Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 6
2
Carrara 8 and Carrara 8.5, Where are the Serial Numbers Located? Read on
Posted: 23 October 2012 06:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2042
Joined  2011-07-31

I bought C8Pro on the 19th.  After filing 3 tickets, I called DAZ this morning.  I went over the problem of no serial number with Joanie and kept telling her that I was not the only one with this problem.  She emailed me my serial number.  I just checked my account and still no serial number.  My suggestion is call sales support.

 Signature 

AtticAnne in Austin TX

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 October 2012 06:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  19
Joined  2005-10-30

I plan on calling in the am.

i also want to make sure i get all the other items that also come with the pro version.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 October 2012 07:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  58
Joined  2011-09-04

Well, I just purchased Carrara 8 Pro and received a serial number that does not work.  Also, the downloads include MAC installers, Carrara_8.1.1.12_Mac64 and Carrara_8.5.0.132_Mac64.  I tried the serial code with each install and it shows invalid.  The 8.1.1.12 install is telling me that the application has to be run as an administrator first?????  The only user on my MAC is an administrator.  Very frustrated after paying $171.00 for this application.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 October 2012 10:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2003-10-09

The same here, I´m do the same, report this and here the question and the answer:

Me:

“Hello, I have problems with my Carrara 8 Pro, results that my laptop decomposed where I have downloaded and installed my Carrara 8 Pro, and decided to do a reset on my Itemized Order History use another equipment but I realize it says in parentheses Carrara 8 Pro upgrade from Carrara 7 Pro is inactive!, I reset, and gives me a different version at which I have on my computer originally broken, and I thinking that it is an update, I install it, but my surprise is that to put my serial number says that is invalid. What happened with the version I bought, why it appears inactive?”

DAZ:

  “The 8.5 files you will need the information from the following link,

  http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/4700/

  The serial number you have is for Carrara 8 Pro files only.”


¿ hmmm ?

I don’t understand.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 October 2012 11:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9614
Joined  2007-11-06
Ruben Mendoza - 23 October 2012 10:06 PM

The same here, I´m do the same, report this and here the question and the answer:

Me:

“Hello, I have problems with my Carrara 8 Pro, results that my laptop decomposed where I have downloaded and installed my Carrara 8 Pro, and decided to do a reset on my Itemized Order History use another equipment but I realize it says in parentheses Carrara 8 Pro upgrade from Carrara 7 Pro is inactive!, I reset, and gives me a different version at which I have on my computer originally broken, and I thinking that it is an update, I install it, but my surprise is that to put my serial number says that is invalid. What happened with the version I bought, why it appears inactive?”

DAZ:

  “The 8.5 files you will need the information from the following link,

  http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/4700/

  The serial number you have is for Carrara 8 Pro files only.”


¿ hmmm ?

I don’t understand.

When you reset you get two versions:
(1) 8.1, which is the release version you own, which uses your serial number
(2) 8.5, which is a beta version and uses the beta serial number

There are a lot of files, so change the downloads page to show 50 items instead of 10.

You can install both versions in different folders.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 01:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  58
Joined  2011-09-04

Well, this is fine and dandy, but my purchased 8.1 version will not work with the serial number given to me at purchase.  I also have this “need to run once as an administrator” message and bounces me out and I cannot register.  I thought that maybe Carrara would be stable, but it appears not.  So, I wonder when I will be able to use my purchased product?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 03:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1825
Joined  2004-08-24

HI SultryLady
welcome smile

You need to be logged into your computer with administrator right to be able to install and register applications.

The serial number from your account should be accepted if you’re the administrator.
it won’t if you’re not .
it’ll just keep asking for it each time.

or are you saying the serial is wrong ?

If you’ve copied and pasted it into the box,. you may have included an extra space,.

Paste the serial into a text editor, like Notepad or Simpletext, then copy and paste that into carrara.


Also,.. If you can mention what system you’re using Mac or PC, and what OS version
as well as any other relevant info,.
that helps people to help

Hope it helps smile

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 01:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  58
Joined  2011-09-04
3DAGE - 24 October 2012 03:32 PM

HI SultryLady
welcome smile

You need to be logged into your computer with administrator right to be able to install and register applications.

The serial number from your account should be accepted if you’re the administrator.
it won’t if you’re not .
it’ll just keep asking for it each time.

or are you saying the serial is wrong ?

If you’ve copied and pasted it into the box,. you may have included an extra space,.

Paste the serial into a text editor, like Notepad or Simpletext, then copy and paste that into carrara.


Also,.. If you can mention what system you’re using Mac or PC, and what OS version
as well as any other relevant
that helps people to help

Hope it helps smile

Well, I am running a MAC with Lion being the OS. I am the administrator of the computer.  I have tried with th serial number as you suggested and now when I open the program and try to register, it tells me that the trial has expired and it just boots me out.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 09:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  398
Joined  0
SultryLady - 24 October 2012 01:52 PM

Well, this is fine and dandy, but my purchased 8.1 version will not work with the serial number given to me at purchase.  I also have this “need to run once as an administrator” message and bounces me out and I cannot register.  I thought that maybe Carrara would be stable, but it appears not.  So, I wonder when I will be able to use my purchased product?


The “need to run once as an administrator” issue seems to be a known problem.

If you are running Mac OS 10.7 or higher and try to register your serial number in Carrara 8.1, you may find that you cannot register the application. (The problem has been corrected in the Carrara 8.5 beta.)

I have read elsewhere that the workaround for this problem is to run Carrara once as the “superuser”, and register it at that time. (“Superuser” has more privileges than “Administrator”.)

The safest way to do this is via the Terminal application (since running the entire Mac OS as the “superuser”, or “root user”, can be hazardous to your computer).

If you carefully follow the steps below, you will only need to type a very short command, followed by your administrator password, into the Terminal window.
—————————

Open the folder in which Carrara 8.1 is installed.

Locate the Carrara application and right-click on it.

In the drop-down menu, select “Show Package Contents”.

In the window that opens, open the “Contents” folder.

Go to the Macintosh “Utilities” folder located in the “Applications” folder and launch the “Terminal” application.

Arrange your desktop so that the open “Contents” folder and the “Terminal” window are side by side.

**********
NOTE: In the next step you will be dragging the “MacOS” folder from the “Contents” window to the Terminal window. This does not actually move the “MacOS” folder, but just identifies its location for the Terminal application. However, use caution when dragging the “MacOS” folder, and be sure that you do not release it anywhere other than in the Terminal window. Releasing it elsewhere will result in it being moved to a new location. In which case you will have to find it and move it back to the “Contents” folder.
**********

In the Terminal window type “cd ” (cd followed by a space, without the quotes.)

Drag-and-drop the “MacOS” folder from the “Contents” window into the “Terminal” window. Note that additional text appears following the “cd ” previously entered.

In the “Terminal” window press the Return key. (No error or warning messages should appear.)

In the “Terminal” window type “sudo ./Carrara” without the quotes, and press Return. (There’s a space between sudo and the period.)

You will be prompted for a password. Enter your Administrator password and press Return.

Carrara should launch.

Continue and register Carrara with your serial number. After Carrara is registered and running, quit Carrara.

Carrara should now be usable by launching it in the normal manner.

 

 Signature 

-Dean

DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1922/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 October 2012 05:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1825
Joined  2004-08-24

HI de3an smile

Thanks for a great explanation . It’s much appreciated.

I hope SultryLady manages to follow it,.  ...as a PC user, it makes little sense to me… 

Andy smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2012 04:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  58
Joined  2011-09-04
de3an - 25 October 2012 09:00 PM
SultryLady - 24 October 2012 01:52 PM

Well, this is fine and dandy, but my purchased 8.1 version will not work with the serial number given to me at purchase.  I also have this “need to run once as an administrator” message and bounces me out and I cannot register.  I thought that maybe Carrara would be stable, but it appears not.  So, I wonder when I will be able to use my purchased product?


The “need to run once as an administrator” issue seems to be a known problem.

If you are running Mac OS 10.7 or higher and try to register your serial number in Carrara 8.1, you may find that you cannot register the application. (The problem has been corrected in the Carrara 8.5 beta.)

I have read elsewhere that the workaround for this problem is to run Carrara once as the “superuser”, and register it at that time. (“Superuser” has more privileges than “Administrator”.)

The safest way to do this is via the Terminal application (since running the entire Mac OS as the “superuser”, or “root user”, can be hazardous to your computer).

If you carefully follow the steps below, you will only need to type a very short command, followed by your administrator password, into the Terminal window.
—————————

Open the folder in which Carrara 8.1 is installed.

Locate the Carrara application and right-click on it.

In the drop-down menu, select “Show Package Contents”.

In the window that opens, open the “Contents” folder.

Go to the Macintosh “Utilities” folder located in the “Applications” folder and launch the “Terminal” application.

Arrange your desktop so that the open “Contents” folder and the “Terminal” window are side by side.

**********
NOTE: In the next step you will be dragging the “MacOS” folder from the “Contents” window to the Terminal window. This does not actually move the “MacOS” folder, but just identifies its location for the Terminal application. However, use caution when dragging the “MacOS” folder, and be sure that you do not release it anywhere other than in the Terminal window. Releasing it elsewhere will result in it being moved to a new location. In which case you will have to find it and move it back to the “Contents” folder.
**********

In the Terminal window type “cd ” (cd followed by a space, without the quotes.)

Drag-and-drop the “MacOS” folder from the “Contents” window into the “Terminal” window. Note that additional text appears following the “cd ” previously entered.

In the “Terminal” window press the Return key. (No error or warning messages should appear.)

In the “Terminal” window type “sudo ./Carrara” without the quotes, and press Return. (There’s a space between sudo and the period.)

You will be prompted for a password. Enter your Administrator password and press Return.

Carrara should launch.

Continue and register Carrara with your serial number. After Carrara is registered and running, quit Carrara.

Carrara should now be usable by launching it in the normal manner.

 

Thanks so much.  It worked and now I am on my way.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2012 06:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2042
Joined  2011-07-31

Glad you’ve got it working.  Have fun !

 Signature 

AtticAnne in Austin TX

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2012 06:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  398
Joined  0
SultryLady - 27 October 2012 04:08 PM

Thanks so much.  It worked and now I am on my way.

Wonderful! cool smile

Glad it helped.

 Signature 

-Dean

DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1922/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 10:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1618
Joined  2005-02-25

I’ve just started trying to download Carrara 8 upgrade, but t here is ONLY 8.5 installers, I don’t see an 8.1 installer.  IS there only a beta now? And yes I’ve looked at all the download pages… i have it set t 50 downloads shown as well. I’ve cllicked to download and all the installers i got are 8.5

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 11:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1618
Joined  2005-02-25

correction, there is an 8.1 windows 32 bit version, but no 64 version? is that rigt??

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 6
2