Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 6
3
Carrara 8 and Carrara 8.5, Where are the Serial Numbers Located? Read on
Posted: 29 October 2012 06:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI belovedalia

Welcome smile

Carrara 8 “Standard” is only available as a 32-Bit application.
The Pro version is available in both 32 and 64-Bit versions.

The 8.5 Beta is supplied as both 32 and 64 bit versions to allow users to evaluate all the features of the full program.

Hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 08:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1598
Joined  2005-02-25

oh… but the beta will eventually be discontinued right? and the beta is for the pro version?

bummer…. wish i knew that way back when i bought carrara 8 standard.  Another bad buy. Sigh. I really need to read the details better.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 09:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

The beta has all the Pro feature unlocked,. so that you can test how it functions

The way carrara works is that All the features are there,. and your serial number makes it either Standard, or Pro.

When Carrara 8.5 is finally ready, and released,.  it will be a new version for both the Standard and the Pro which will replace C8.

Daz Bfurner had just posted a new serial number for the current 8.5 beta which extends it’s use. (that’s Both 32 and 64bit)

At this point,. I’ve no idea whether Daz3D will make the same distinction between 8.5 Pro and Standard, for 64 and 32bit respectively.  but It’s pretty likely to be the same as it is right now,. EG: standard is 32bit only, and Pro is 64bit (or both 32 and 64)

Right now only the Pro version is supplied as both 32 and 64 bit.
The Standard version only comes as 32 bit. and has less tools / features.

You could contact Daz3D sales, and move up to the pro version, to get 64-bit.
or just stick with the current beta, (64bit or 32bit) until the beta testing is completed, and we get the new 8.5 version in the store.

Hope that makes sense smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 10:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1598
Joined  2005-02-25

well thing is, I don’t want to start learning the program on the pro version when I only own the standard, and then go back to standard when the beta ends…
and really disappointed to learn the standard is only 32 bit… so guess i really screwed myself over not reading the fine print.
Unfortunately no idea how much it’d cost to upgrade from standard to pro since there’s nothing in the store for it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 12:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Once you’ve put in the serial number for Standard,. then you’ll be running the standard version.
all the pro features will be hidden at that point,.

I think it’s only if you’re running the demo, or in trial mode that you’d get the sudden disappearance of the pro features,. but I could be wrong.

the Missing upgrade options from 8 standard to pro, is one that’s resulted in several threads here, and it seems to be an issue with the new store,.

the temporary solution is to contact Daz3D sales department,. and they can sort it out for you.

smile

Edited to add :

Daz have a 30 day return policy, which is the same amount of time that the pro features would normally last in the Demo / Trial,.
so if you buy within that time, then realise you need those Pro features, ...you can “Normally” upgrade for the difference.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 November 2012 12:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2010-11-19

I urgently need the new serial for 8.5/64 - where can I find it (the old one has already expired ... again)? BTW: This serial war sucks!

OK, got it. Nevertheless it still sucks ...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 November 2012 07:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07
Rickenbacker_325 - 22 November 2012 12:07 AM

I urgently need the new serial for 8.5/64 - where can I find it (the old one has already expired ... again)? BTW: This serial war sucks!

OK, got it. Nevertheless it still sucks ...

What sucks is not having an update in 6-7 months while the serial keeps running out.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 November 2012 07:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1939
Joined  2011-07-31

I’m waiting for the magic to begin and checking every day to see if there is any progress.

 Signature 

AtticAnne in Austin TX

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 November 2012 08:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI Rickenbacker

the serial in always posted and Updated in the first page of the main beta release thread,..

CDZCPRO-085-0000018-ZWM-001-EBTOMDO (Expires 12/1/2012)

in case you’re unaware,. the beta is for testing, and NOT recommended for any Production work, for example,.. where you have deadlines to meet for a client


Hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 05:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  347
Joined  2007-07-31

Actually the current serial to January 12th is

CDZCPRO-085-0031102-PAS-001-EBTQTHV   wink

 

 Signature 

http://bond3d.wix.com/carrarators#!home/mainPage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 December 2012 06:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22
0oseven - 03 December 2012 05:43 PM

Actually the current serial to January 12th is

CDZCPRO-085-0031102-PAS-001-EBTQTHV   wink

THis number does not work for me? Whats up?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2012 08:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  228
Joined  2006-05-21

Maybe it is something as simple as typing it in rather than cut and paste? I had this happen to me a while back . Or maybe typing letter o’s instead of zeros.
This number works for me.

 Signature 

http://stusutcliffe.blogspot.co.uk/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2012 03:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  347
Joined  2007-07-31

Definitely the number supplied by Daz - see sticky post ” bete 172 now avaialable ”
quote
To register the Carrara 8.5 Beta you will need to use the serial code listed here: CDZCPRO-085-0031102-PAS-001-EBTQTHV (Expires 12 January 2013)

My experience is that you cannot copy and paste the serial but be careful to type in exactly as above.

try again ?

 Signature 

http://bond3d.wix.com/carrarators#!home/mainPage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 01:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1428
Joined  2008-01-01

What has always worked for me is to copy from the forum announcement, paste into a .txt file (notepad), copy from there and Ctrl+ v into the licence block:)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 02:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6183
Joined  2007-12-04
0oseven - 09 December 2012 03:15 PM

Definitely the number supplied by Daz - see sticky post ” bete 172 now avaialable ”
quote
To register the Carrara 8.5 Beta you will need to use the serial code listed here: CDZCPRO-085-0031102-PAS-001-EBTQTHV (Expires 12 January 2013)

My experience is that you cannot copy and paste the serial but be careful to type in exactly as above.

try again ?

Right. Copy/Paste DOES work… you just have to use “Ctrl+v” in the Carrara popup in order to paste.
Select the entire old code, and Ctrl v (paste) in the new.
Hope that helps wink

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 6
3