Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Reality 2_Has This Happened To Anyone Else???
Posted: 18 September 2012 04:54 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2005-08-05

Hi guys,
Just finished installing DS 4.5 (32 Mac). Now I’ll preface this by saying I’ve been using DAZ Studio since 1.2. So I’m not exactly a newbie. But this has got me stumped and was wondering if this has happened to anyone else. I purchased Reality 2 for DS4 (32) and went to install it into DS4 but received this Error Message: (see below). Does anyone know what is going on here? I’m at a loss! Thanks for any input.

CHEERS;-)
Michael

Image Attachments
Error-Messeage_1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 05:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1792
Joined  2005-12-31

Which folder are you installing reality to?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 06:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2005-08-05
Khory - 18 September 2012 05:02 PM

Which folder are you installing reality to?

Hi Khory,

The DAZ Studio4 Folder. That’s where DS4 is installed. Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 07:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1792
Joined  2005-12-31

So C:\Program Files\DAZ 3D\DAZStudio4 ? When you look in there do you see the reality add on files?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 08:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2866
Joined  2004-04-14

What is the exact version of DS4.5?

What is the exact version of Reality 2?


that you are using.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 08:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2005-08-05
Mattymanx - 18 September 2012 08:07 PM

What is the exact version of DS4.5?

What is the exact version of Reality 2?


that you are using.

I’m using 4.5.0 114 Pro Edition (32bit)

And the Reality version is:  2.5 (Mac 32bit)

Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 08:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  65
Joined  2012-09-08

Go to your c drive and then select search,type daz and delete any folder that related to your new one,it worked for me before.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 09:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2005-08-05
aminrouge - 18 September 2012 08:52 PM

Go to your c drive and then select search,type daz and delete any folder that related to your new one,it worked for me before.

I failed to mention that I’m on a Mac.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 09:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2866
Joined  2004-04-14

The zip you downloaded for Reality, does it state the exact version # on it?

I ask cause the zip file I have for R2.5 is “Reality_2.5.1.104_DS4_W_64.zip”

That is new as of the other day too btw.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 10:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2005-08-05
Mattymanx - 18 September 2012 09:40 PM

The zip you downloaded for Reality, does it state the exact version # on it?

I ask cause the zip file I have for R2.5 is “Reality_2.5.1.104_DS4_W_64.zip”

That is new as of the other day too btw.

I made this purchase through Renderosity. As you can see below it’s a .dmg.

Image Attachments
Reality.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 10:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  65
Joined  2012-09-08

Can you select the folder manually?if you tried it and the error message still shown to you,maybe reality is not compatible with your version,just saying because i had those problems before( on mac not pc ) and the problem was with the new tools.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 12:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2005-08-05
aminrouge - 18 September 2012 10:19 PM

Can you select the folder manually?if you tried it and the error message still shown to you,maybe reality is not compatible with your version,just saying because i had those problems before( on mac not pc ) and the problem was with the new tools.

That sounds plausible. I’m running Leopard 10.5.8 but, it is, according to Preta, compatible with this OS.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 09:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2866
Joined  2004-04-14

Are you able to install the contents of the package to an empty folder on your hdd?

I ask cause I do that all the time with the windows version and then place the files manually to their correct location. 

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 10:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  333
Joined  2003-10-09

From the error message, it looks as if you simply clicked the icon of your startup disk (‘MAC HD’) when the installer asked you to select a destination.

This will not work. The Reality installer needs you to find the actual folder that contains DS4.

Go back to the Destination Select step and look for a button that will allow you to choose where the software is to be installed. Click that button (I forget what it’s called, but it should be more or less obvious) and a file dialog will come up. Use that to navigate to the folder where DS4 is installed. Choose that folder as the destination for the installer.

Once you’ve done that, Reality should install without problems.

 Signature 

http://bytescapes.com/            Bryce/Carrara/Reality galleries and resources

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 03:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2005-08-05
angusm - 19 September 2012 10:27 AM

From the error message, it looks as if you simply clicked the icon of your startup disk (‘MAC HD’) when the installer asked you to select a destination.

This will not work. The Reality installer needs you to find the actual folder that contains DS4.

Go back to the Destination Select step and look for a button that will allow you to choose where the software is to be installed. Click that button (I forget what it’s called, but it should be more or less obvious) and a file dialog will come up. Use that to navigate to the folder where DS4 is installed. Choose that folder as the destination for the installer.

Once you’ve done that, Reality should install without problems.

Thanks for that, but if I don’t click on the start up disc I won’t get the “Choose Folder” option.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 04:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2005-08-05
angusm - 19 September 2012 10:27 AM

From the error message, it looks as if you simply clicked the icon of your startup disk (‘MAC HD’) when the installer asked you to select a destination.

This will not work. The Reality installer needs you to find the actual folder that contains DS4.

Go back to the Destination Select step and look for a button that will allow you to choose where the software is to be installed. Click that button (I forget what it’s called, but it should be more or less obvious) and a file dialog will come up. Use that to navigate to the folder where DS4 is installed. Choose that folder as the destination for the installer.

Once you’ve done that, Reality should install without problems.

Here is a look at my installation. Should’nt the DAZStudio icon be highlighted and not faded? I can’t understand why it is not recognizing DS4 in that folder.

Image Attachments
Reality-Install1.jpg
Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1