Digital Art Zone

 
     
How do I load new textures into Bryce7?
Posted: 17 September 2012 05:20 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

OK I have done two things.

First I browsed the internet for texture files for stone walling.

They have been downloaded as jpegs.

In searching where to place these files… I came across these TIF files in:
user\My Documents\DAZ 3D\Bryce\Presets\Content\Textures\Legacy\Tiling\Stone


namely the file STONE15M.TIF interests me.

Now I go back into Bryce and try to locate this preinstalled texture and I cannot for the life of me load this material.

I also tried to load the downloaded material into Bryce and It simply cannot identify it or the TIF that I found.

Please can someone tell me how to get to these preset textures in Bryce7 and also how to import these downloaded textures into Bryce.  THEN please tell me where the dickens to find them within the product.

Many thanks again (oh no it’s not HIM again is it!)
Terry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 05:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

Some lovely free wall textures at:
http://swtexture.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 05:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

OK folks - found this good tutorial video (1 minute) about loading image as texture…
http://vimeo.com/49534521

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 01:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2523
Joined  2004-07-06

Thanks for putting up the link, that’s a good video.  Using the image texture as a driver for the bump channel should only really be considered an option when you have no other choice.  Indeed it is often better to try to create an appropriate bump pattern to suit your material with one of the procedural textures, for two reasons.

1.  Bump channel in Bryce is driven by heightmap, but the input picture texture is only accepted at 8bit which is too low a resolution to give good bump response.  Also there is no interpolation on bump images, so the image bump is not only stepped but also faceted.

2.  The image texture (turned greyscale) rarely looks anything like an appropriate heightmap for the image.

The DS bridge, for some baffling reason, treats Bryce with such image based bump - I say baffling because in the intervening years that the DS bridge has been in existence, there has been plenty of scope to make this function sensibly with fixes from either direction.  To get the best, take a look at Rashad Carters images of people http://www.bryce5.com/search.php?search_user=rashadcarter1 then it is necessary to process the textures passed over from DS manually.

There are applications out there, if you want to get into using image textures, that will almost instantly convert normal maps to height maps and indeed, some very clever ones, can try to interpret the images themselves into heightmaps.  This is not always wonderfully successful,  but having said that, it is still many times better than just using the image as a hightmap to drive bump channel.

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 07:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2523
Joined  2004-07-06

Here the material on the dragon is a mixture of image based and procedural.  The material on the ground is built up entirely of image based.  To get a good bump map effect fairly high resolution sources are needed.  You can check it out since I put this material up on the free material exchange.  http://www.bryce5.com/details.php?image_id=4702&mode=search if you look at the remarks below the file you will also find more details regarding using images as textures.

Image Attachments
Import+render_4.jpg
 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 01:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

Dave Brinnen - tried to register with Bryce5.com and it says it should send me an activation email before I can download anything.
Registered with them 2 hours ago - still no email.
So i’ll just have to wait or re-register… all the details WERE correct.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3336
Joined  2004-10-01

Where did you register? The galleries or the forum?

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 01:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

bryce5.com - main screen
box on left said register so I registered.
It accepted my registration but still no email….

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 01:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3336
Joined  2004-10-01

@tdrd - right Terry, your registration was received by the system 2012-09-18 12:13 and your account has not yet been activated. This may take some time since Nightst4r, the owner, is a very busy person. But your account will be activated eventually.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 02:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

Thanks for that - I thought it was some kind of system error or something.
Terry


AHA! I am now in!

Profile