Digital Art Zone

 
   
9 of 10
9
3Delight Discussion
Posted: 24 October 2012 10:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 121 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1870
Joined  2006-02-17
Tramp Graphics - 24 October 2012 10:51 PM
Kendall Sears - 24 October 2012 10:42 PM
Tramp Graphics - 24 October 2012 10:38 PM

This is what I get: Last login: Thu Oct 25 00:30:56 on ttys001
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:~ TrampGraphics$ which renderdl ; exit;
/Applications/Graphics/3Delight-10.0.50/bin/renderdl
logout

[Process completed]

Where is this (in bold above) coming from?

Please try these in order and post the results (or send them to me via PM if you’d rather not post them).  This is squirrelly to the extreme.

cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected “return”
ls “return”
renderdl -h “return”

Kendall

I entered the command into a new command window, hit Return, same as always.

Results of cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected:

Last login: Thu Oct 25 00:38:14 on ttys000
cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected ; exit;
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:~ TrampGraphics$ cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected ; exit;
logout

[Process completed]

Results of renderdl -h:

Last login: Thu Oct 25 00:49:06 on ttys000
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:~ TrampGraphics$ renderdl -h ; exit;
Usage: renderdl [options] [file1 ... fileN]
  -v           : output version to console
  -h           : output this help
  -q           : don’t print the name of files rendered
  -d           : add a framebuffer display
  -D           : add a framebuffer and automatically close it
  -id           : add an i-display interactive framebuffer
  -idf         : add an i-display framebuffer with float output
  -displayvar     : specifies wich variable to display (rgba is default)
  -nd           : no display, ignores framebuffer displays in RIB
  -res x y       : Specify image resolution
  -beep         : beep when finished all RIBs
  -beeps         : beep after each rendered RIB
  -frames f1 f2   : only render frames f1 to f2
  -crop l r t b   : set a crop window in screen space
  -stats[1-3]    : display end of frame statistics
  -statsfile file   : output statistics to ‘file’
  -progress       : print rendering progress at each bucket
  -noinit       : do not read ‘.renderdl’ file
  -init         : force reading ‘.renderdl’ file (after -catrib)
  -test         : render a test image
  -maxmessages n   : print at most ‘n’ error or warning messages
  -filtermessages m : filter out messages in comma separated list

Multi-processing options (please read documentation for details)
  -t n         : launch the render using ‘n’ threads
  -p n         : same as -t
  -P n         : launch the render using ‘n’ processes
  -hosts h1,h2,...  : specifies a list of hosts to render on.
  -tiling t       : sets the tiling mode to use (v, h, m or b).
              This is only meaningful when using processes.
  -ssh         : use ‘ssh’ instead of ‘rsh’ to start renders
  -jobscript script : use ‘script’ to start renders
  -jobscriptparam p : passes ‘p’ as the first parameter of script

RI filtering options (refer to documentation for further details)
  -rif filter     : adds an RI filter to the filter chain
  -rifargs args   : starts an argument list
  -rifend       : ends and argument list

RIB output options
  -catrib       : output RIB to stdout
  -o file       : when used with -catrib, output RIB to file
  -binary       : encode RIB in binary format
  -gzip         : compress RIB using gzip format
  -callprocedurals : expand all procedurals and archives
  -archiveprocedurals: replace procedurals by DelayedReadArchive
  -noformat       : perform only minimal formatting of RIB
  -noheader       : disable the structural header

Please refer to user’s manual for more informations.

logout

The entries in red above are your problem.  Here’s what I think is happening.  renderdl is a multithreaded process that disconnects from the input chain, but still needs STDOUT to output messages.  Since an “exit” command is getting inserted at the end of the command list the terminal process is terminated and STDOUT is closed.  This will cause renderdl to abort.

You need to find what is putting those “exit” commands into your input stream and kill it.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 11:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 122 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1870
Joined  2006-02-17

Just for giggles let’s try this to see if we can’t get around whatever is putting “exit"s into your stream:

cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected; renderdl -q -progress First-Trick-or-Treat.rib

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 11:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 123 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1558
Joined  2011-11-16
Kendall Sears - 24 October 2012 11:01 PM

Just for giggles let’s try this to see if we can’t get around whatever is putting “exit"s into your stream:

cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected; renderdl -q -progress First-Trick-or-Treat.rib

Kendall

Here’s what I get:

Last login: Thu Oct 25 00:50:30 on ttys000
cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected; renderdl -q -progress First-Trick-or-Treat.rib ; exit;
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:~ TrampGraphics$ cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected; renderdl -q -progress First-Trick-or-Treat.rib ; exit;
logout

[Process completed]

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 11:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 124 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1870
Joined  2006-02-17
Tramp Graphics - 24 October 2012 11:02 PM
Kendall Sears - 24 October 2012 11:01 PM

Just for giggles let’s try this to see if we can’t get around whatever is putting “exit"s into your stream:

cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected; renderdl -q -progress First-Trick-or-Treat.rib

Kendall

Here’s what I get:

Last login: Thu Oct 25 00:50:30 on ttys000
cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected; renderdl -q -progress First-Trick-or-Treat.rib ; exit;
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:~ TrampGraphics$ cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected; renderdl -q -progress First-Trick-or-Treat.rib ; exit;
logout

[Process completed]

Do you not get a progress meter on the screen?

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 11:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 125 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1558
Joined  2011-11-16

Nope.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 11:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 126 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1870
Joined  2006-02-17

let’s try this:

cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected; time renderdl -q -progress First-Trick-or-Treat.rib & ; sleep 240; echo ‘done.’

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 11:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 127 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1558
Joined  2011-11-16
Kendall Sears - 24 October 2012 11:09 PM

let’s try this:

cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected; time renderdl -q -progress First-Trick-or-Treat.rib & ; sleep 240; echo ‘done.’

Kendall

Last login: Thu Oct 25 01:11:38 on ttys000
cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected; time renderdl -q -progress First-Trick-or-Treat.rib & ; sleep 240; echo ‘done.’ ; exit;
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:~ TrampGraphics$ cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected; time renderdl -q -progress First-Trick-or-Treat.rib & ; sleep 240; echo ‘done.’ ; exit;
-bash: syntax error near unexpected token `;’
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:~ TrampGraphics$

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 11:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 128 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1870
Joined  2006-02-17

I’m at a loss.  Until you can find what is causing your system to add ‘exit’ behind every command, your terminal sessions are going to be useless.  Unfortunately, you need it to use 3Delight Standalone.

Every command I have posted has worked on my Mac here (as well as on Linux).  Take a look in the settings for your terminal to see if there is a reconfigure of the ‘return’ key.  Also, investigate any apps that you have your finder running that muck with the input chain.

At this point, about the only option you have (other than the above) is to write a bash script containing the requisite commands and execute that through ‘at’ or ‘cron’ and hope that the ‘exit’ issue affects interactive input only.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 11:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 129 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1558
Joined  2011-11-16

I looked at my Terminal preferences Other than Keyboard (which is too long to fit in a screen cap and didn’t list any special “Return” key action ) They are:

Image Attachments
Teminal-text-settings.jpgTerminal-Advanced-Settings.jpgTerminal-Shell-Settings.jpgTerminal-Window-settings.jpgTerminal-startup.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 11:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 130 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1870
Joined  2006-02-17
Tramp Graphics - 24 October 2012 11:43 PM

I looked at my Terminal preferences Other than Keyboard (which is too long to fit in a screen cap and didn’t list any special “Return” key action ) They are:

Nothing out of the ordinary there.  The only other thing I can think to try is to download a non-apple command utility and try that.  Maybe a tru-GNU BASH or something.  Maybe try getting a ksh, or tcsh.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 12:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 131 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1558
Joined  2011-11-16

This is the New Command Window I was referring to and is the only means by which I have to make commands:

Image Attachments
New-Command-Window.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 12:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 132 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1870
Joined  2006-02-17
Tramp Graphics - 25 October 2012 12:22 AM

This is the New Command Window I was referring to and is the only means by which I have to make commands:

This one is designed for single commands only.  It will not work for multi-command operations.

You need to use the terminal located in the Applications->Utilities->Terminal area.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 01:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 133 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1558
Joined  2011-11-16
Kendall Sears - 25 October 2012 12:50 AM
Tramp Graphics - 25 October 2012 12:22 AM

This is the New Command Window I was referring to and is the only means by which I have to make commands:

This one is designed for single commands only.  It will not work for multi-command operations.

You need to use the terminal located in the Applications->Utilities->Terminal area.

Kendall

That is from that Terminal application. That’s the only “Terminal” utility program I have. The only other “Copy” I have is in the Applications>Utilities on my external hard drive. And I can’t find an option for multi-command operations. If I try to input it directly into the Terminal Bash window, when hit Return after each command, I get:

Last login: Thu Oct 25 03:32:16 on ttys000
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:~ TrampGraphics$ cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:First-Trick-or-Treat_collected TrampGraphics$ renderdl -q -id First-Trick-or-Treat.rib
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:First-Trick-or-Treat_collected TrampGraphics$


Could the dashes (-) used instead of spaces between words be the problem?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 01:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 134 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1870
Joined  2006-02-17
Tramp Graphics - 25 October 2012 01:45 AM
Kendall Sears - 25 October 2012 12:50 AM
Tramp Graphics - 25 October 2012 12:22 AM

This is the New Command Window I was referring to and is the only means by which I have to make commands:

This one is designed for single commands only.  It will not work for multi-command operations.

You need to use the terminal located in the Applications->Utilities->Terminal area.

Kendall

That is from that Terminal application. That’s the only “Terminal” utility program I have. The only other “Copy” I have is in the Applications>Utilities on my external hard drive. And I can’t find an option for multi-command operations. If I try to input it directly into the Terminal Bash window, when hit Return after each command, I get:

Last login: Thu Oct 25 03:32:16 on ttys000
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:~ TrampGraphics$ cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:First-Trick-or-Treat_collected TrampGraphics$ renderdl -q -id First-Trick-or-Treat.rib
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:First-Trick-or-Treat_collected TrampGraphics$

Oh boy.  You’re missing an app.  The interface you showed above absolutely WILL NOT work for what you need to do.  The environment needs to live for longer than a single command operation.

You can try typing “/bin/bash” into the command dialog there and see if you get a persistent terminal.  If so, then you can follow the instructions given previously.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 02:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 135 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1558
Joined  2011-11-16
Kendall Sears - 25 October 2012 01:57 AM
Tramp Graphics - 25 October 2012 01:45 AM
Kendall Sears - 25 October 2012 12:50 AM
Tramp Graphics - 25 October 2012 12:22 AM

This is the New Command Window I was referring to and is the only means by which I have to make commands:

This one is designed for single commands only.  It will not work for multi-command operations.

You need to use the terminal located in the Applications->Utilities->Terminal area.

Kendall

That is from that Terminal application. That’s the only “Terminal” utility program I have. The only other “Copy” I have is in the Applications>Utilities on my external hard drive. And I can’t find an option for multi-command operations. If I try to input it directly into the Terminal Bash window, when hit Return after each command, I get:

Last login: Thu Oct 25 03:32:16 on ttys000
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:~ TrampGraphics$ cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:First-Trick-or-Treat_collected TrampGraphics$ renderdl -q -id First-Trick-or-Treat.rib
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:First-Trick-or-Treat_collected TrampGraphics$

Oh boy.  You’re missing an app.  The interface you showed above absolutely WILL NOT work for what you need to do.  The environment needs to live for longer than a single command operation.

You can try typing “/bin/bash” into the command dialog there and see if you get a persistent terminal.  If so, then you can follow the instructions given previously.

Kendall

Tried that, This is what I get:

Last login: Thu Oct 25 03:59:46 on ttys001
/bin/bash ; exit;
Michael-Tramperts-Mac-mini:~ TrampGraphics$ /bin/bash ; exit;
bash-3.2$ cd /Users/TrampGraphics/Desktop/RIB-files/First-Trick-or-Treat_collected
bash-3.2$ renderdl -q -id First-Trick-or-Treat.rib
bash-3.2$

 

Profile
 
 
   
9 of 10
9