Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
Daz 4.5 no longer creating categories…...
Posted: 18 November 2012 07:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  76
Joined  2005-01-23

I stumbled upon this awesome information and will also be using it on my own DAZ CMS database as I have corruption according to the logfile. 

Thanks a million!
grin

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 November 2012 09:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  76
Joined  2005-01-23

I just performed all the processes as detailed, and everything is looking great!  Its fixed a lot of issues I was having such as the Smart Content not working and the Duplicate ID errors I was getting, thanks!

One problem I still get though is related to the Genesis characters.  When I load up Genesis, I get a popup error message saying, “Duplicate Formulas Found in Files.  Make sure that the content is properly installed.  See the log file for more details.”

Hmmm… as far as I can tell the content is properly installed?  The log file is super-huge, and I can’t really see anything that I can interpret as a problem?  If I accept the error dialog box, the Genesis character finishes loading, but this needs to be fixed I am sure.  Does anyone know how to fix this error please? 

Also, is it okay to delete the log file so it can start afresh?  This might make it easier to see the errors if there are any?

Any help would be very much appreciated!

grin

Thank you.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 09:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

Duplicate formulas found refers to an error in the actual genesis morph data.  There were a series of early products (including the original gen4 characters for genesis as well as a few other products).  These products must be *uninstalled* and then the new current version installed.

If you look at your DAZ Studio log, you can generally see which product is responsible…

However, there’s a nice wiki page on the DAZ Documentation site which lists them all and how to fix them. wink

http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/artzone/pub/software/duplicateformulaerror/start

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 10:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

Oh, also, glad the process worked for the rest of your errors. smile

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 12:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  76
Joined  2005-01-23

Perfect! Thanks again.  I am going to try that now.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 03:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  623
Joined  2011-03-26

Thx Adam.
I run into this problem and was following all suggestions and could not solve until I realized that I seem to have several databases location on my system:

C:\ProgramData\DAZ 3D\Content Management Service\databases

and

C:\Program Files\DAZ 3D\Content Management Service\databases

Maybe the 2nd location is a leftover of an earlier studio version?

- - -

I followed the steps and manually deleted the files also in

C:\ProgramData\DAZ 3D\Content Management Service\databases

After reseting the database and reimporting the metadata everything seems to be working again.

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 01:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

Yeah, the one in Program Files is not accurate for any current version of DS4.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 01:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  311
Joined  2004-09-07

Oh boy, I’m doing it… but so far, my database has gone over 8 GB heading for the recycle bin… real scary!

 Signature 

Mercedes Keyes
Amber Swann Publishing Inc.
Facebook
Published Novels
DeviantArt
3D Graphics Art Community - Google+ Join me there

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 February 2013 09:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2012-11-16

Ok…
After all my hair became white I came across this thread.

What I did was:
0) Deleted all my content but Genesis Essentials;
1) Open Windows Explorer;
2) Made the Program Data folder visible (it is hidden by default);
3) Entered Program Data/DAZ 3D/Content Manager
4) Tried to delete the database folder (couldn’t do it because the service was up and running);
5) Killed the DAZ Content Manager service;
6) Deleted the database folder (if there is more than one kill them both);
7) Started the DAZ Content Manager service;
8) Installed all my content again with DAZ Install Manager;
9) Humbly looked up to Heaven and asked for mercy (this is important);
10) Started DAZ Studio;

Yes… it worked…
Maybe it did because the 9th step (do it even in case of atheism).

Have fun!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 April 2013 10:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  0
Pendraia - 24 September 2012 11:02 PM
adamr001 - 18 September 2012 11:25 AM

Process 4:
Make regular backups of your DAZ CMS databases. wink

Having just run into problems with the cms myself(unfortunately your process didn’t help as I couldn’t get the cms to restart) and finally just gotten it working again…it strikes me that we need a thread in the beginners forum that details for new users the housekeeping they should be doing in order to not lose their database like I just did. Maybe a simple thread outlining what they should be backing up regularly and how…

cheers

Pen


Thanks, this tread saved my noggin! A whole thread on the database would be useful (I’m too much of a noob to do that). Had CMS problems a few times so did some experimentation to see how backup worked. Perhaps a quick post here would be on-topic.

The ‘Content Library’ tab’ s context menu item ‘Content DB Maintenance…’ opens a ‘Content Database Maintenance’ dialogue and can be used for backing up and retrieving your ‘Categories’ which the database thinks of as ‘User Data’.

So,
‘Export User Data’ check-box generates the Categories that you defined.
‘Reset Database’ gets rid of all your categories
‘Re-Import Meatadata’ re-loads your categories from ‘User Data’. It opens another dialog with loads of check-boxes; make sure User-Data is selected.

I can’t find any automated backup options here so copying the folder (which could be hidden in ProgramData), as described in an earlier post might be the easy bet.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 March 2014 12:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2013-08-03

In my case, the reference is simply not displayed.
In the last version Daz Studio and CMS this not work.

The steps described in the previous posts are correct.
But in the latest version of CMS works differently:

In installed by default:
CMS creates a folder named “database” in which files are created with names:
ContentDB.blb
ContentDB.dat
ContentDB.ind
ContentDB.vdb
master.vdb

But if the folder was deleted and you re-start service and program, then there will be other names witout database folder, is:
databasesContentDB.blb
databasesContentDB.dat
databasesContentDB.ind
databasesContentDB.vdb
databasesmaster.vdb

Renaming files does not help.
Folder categories stubbornly refused to show labels.
Re-import User Data held for 5-10 minutes, but the program, not see links, and after the next restart CMS service, category becomes empty again.
And of course, after restarting the computer, all folders and categories in Daz disappeared.

In the end, after a couple of hours of playing with the program and restart the service did so:
1) Remove replace the old folder database. - Restart CMS. (you can try save old database folder, but this may not work. In my case, the reference is simply not displayed. Folders were created, but left empty.)
2) Run the DAZ and checked to Default category has been created in the Categories.
3) Create categories and put in them links to the files.
4) Export User DB
5) Close Daz and Stop CMS
6) Create or replace back folder with name “database”.
7) Run CMS and Daz
8) Re-import User Data

Let me remind you that the base at the time remained in the new files to the second variant.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2