Digital Art Zone

 
     
FBX export question
Posted: 21 September 2012 09:18 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  33
Joined  2012-07-24

Hello,
I try to export a figure to Maya or to Iclone( is the same effect) as an fbx.

My settings are:

Exoprt options:
checked: Figures, Props and Animations

Output Options;
FBX 2012 - Binary
checked :embed textures. merge diffuse and opacity texture, merge clothing into figure skeleton, allow degradeed skinning, allow degraded scaling

But something does not work - please see the screenshot.

Any idea how to fix it?

Thanks a lot
Alex

Image Attachments
FBX_export.PNG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 September 2012 09:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  363
Joined  2007-10-08

This information may be helpful for the options in FBX export:  http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/artzone/pub/software/fbx/reference

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 10:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  52
Joined  2007-06-25

trial and error, I’d guess ....

Although I work with MAX 2012, maybe useful, as I had to ‘configure’ the settings as well, to get a decent result:

- I use fbx 2012 —Ascii   (2011 works fine as well)
- No animations (or morphs) included, Just figures and Props < and also when importing, exclude Animation
- Merge Clothing into Figure Skeleton
- Allow Degraded Skinning
- Allow Degraded Scaling

I don’t collect textures, as the original path will be included, so gathering of the maps can be done manually afterwards.

Also (at least when working in MAX):
When I Export > Import a dynamic piece of clothing, it doesn’t get integrated into the Skeleton .....
But I found a work-around for that.
In MAX the Skin-modifier gets stacked upon the Mesh.
I guess its a similar process in MAYA?

Anyway:
Copy the Skin-modifier from the Figure Mesh
Place the Dynamic piece in the right position, and maybe fit it manually, and Paste the Skin-modifier onto this Mesh, and voila ...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 November 2012 01:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2003-10-09

Same setting, same problem here, although I restarted Studio got an export that worked. Last problem (I’m sure there’ll be many more) is the animation associated with the clothing doesn’t appear in Maya. gav

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 November 2012 02:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  52
Joined  2007-06-25

yeah, I concluded: ‘The fbx-format does not contain animated dynamic clothing correctly.’
At least .. that’s what’s happening when importing in MAX > it floats somewhere above the figure ....

Profile