Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 3
3
Morphs & Genesis: On Coding Level; Workaround/Fix Found
Posted: 03 October 2012 07:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  348
Joined  2003-10-09

Thank you guys for all your help.  I think we have a viable fix/workaround for all the morphs that were created before 4.5.  Still don’t know why 4.5 is being so difficult, and if you don’t get it right on the first try, you have to delete everything and start from scratch.


I was completely wrong with my previous assessment of how SickleYield fixed her Mutations Morphs.  Anyone reading this thread please disregard my previous post #22.  You do not need to re-save Genesis to fix the broken morphs.  All you need to do is save as “Support Asset/Morph Asset(s)”, but you must do it first thing the first time you install the morphs.  This will not work after you close DS4.5 the first time after it registers the morphs.  The second opening of DS “null and voids” the morphs, and if you try to save them at this point result in the omission of all vertex deltas.  Don’t know why.  This just is…

Thank you mjc for cluing me into this with your own workflow, and I can now circumvent all my other work for my own MT’s for now on just using this method alone.  Took a long time to get to this stage, but I would call it settled (barring all the mysteries still surrounding the issue).


For anyone stumbling upon this thread who is having issues with morphs not working in DSPro4.5 that were probably created with millighost’s Blender scripts that worked in DSPro4.0, here is a little mini-tut explaining the workflow to get them working again:

*Caveat;  Not sure how important this is, but after hours of trial-n-error, and 4.5 not allowing a fresh install of MT’s to be registered as “first time” installs, I resorted to closing down both DSPro4.5, and the CMS before re-installing any new MT’s to be saved.  This was the only way for me that 4.5 would allow any MT’s to be “seen” as new again.

1.  Delete the broken morphs.
2.  Reinstall the morphs.
3.  Start up the CMS.
4.  Start up 4.5.
5.  Load up Genesis.
6.  Check to make sure the morphs are working (very important - null and void parameter dial will result in all vertex delta loss).
7.  If MT’s working, save them via drop-down box:  “File/Save As/Support Asset/Morph Asset(s)”
8.  Add “Vendor Name”, and “Product Name” (Example: Oom_Fooyat/Teeth_Morphs.  If you name them both the same you will get the same folder within the main folder.  If you want them all just under the main folder, then leave Product Name blank)
9,  Select only the morphs you need to convert/save.
10.  Select if you want the morphs compressed or not in the “File Options” section with the “Compress File(s)” check-box.
11.  Press “Accept” (or Cancel if you change your mind).
12.  Close down both DS, and the CMS (once again, only precautionary for completed conversion - might not be necessary).
13.  Open up folder where original morphs are located, and remove them however you see fit (as backup somewhere, delete, etc.).  Do not remove the newly created/converted versions (If you created a “Product Name” folder, they will be in there).
14.  Start back up both CMS (if shut down), and DSPro4.5.
15.  Load in Genesis.
16.  Check to make sure your newly (permanent) morphs are working again. (If not, sorry, but you will have to start all over from scratch.  If you do it correctly the first time, you shouldn’t have to redo it again)
17.  Find some more non-working morphs, and Rinse-n-Repeat.

Good luck, and may you only need one time per conversion session…

Pics below show visual example:

Image Attachments
Clipboard01.jpgClipboard02.jpgClipboard03.jpg
 Signature 

Take care all..        “It’s easy to clean up when you got money.”        *Old Post Count:  Don’t know, don’t care…  *New Site Status:  Doesn’t matter one iota.
Ken

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 01:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

So, now it becomes a multistep process…instead of just having the morph and not worrying about it, the extra step of actually saving it through DS is needed.

I’ll stop hacking the script…I wasn’t getting very far, any way.  The file it puts out is just too…well, without rebuilding it from the ground up, I don’t think the exporter is fixable.  If/when MG decides to do that, maybe we can go back to not having to save it through DS. 

Maybe the save through DS is actually a feature of 4.5?  That way, everything ends up with the ‘authorship’ codeblock AND gets a ‘uniform’ file structure.  It seems 4.5 has no problem reading the messed up exporter output, that first time.  So, thinking about it, why can’t it do it more than that one time?  Unless, 4.5 was designed that way…

I’m more interested in making sure that the importer is working right, any way.

Oh, and I tried the multi-res modifier for sculpting…seems to work.  I’m going to try a new sculpt.  But I didn’t get any failures when I added it to the one I’m currently working on…but all I did was a couple of touch ups.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 09:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  348
Joined  2003-10-09

nicci:

Blender 2.64 has been set free into the wild.  Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyy!!!  Get your copy quick before prices go up…


Regarding the rotation issue, yeah, that is exactly what I was talking about.  It turns out you must only do your scaling/rotation/translations in Object Mode before you venture into Edit Mode.  Object Mode S/R/T is independent of Edit Mode, and anything you do there does not transfer out in your exports.  It is safe to rotate Genesis to the (standing) up position, and even scale him/her down to a size you feel comfortable working with.  It will not affect the morphs whatsoever.  It’s a beautiful thing.

You can still do these operations in Edit Mode, of course, but only if you want them intentionally included in the MT’s.

Like you, before I knew this, I butchered many morphs as well, and not just with Genesis.


mjc:

Well, at least we have a viable fix that doesn’t include a dozen more hoops to jump through like I have been doing, thanks to your insight.

Yeah, it pretty much sucks big time we even have to do this in the first place, and the complete and utter ludicrousness of this entire exercise has fried my brain.

How the hell they managed to get Studio to become so temperamental towards text data is beyond my understanding.  What’s next?  I find out I can’t make an exact copy of a .pz2, .cr2, or .pp2, and drop it into another library, because Studio already registered the first one.

I’ll leave the mysteries to themselves.  I’m just glad I got the morphs I wanted to use working again.  Again, thank you for this.

 Signature 

Take care all..        “It’s easy to clean up when you got money.”        *Old Post Count:  Don’t know, don’t care…  *New Site Status:  Doesn’t matter one iota.
Ken

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 10:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Have you alerted Oom to this…because I’ve been wanting to use the teeth morphs and I haven’t had the time to reload/properly save them.  Or should I go ahead and alert him?  (PM with a link to this thread…never mind, I’ll do it now.)

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 01:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18

Hi…

Daremok3:

Downloaded & installed as soon as I got home last night…. Yipppeeee!!!!

Was playing in it until around 3 am this morning, I love the skin modifier (once I figured out how to use it wink  ) and the upgrades to sculpting are great.  I made some interesting things with them… tongue rolleye

Thanks for letting me know that it is ok to adjust the rotation and scale in object mode when using the script, that makes things easier for me for sure… BTW do you know if the script works in 2.64?

Oh, and that idea I had the other night before I had those problems was very similar to what you have worked out. After reading through your steps it sort of dawned on me that it all kind of makes sense know what DS is doing, or maybe I’m still sleepy and think I understand what DS is doing  tongue rolleye.

I’m going to try me idea latter when I get home and see if I get the same results as you.

nicci… smile

Edited to clarify after my first cup of coffee... gulp

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 04:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

niccipb…try the last version uploaded, it was for 2.63.

I’ve also let Oom know about what’s going on and sent a link to this thread.

I’ll probably try grabbing 2.64 tonight, and see what fun can be had.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 05:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18

Thank you mjc… smile

I’ll copy it over tonight and give it a whirl…

nicci… smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 October 2012 12:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  348
Joined  2003-10-09

Just for clarity/safety’s sake;  From my post #33 above, the scale/rotate/translate in Object mode only refers to the creation of morph targets.

The Blender pros swear by scale/rotate/translate in Edit mode when you are actually modeling, and possibly putting scenes together (something about arrays, and texture/UV data).

I make no claims of knowledge that this is indeed fact.  I can just confirm that the S/R/T conventions are correct when working on MT’s for Genesis via millighost’s scripts.  Please use at your own discretion.

 Signature 

Take care all..        “It’s easy to clean up when you got money.”        *Old Post Count:  Don’t know, don’t care…  *New Site Status:  Doesn’t matter one iota.
Ken

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 January 2013 04:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Well…necroposting here, because I discovered that some exciting things have happened with the scripts…

Millighost has now put them under the GPL3…and there has been an update to them…back in November, actually.  A bunch of added features…but one of them is rudimentar armature import.  Also native gzip support, so you can load compressed dufs.  I picked up the most recent version (there’s actually two versions of the scripts…a second one by someone else…but those features seem to be in the original version now, too)

I haven’t really had the time to explore the update (just picked it up last night and installed this morning…), but it does seem to be a big step forward.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 January 2013 07:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18

Hi…

Thanks for the update on the updated scripts…. grin

And do please let us know what you find with them… like are they now writing to the full DSON standard and formating…. and does it still import at face down monster scale…. wink

If these and more are now part of the scripts, then I see that as one big step closer to that ‘Blender Bridge’  or even a real Blender DSON support….

nicci… smile

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 3
3