complete system search)

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1259
Joined  2009-10-27
Kendall Sears - 24 September 2012 09:46 PM

There are many applications where one would need to render non-physical (non-nature) light.  This would include pretty much all movies as there is significantly more light in a movie scene than exists in nature.  Which is why 3Delight has been used in all of the Harry Potter and X-Men movies.
Unbiased rendering, for the time being, is not useful in production.
Kendall

Definitely true.

 Signature 

Real Plants Collection 1: Fallen Trees, Ivy and Vines”
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 12:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1852
Joined  2006-02-17
vrba79 - 25 September 2012 09:55 AM

Holy Friggen CRAP!!! I just tried it for myself.
You could knock me over with a feather right now.
It renders raytraced transparent hair like its nothing!!!

Welcome to the club.  Want to go faster?  Take Windows out of the equation.  3DL under Linux just FLIES!

EDIT:  If you don’t use the interactive viewer, the speed doubles over using the viewer.  There’s an issue with the TCP communications between renderdl and the i-display, especially if one is using firewalls.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 12:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1852
Joined  2006-02-17
Alessandro_AM - 25 September 2012 12:20 PM
Kendall Sears - 24 September 2012 09:46 PM

There are many applications where one would need to render non-physical (non-nature) light.  This would include pretty much all movies as there is significantly more light in a movie scene than exists in nature.  Which is why 3Delight has been used in all of the Harry Potter and X-Men movies.
Unbiased rendering, for the time being, is not useful in production.
Kendall

Definitely true.

Hey Alex!

Do we need to mention the extreme speed “some certain person” gets using the RiCurves?  grin

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 01:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Kendall Sears - 25 September 2012 12:46 PM
Alessandro_AM - 25 September 2012 12:20 PM
Kendall Sears - 24 September 2012 09:46 PM

There are many applications where one would need to render non-physical (non-nature) light.  This would include pretty much all movies as there is significantly more light in a movie scene than exists in nature.  Which is why 3Delight has been used in all of the Harry Potter and X-Men movies.
Unbiased rendering, for the time being, is not useful in production.
Kendall

Definitely true.

Hey Alex!

Do we need to mention the extreme speed “some certain person” gets using the RiCurves?  grin

Kendall

No…

But under certain circumstances, I think it actually finishes rendering BEFORE you finish typing in the command to start it…:cheese:

Sometimes the disparity in the times isn’t so great, but most of the time the stand alone is considerably faster.  I’m using the latest stand alone version and I think it is even faster than any of the earlier 10.x versions.  I’d like to try a stand alone 10.62, but it isn’t out yet (or any other 10.6x version, for that matter), as it’s the same version in the latest Studio beta release.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 01:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1259
Joined  2009-10-27

Ehm… mmmhhhh…. who that might be? rolleyes tongue wink

 Signature 

Real Plants Collection 1: Fallen Trees, Ivy and Vines”
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 03:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  54
Joined  2004-05-24

Nah!  I tried Linux. Wasn’t for me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 04:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1852
Joined  2006-02-17
vrba79 - 25 September 2012 03:55 PM

Nah!  I tried Linux. Wasn’t for me.

It isn’t for everyone, that’s true.  But it does give you access to utilize a machine’s full power.  Boot into level 3.  No GUI to get in the way, download the RIB/data, shut down the ethernet link, “nice” the 3delight render to ridiculous levels and watch ‘er go!  For the few seconds she runs at anyway grin.

Set up a bash script and queue up a lot of renders at those speeds…

—example script to transfer 5 renders and render them and transfer back the results.  can be done more efficiently.

#! /bin/bash

a = render1 render2 render3 render4 render5

for f in $a; do
scp -rp server:$f*; \
ifdown eth0; \
renderdl -q $f.rib; \
ifup eth0; \
scp render.tiff server:$f_collected/; \
done;

—end script

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 11:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11068
Joined  2007-11-06
cwichura - 25 September 2012 08:20 AM

In that case, it would be cheaper to add more RAM given the current price for RAM than it would be to purchase the stand-alone 3Delight licenses.  And the extra RAM would give more overall utility.

...that’s only a viable solution if you are working in 64 bit.  In 32 bit you are stuck to 2G so being able to render outside of the Studio application is a real plus.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 September 2012 11:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1006
Joined  2012-02-04

If you are still using a 32-bit derelict, then you’d be better off putting your money towards a machine made in the last five years.

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage
Set Focal Distance script for DAZ Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 September 2012 12:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1852
Joined  2006-02-17
cwichura - 25 September 2012 11:57 PM

If you are still using a 32-bit derelict, then you’d be better off putting your money towards a machine made in the last five years.

This depends on what you’re trying to do.  32 bit machines make fine rendering boxes, and excellent NAS frames.  Depending on the OS, they can make good 3D machines as well.  There are a crap-ton (emphasis on crap) of 32bit DeLL machines running around.  I even had a Rambus DeLL in for repair not too long ago.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 September 2012 12:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11068
Joined  2007-11-06
cwichura - 25 September 2012 11:57 PM

If you are still using a 32-bit derelict, then you’d be better off putting your money towards a machine made in the last five years.

...a lot easier said than done at times.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 10
2