Digital Art Zone

 
     
How to move a light around in DS4.5P? (Resolved)
Posted: 22 September 2012 02:07 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  284
Joined  2012-02-12

I have an indoor scene and I’m trying to use a light presets, Lantios’s Fashion light set. Anyway, the problem is the walls of the building are blocking the light, but when I go to the parameters and try to move it via the x-translate, etc., nothing noticeable happens. When I try to look at it through the viewport like I would a camera, and then scroll in to move it that way, nothing happens. I’m using the latest stable version of DS4.5P.

Are these lights anchored to something? Is it possible to move them?

I’m sure it’s one of those obvious things I just can’t figure out. Thanks in advance.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 02:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

If you are using “Distant Lights” it will do no good to move them.
Their origin always remains at infinity (not affected by inverse square law, BTW)
You can move the physical location of other types of lights, like spot, point, etc.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 02:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  284
Joined  2012-02-12

Thanks for the info. Do you happen to know of any go-to lighting packs for character renders inside buildings?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 02:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

I can make no recommendation on pre-done lights.
Lighting is so important that it is one of the first things you should learn.
In real world terms, if you have no light, you cannot see anything.
Granted, there is a default ambient lighting in DS if you have no other sources, but it is only useful for setting up and does not make for the full potential of a scene.

There are many tutorials and books concerned solely with lighting.
You can use ones for photography, because principle is same and you are effectively taking a picture through a virtual camera when you render

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 03:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2344
Joined  2003-12-06

If you’re having problems with bits of your scenery blocking lights, one thing you can try is selecting each piece of model that’s in the way, go to the Parameters tab, and switch off “Cast Shadows”.

There are limits to this trick, though. It depends on how the problem scenery is built — if you need only certain walls made “see-through” to the lights, are they independently selectable, or is the whole thing one big prop? You also need to watch out for other things on the wall, e.g. window frames, light switches, etc. Are they part of the wall, or independent parts of the whole scenery model? Will they need to have “cast shadows” turned off as well?

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 03:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  284
Joined  2012-02-12

Thanks. I agree on learning how to do lighting myself. One thing at a time for me, though. Right now I’m focusing on learning about materials and the different settings in the surfaces tab. But both are important.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 03:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Is that wall needed in the scene?  Is it an individual piece or is it a ‘box’?

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 07:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  284
Joined  2012-02-12
SpottedKitty - 22 September 2012 03:14 PM

If you’re having problems with bits of your scenery blocking lights, one thing you can try is selecting each piece of model that’s in the way, go to the Parameters tab, and switch off “Cast Shadows”.

There are limits to this trick, though. It depends on how the problem scenery is built — if you need only certain walls made “see-through” to the lights, are they independently selectable, or is the whole thing one big prop? You also need to watch out for other things on the wall, e.g. window frames, light switches, etc. Are they part of the wall, or independent parts of the whole scenery model? Will they need to have “cast shadows” turned off as well?

I have to go in and check if it’s all in one piece. I’m not on my own computer right now, but all of you have given me some great information. I wouldn’t have thought of taking the “cast shadows” off. Brilliant! And since I’m only using one wall, I can see if I can make transparent the other walls.

Thanks so much for your help, mjc1016, SpottedKitty, and Medzin!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 08:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Post REMOVED by user. DUH moment.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile