Digital Art Zone

 
     
Seamless Looping Fire
Posted: 17 September 2012 06:09 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  65
Joined  2006-12-03

Trying to make seamless fire. Just setting the last frame to the same as the first is giving me a ‘yo-yo’ effect

any pointers, I only need about 12-24 frames here. I want to get the technique down for other things

 Signature 

old post count, 639
old username Lord_Ash

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 06:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  938
Joined  2006-06-12

Lord Midnight


I’m not at my computer, but if I remember correctly, set the first frame at a high number and set the last frame at a low number.

That should get you a non yo-yo flame.

Best of luck!

 Signature 

There is a serious tendency toward capitalism among the well-to-do peasants.
Mao Tse-Tung

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 08:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  65
Joined  2006-12-03

well, you can see what I came up with on my own here

http://manastar.net/WebPlayer.html


Ill try that next time, its ‘ok’ for now, but I do think it could use some work

 Signature 

old post count, 639
old username Lord_Ash

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 09:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2005-11-21

Hi,
    I created a set of HD animated looping textures with alpha maps. I have them here with free samples that include a good fire effect.

http://www.3dtreehouse.com/FXtextures.html

you could use this to render at the resolution you need.
Cheers

Graeme

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 05:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  65
Joined  2006-12-03

can you describe the process you used to create them?

 Signature 

old post count, 639
old username Lord_Ash

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 05:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2005-11-21

Hi,
    I used a 2d particle effects program called Timeline FX which has some great effects. It can output PNG sequences at any resolition with their alpha maps. I then used Carrara to texture a plane with the animated sequence with alpha maps. This plane can be used in any 3d scene. I used a high resolution output of 2k so the effects can be used in HD work.
I also subdivided the plane on some effects and inseted a simple bone structure so I could animate the effects shape in Carrara.
If you download the sample and go in to the texture editor you’ll see how it is made up.

Using animated textures is a lot faster than using Carraras particles as some shots don’t need the full 3D particle effect.

Hope this helps

Graeme

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 07:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1156
Joined  2004-11-07

I have a selection of looped gif animations of fire and smoke. Carrara doesn’t have a clue what a looped gif is.
Unless that has changed in C8.5.

I had planed to make several generic looped gifs for TVs, comp screens, control panels.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 03:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1082
Joined  2007-10-15

Keep in mind you can always get out your video camera (or cellphone) and videotape a real flame and project that onto a plane or whatever. You can also find tons of videos online of fire you can use if it’s not for commercial use.

Nothin’ like the real thing….  smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 04:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6061
Joined  2006-08-27
gssev - 18 September 2012 05:03 AM

Hi,
    I used a 2d particle effects program called Timeline FX which has some great effects. It can output PNG sequences at any resolition with their alpha maps. I then used Carrara to texture a plane with the animated sequence with alpha maps. This plane can be used in any 3d scene. I used a high resolution output of 2k so the effects can be used in HD work.
I also subdivided the plane on some effects and inseted a simple bone structure so I could animate the effects shape in Carrara.
If you download the sample and go in to the texture editor you’ll see how it is made up.

Using animated textures is a lot faster than using Carraras particles as some shots don’t need the full 3D particle effect.

Hope this helps

Graeme

The nice thing about Carrara is that if you have a png, Photoshop file, etc. with a transparency, you can use it directly without having to set up a separate alpha channel in the shader.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2012 03:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  648
Joined  2006-09-30

I’d try a simple 2 or 3 keyframed fire with an oscillating tweener.

Should work, but I haven’t tested…

 Signature 

MOO!

Profile