Digital Art Zone

 
     
Can’t import collada .dae files into Daz 4.5
Posted: 20 September 2012 03:07 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2006-03-04

Hello, i’m having an issue with the new versión 4.5. i can’t import collada .dae files into Daz, that didn’t happened on previous versions.
I tried with several files,  models exported to collada from Google sketchup 8, and sometimes daz imported parcial elements (planes, or a cilinder) but never the whole model, and sometimes it didn’t load anything at all. I doublechecked the export options on ketchup, selected all objects, but nothing works.
Can someone help and tell me what might be wrong or how can i import these .dae models?
Thanks for any help
Nuria

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 06:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-03-24

I know this reply is kind of late, but I’m still looking into this myself.

I’ve had the problem back with Daz 4 as well. When I got a hold of their support team, I was told that COLLADA (.dae) files are a rough standard. Not sure how much I believe that or if I mis-understood support.

Google / Trimble / whoever currently owns Sketchup says that it uses the COLLADA 1.4 specifications and schema (as of 10/16/2012 at least). I couldn’t find a similar specification on DAZ. The closest I’ve come is to notice that Daz never puts just “COLLADA” files, it’s always “DAZ COLLADA”, which makes me think they might be the ones breaking the format. Don’t know since I don’t have any other 3D editor to try exporting with.

Hopefully someone comes along and fixes this, since COLLADA is really the only way to transition between the two (without having Sketchup Pro).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 07:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4632
Joined  2004-07-01
FlageZooke - 13 January 2013 06:40 AM

I know this reply is kind of late, but I’m still looking into this myself.

I’ve had the problem back with Daz 4 as well. When I got a hold of their support team, I was told that COLLADA (.dae) files are a rough standard. Not sure how much I believe that or if I mis-understood support.

Google / Trimble / whoever currently owns Sketchup says that it uses the COLLADA 1.4 specifications and schema (as of 10/16/2012 at least). I couldn’t find a similar specification on DAZ. The closest I’ve come is to notice that Daz never puts just “COLLADA” files, it’s always “DAZ COLLADA”, which makes me think they might be the ones breaking the format. Don’t know since I don’t have any other 3D editor to try exporting with.

Hopefully someone comes along and fixes this, since COLLADA is really the only way to transition between the two (without having Sketchup Pro).

you can use obj files .

edit to add - Bryce can import some Sketchup files - just don’t try to send them to DS .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 10:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-03-24

OK, so any recommendations on how to get Sketchup files into OBJ form? I tried downloading a Sketchup Plugin to do that, but the it was laced with a funmood virus…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 10:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15336
Joined  2003-10-09

Have a word with the petrolheads in the Car and Bike lovers thread.  They often work with sketchup files.

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/290/

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 02:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4632
Joined  2004-07-01
FlageZooke - 13 January 2013 10:13 AM

OK, so any recommendations on how to get Sketchup files into OBJ form? I tried downloading a Sketchup Plugin to do that, but the it was laced with a funmood virus…

look at the plugins at the Sketchup site - they should be virus free ( at least they are for me )

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 02:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7289
Joined  2009-07-13

http://www.sketchup.com/download/plugins.html the main site
got me to this
http://rhin.crai.archi.fr/rld/plugin_details.php?id=790
I have an old rb plugin for sketchup 6 I use myself

or use Blender to convert the .dae

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 03:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4632
Joined  2004-07-01
wendy♥catz - 13 January 2013 02:41 PM

http://www.sketchup.com/download/plugins.html the main site
got me to this
http://rhin.crai.archi.fr/rld/plugin_details.php?id=790
I have an old rb plugin for sketchup 6 I use myself

or use Blender to convert the .dae

thanks wendy wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2013 04:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-03-24
chohole - 13 January 2013 10:51 AM

Have a word with the petrolheads in the Car and Bike lovers thread.  They often work with sketchup files.

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/290/

That was a big help, thanks! With a bit of digging I found a Ruby Script for doing the job (OBJ Exporter). It’s part of the Ruby Library Depot, and that’s linked to from http://www.sketchup.com/intl/en/community/resources.html#ruby

This could give me the kick start I need to actually get some things done in Daz! Wahoo!

Profile