Digital Art Zone

 
     
Apps or Zips
Posted: 21 September 2012 06:21 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  179
Joined  2006-09-05

I finally decided to try and dl DAZ/Studio 4.5. I had not done so before as Kaspersky won’t allow exe. extensions. I know I could turn it off, however, after a major virus infection (yes, I did have Microsoft Security Essentials on, but the virus installed itself in MSE and ruined my pc), I am rather reluctant to do so. So I got a big surprise when DAZ/Studio 4.5 did not have the exe, but a Zip to download. I have not dl’d any genesis updates, as I am not sure if they also are Zips now.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 September 2012 06:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7986
Joined  2006-03-19

Not everything has been transferred to zips yet.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Ravenwood Cemetery*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 September 2012 06:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  179
Joined  2006-09-05

Hi Frank, “not everything”, so how does one know which ones have been transferred, and will all previous stuff be zipped also?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 September 2012 07:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7986
Joined  2006-03-19

We don’t know. We only find out when we purchase something and it has a zip available in stead of a exe.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Ravenwood Cemetery*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 September 2012 09:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9674
Joined  2007-11-06

New content is still being released as installers.  A lot of older content with Mac installers which don’t work on current Macs was converted to .zips—see my sig for my thread listing known products currently in zips.

Ultimately everything will be in zips, but only when DAZ 3D is ready to release the optional Install Manager for those who prefer installers.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 September 2012 11:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  179
Joined  2006-09-05

Thanks mike, so the zips are for Macs only, which I don’t have. I shall wait.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 11:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  994
Joined  2012-01-29
frodi - 21 September 2012 11:38 PM

Thanks mike, so the zips are for Macs only, which I don’t have. I shall wait.

No, the zips are not only for Mac. They are for PC too. From things I bought, mostly older clothing for generation 3 figures (A3, H3 etc.) is in zips now.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 05:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  179
Joined  2006-09-05

Oh, thanks for that Proxi, I shall have a look at the updates and see if they are in zips.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 06:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1842
Joined  2008-05-31

Filenames for the new universal (PC & Mac) zip files always start with “IM”, the Mac-only files usually have “Mac” somewhere in the name. See attached screenshot - universal zips are marked green, Mac zips yellow:

Image Attachments
zips.jpg
 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 07:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  179
Joined  2006-09-05

Interesting Taozen, I have not seen those as yet.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 08:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  179
Joined  2006-09-05

I fired up DAZ Studio 4.5 and find a totally different layout. That is no problem, but the rendering is a pain. I don’t seem to be able to render the whole scene, only the middle bit. What to do?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 09:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  555
Joined  2011-04-12

If I correctly understand your description of the problem, you need to adjust the dimensions in Render Settings.

 Signature 

Not interested in the giant leap backwards that is “Genesis 2”.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 09:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  179
Joined  2006-09-05

I am not sure. When I open Studio I get genesis in a narrow frame, superimposed on the screenlayout. Why does Studio load like that? I found a way to show all of genesis, but when I render it again it only shows the scene in a narrow frame. I looked at the render settings, but there is nothing in there to enlighten me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 06:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1842
Joined  2008-05-31
frodi - 22 September 2012 07:05 PM

Interesting Taozen, I have not seen those as yet.

Well they are converting the oldest files first, so currently you’ll only see them if you buy or reset some of the older stuff.

New stuff is still being released using the installers instead of the new universal zip format. I assume it’s because they convert the files in chronological order according to release date.

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 07:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17125
Joined  2003-10-09

Actually the main reason for the older files being converted is because of Mac Uusers not being able to use the older installers any longer.

THe new format zips, which cater to both packages have IM at the front of the zip name.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 09:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1842
Joined  2008-05-31
chohole - 23 September 2012 07:26 AM

Actually the main reason for the older files being converted is because of Mac Uusers not being able to use the older installers any longer.
.

OK, that makes sense.

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile