Digital Art Zone

1 of 8
OctaneRender for Daz Studio
Posted: 24 September 2012 08:15 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2008-02-08

Couldn’t find a post about it already, but finally I will have my prefered render in Studio without 3rd party software or export:

OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview
http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=23663&start=10

Posted: 24 September 2012 08:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  363
Joined  2003-10-09

cool smile..I’ve been wanting to look into Octane for a while now…a D|S plugin sure makes things easier!

Posted: 24 September 2012 09:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  52
Joined  2011-09-11

i have been using octane for 8 months and it is just wonderful. the plugin will make it easier but it’s easy right now once you learn octane. i may even opt to stay with the standalone version of octane even after the plugin is released.

it’s a gpu renderer, so if you have a fast graphic card render times for my projects are all under 30 min, i see posts about 2 hour renders with daz or lux and I laugh because it would be 15 min in octane. need more speed, get another graphic card (nvidia).

at first my only issue was animation, that was resolved a few months ago. i’m not one for giving out technical advice, but if you are willing to invest in the learning curve it is the single best thing one can do to improve your renders.

the workflow that work for me is:

sketchup
blender
kinect mocap
scupltris/goz

any/all

export into daz, add characters
exoprt into octane
import renders into after effects
end

sometimes i export sketchup or blender direct into octane then export the character into octane.

Posted: 24 September 2012 11:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  863
Joined  2005-11-06