Digital Art Zone

 
     
Okay, first things first ...
Posted: 17 September 2012 01:09 PM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4746
Joined  2012-04-07

Okay ... basic Bryce 101

There’s a tiny thumbnail in the upper left corner.
1. any way to make that larger?

2. There’s a ‘part’ of the thumbnail that displays large on the screen. There’s a “-” and “+” which will have either this enlarged part displaying OR the entire thing rather small in the centre of a huge gray space.

How to get the displayed image to be showing all what’s in the thumbnail, filling the view pane?

thanks

 

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 01:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3371
Joined  2004-10-01

1) No, regrettably. But you can click on the tiny down arrow at the lower edge at right to select different modes. It is the preview of your scene.

2) I think you need to render, i.e. click on the large green button at left. The + and - are more to enlarge a view for editing.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 02:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4746
Joined  2012-04-07
Horo - 17 September 2012 01:13 PM

1) No, regrettably. But you can click on the tiny down arrow at the lower edge at right to select different modes. It is the preview of your scene.

2) I think you need to render, i.e. click on the large green button at left. The + and - are more to enlarge a view for editing.

2. No that’s not it. It’ll just render a partial view. I managed “once” to get it all right but forget what I did.

I hope you see what I mean, there’s more information in the thumbnails than the rendered image.

Image Attachments
view.pngview2.pngview3.png
 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 03:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1379
Joined  2011-09-25

@Patience55:  I’ve found once you’ve rendered something you can switch between the wireframe and the rendered image by pressing the Esc key.

The thumbnail sketch is the Nano Preview Pane, which shows a smaller version of what you’re doing in the main window.  It’s good to use in helping place items in the scene or to get a iffy idea how the scene looks.  The arrow on the bottom right of the Nano pane lets you choose how you want things displayed in that window.

I think the ‘+’ and ‘-’ you’re talking about, those two items on the bottom right of the screen?  They are for zooming in and out to whatever parts in the scene.  Zooming is good if you’re trying to get something small placed correctly or make sure something lines up correctly, or for whatever reason you may choose.  Zooming out gives you a better overall view of you scene, and again, for whatever else reasons you choose.

By the way, that second image looks interesting.

 Signature 

If you constantly look backward, it’s guaranteed you’ll run into something on your forward journey.
My Gallery Page: GussNemo’s Efforts

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 03:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1547
Joined  2007-12-10

@ Patience55;

The Nano Preview is a set ratio size (4:3) and as far as I know, you can not alter that aspect ratio.
If you want your render exactly the same as the Nano Preview, go to Document Set Up (In the ‘File’ menu) and set your document to 4:3.

Hope this helps.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 03:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  134
Joined  2003-10-09
Patience55 - 17 September 2012 01:09 PM

How to get the displayed image to be showing all what’s in the thumbnail, filling the view pane?


In the file menu, click on “document setup”. In the menu that appears, click on “max recommended” at the upper right. This will make Bryce enlarge your work window (and render size if you leave it the same) to make max use of your screen real estate. The preview thumbnail is fixed in size so will still show extra at top and bottom if you have a wide screen monitor.

If you set your render size larger than the work window, you will only see part of the render as it happens. You can interrupt the render and reposition the view by holding down the space bar (cursor changes to a hand) and clicking-and-dragging to move the view around. Then click resume render. You can also use this panning technique to view the finished render.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 05:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4746
Joined  2012-04-07

Wow lots of ideas! Thank you all.

I found something to reset to default settings, that helped a little but I didn’t see why.

@TheSavage64 grin thank you!  And that’s it!!!! thank you so much. I like to ‘see’ what I’m doing ... then I can resize the whole thing larger for rendering to print.

@GussNemo I discovered there’s also the toggle button for switching between last render and present state.

If one zooms in, then renders, one gets a very different image rendered! It’s like a magnified view or something.
Thank you for the comment.

Here’s a few test images I rendered tonight ... Mixing the space set with some water was rather interesting for sure!

Image Attachments
3-31.png3min.pngfunwwater2.png
 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 05:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4746
Joined  2012-04-07
_ PJF _ - 17 September 2012 03:42 PM
Patience55 - 17 September 2012 01:09 PM

How to get the displayed image to be showing all what’s in the thumbnail, filling the view pane?


In the file menu, click on “document setup”. In the menu that appears, click on “max recommended” at the upper right. This will make Bryce enlarge your work window (and render size if you leave it the same) to make max use of your screen real estate. The preview thumbnail is fixed in size so will still show extra at top and bottom if you have a wide screen monitor.

If you set your render size larger than the work window, you will only see part of the render as it happens. You can interrupt the render and reposition the view by holding down the space bar (cursor changes to a hand) and clicking-and-dragging to move the view around. Then click resume render. You can also use this panning technique to view the finished render.

Oh cool. I wondered how to activate that hand [lower right corner] - on the finished render grin Thank you.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 06:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4746
Joined  2012-04-07
Horo - 17 September 2012 01:13 PM

1) No, regrettably. But you can click on the tiny down arrow at the lower edge at right to select different modes. It is the preview of your scene.

2) I think you need to render, i.e. click on the large green button at left. The + and - are more to enlarge a view for editing.

On rereading all the thread, sorry, I don’t think I worded my question very well. Yes the + and - work on the render.

Thank you and David for all these neat goodies for Bryce. Lots of fun ... going to take me awhile to learn how to use/make some stuff but that’s okay.

 Signature 
Profile