Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 4
1
How do I get more realistic texture?
Posted: 18 September 2012 08:26 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

I have attached a picture of two blocks both made using the STONE10M texture that came with Bryce.

Now when I look at the TIF file in a viewer it looks just what I want.

In Block 1 to the left you can see it applied in it’s natural form.

I copied the block and went into (M)aterials then into the (T)transformation button and rescaled the materials bu -21 for xyz respectively (top icon)
I copied the image from the left box into the centre box (I’m sure this is the BUMP)
I then applied a 10% bump to the block and ticked.
This is the result.

Now I want two things…
The texture looks blurred despite having a bump - how can I clear this up?
The corner of the building looks too sharp for an old building - how can I rough this up a bit so it looks a bit more weathered.

Thanks in advance

Image Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 08:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2612
Joined  2004-07-06

Have you read the additions to the posts I put here?  http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/7982/  and followed the link to Bryce5.com and downloaded the free material?

If yes, then we can talk about that material.

If no, then do that, and then we can talk about that material.

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16030
Joined  2003-10-09

tdrd Can I ask you a little favour please. It may be easier for people helping you, as a new user, if you keep all your questions in one thread. This makes it easier for people to see what advice you have already been given, and saves people maybe repeating things that you may have already been told.

Evneryone is really trying to help you, and we want to see you solve your problems, but lots of different threads do make it a tad difficult to follow your progress.

Just a thought

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 09:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

OK - just seen your Dave, will look at that when I get back.
Have to pop out to Doctor.

In the meantime can anyone resolve the issue of rotating materials.
I have created a 3 sided polygon and made it into the roof block.

No matter what I do to rotate the materials in the texture transformation tool - I cannot get the stone on the gable end to rotate to the same as the wall beneath it.
See Picture enclosed.

Image Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 09:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
tdrd - 18 September 2012 09:00 AM

OK - just seen your Dave, will look at that when I get back.
Have to pop out to Doctor.

In the meantime can anyone resolve the issue of rotating materials.
I have created a 3 sided polygon and made it into the roof block.

No matter what I do to rotate the materials in the texture transformation tool - I cannot get the stone on the gable end to rotate to the same as the wall beneath it.
See Picture enclosed.

Why bother trying though? The roof texture for a house like that should be something more along the lines of wood or thatch.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 09:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2612
Joined  2004-07-06

For that you need to comprehend mapping modes.  There is a lot of scope in such a topic.  If you use object based or parametric modes then the way the texture is applied will depend on the object not its position in space.  If you use world space then your materials will align irrespective of the position of the objects.  For example, as an experiment, switch all your mapping modes to world cubic.

Image Attachments
Image1.jpg
 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 01:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

Point taken about the type of roof…

I have made the gable ends two seperate objects and noted the advice about world objects - that’s solved the problem.
I have chosen another material for another three sided object used for the roof…
I’m starting to get the hang of this (much to everyone elses relief!)
grin
Terry

Image Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 01:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

Next question - I have tried to create a block with negative properties to cut holes for the window and door recesses.
This is not working…..
I have tried all the options in the A option on the object.
Please what am I doing wrong?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 01:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16030
Joined  2003-10-09

Make your House block positive and your window hole block negative, tehn group them, You need to to do your boolean group before you group the other parts to it. Once you have made one boolean window and grouped it with the main house, you can duplicate the negative cube and move the 2nd one to make a 2nd window etc. Just rmember the main cube and all the neg cubes need to be grouped. then you can group your roof pieces to that group.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 01:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3568
Joined  2004-10-01

What you want to keep, set positive. What has to be cut, negative. Be sure that the negative one is a bit thicker than the positive one. Then group them together and there you are. I suspect you forgot to group.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 01:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

OK I set the Cottage Block to Positive.
I set the Window block to Negative.

I select both objects (boy was that difficult!)

I then tried to find option on the screen to [G]roup them but there was no [G] or [U] at all.

Image Attachments
Image2.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 02:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3568
Joined  2004-10-01

Once you have them both selected, there will be a [G] (group) button in the list where you have the [A] and [M] buttons as shown just left of the left Object Attributes popup in your picture above. After you clicked on the [G], it will change to an [U] for ungroup.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 02:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

Thanks for that - it worked, but I then clicked on th C icon and for some reason I could not ungroup after that -
Something to do with Convert To Boolean….

I did multiple Undo’s until I recovered the situation…
OK - now huntilng web for other windows I can use in Bryce….

grin

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 02:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16030
Joined  2003-10-09

I am a glutton for punishment, My windows are made from cubes stretched to make the window frames and glazing bars and a single sided square for the glass.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 02:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

I know - I have tried to make the cube Positive for the wall.
Then there is a negative cube for the enclosure.Then I made a Positive white cube for the main windowFrame. Positive
And then tried to put four negative cubes in for the window panes.
Doesn’t work does it!

I’ll try creating positive bars with a 2d object behind for glass now…
Thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 04:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

When I have grouped, there is an option C to convert to boolean.
What does this do?

Does this weld all the components together as one object?

Another question…
Suppose I want to make this end product available to others, how would I go about it?
Since I cannot make .br7 files available to others, how do I share?

Here’s the windows project so far… Comments welcome…
The panes are glass but are still showing white!!!???

Thanks

Image Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Profile
 
 
   
1 of 4
1