Digital Art Zone

 
     
Bryce 5.5 and Bryce 7 Pro question
Posted: 19 September 2012 12:34 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  455
Joined  2009-11-22

The PA sale now has this item made by karanta:

24 High Resolution Terrains for Bryce 5.5

Will this item work in Bryce 7 Pro?

Thanks.
R

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 12:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15280
Joined  2003-10-09

Yup Most Bryce content is backwards compatible.

However I have to be honest and say that terrains actually made for Bryce 7 will probably be more detailed, as there are a lot more terrain tools in Br7 than there was in Br5.5

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  926
Joined  2003-10-09

I have virtually every Bryce product made before Bryce 7 and all of it so far has worked flawlessly in Bryce 7. I do have to agree though that alot of that stuff is a bit dated and from a time when computers and programs couldn’t do as much then as they do now. So in other words, those were hi resolution terrains by the standards at the time but are not as much so by todays standards. That being said Karanta does fine work and makes good products or did anyway, I have not seen anything new under the karanta name for some time now.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 September 2012 01:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3371
Joined  2004-10-01

Bryce is generally downward compatible. Also tutorials that were made for Bryce 4 and upwards are still valuable.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile