Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Fed up
Posted: 16 September 2012 06:00 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2003-10-09

I already said I will no renew, but few days before my annual PA member renewal ,I decided to give DAZ studio a last try and installed DS4.5 to see the” improvements”.
But what a mess!
Error message about suposed non existing files (but can be found manually), library items non avaliable, some that don’t conform (elven hair) and awful auto conforming.
Even the render with 3 D Delight is impossible (see picture) and makes the program crashes .
I tried to uninstall and reinstall, but no changes
I use Window 7 64 bit (inte lcore i7 CPU ) Carte N vidia Quadro 400 updated.
I give up after nine years!
I can’t use all my time to try to update, What about creatnig when you always have to fix something. All was nice till DS3.
I think DS is great, but please , make it usable..
I will not renew.

Image Attachments
Capture.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2012 07:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  869
Joined  2005-11-06
Lledeline - 16 September 2012 06:00 PM

I think DS is great, but please , make it usable..
I will not renew.

Why do people when they have a problem, yet the majority don’t, have to blame the program first?
No expert, but looks like a graphics driver issue.

 Signature 

Regards, Michael

“Documentation? Who needs documentation, just open it and learn!”

My DeviantArt Gallery

My DAZ Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2012 07:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  526
Joined  2004-11-12

Just a couple of questions, since your system should be able to handle DS4.5 with no problem (I’m running it on a 5 year old laptop).

1) When you tried the re-install, did you use the same installation file, or did you download a new file. It could be a corrupt download, delete the current file, and re-download to be sure you get a new file..

2) Did you install Genesis Starter Essentials 1.3 - this must be done for your content to work properly.

There are other possibilities, bet these are the best places to start.

 Signature 

My Rendo Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2012 07:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2005-10-16

FYI,
You are not the only one having this problem.

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/6896/#88717

 Signature 

Gone.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2012 07:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1566
Joined  2010-02-14

I’ve seen that before. Yeah, usually stuff like that there is mostly a processor issue. Basically it’s as dustrider said.

When you were rendering that image, were you conducting other major PC activity? Because the only times I get issues like that is when I either accidentally cancel a rendering and reattempt or I have too much going on my Gamer Notebook at the same time (I usual talk to friends on Skype when I use DS smile)...

 Signature 

“I’m sorry, I can’t hear you over the sound of how awesome I am!” ~ Brextor Ultimus

FORUM MEMBER POST RANKS
New Member = 0
Member = 25
Active Member = 250
Power Member = 1000
Addict = 2500

My Art Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2012 08:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
FSMCDesigns - 16 September 2012 07:07 PM
Lledeline - 16 September 2012 06:00 PM

I think DS is great, but please , make it usable..
I will not renew.

Why do people when they have a problem, yet the majority don’t, have to blame the program first?
No expert, but looks like a graphics driver issue.

DITTO! So many happy users, and it’s always the Software’s fault. The Daz team is here to help if the help is asked for. For instance, does your Graphic Card even Support the listed Minimum to Run 4.5? Is it a Bad download? Did you test it to see? Many things could be the cause.

And yes some users just can not get 4.5 to run properly, Why? Not a clue. For many it does. What’s the difference? OS’s, Drivers, Memory, Installs, AV software and the list goes on. It would be hard to write a single program that works 100% on very platform with every custom way a person has built or even set up their system. The variables are just too vast to cover.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2012 09:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11246
Joined  2007-11-06

...my notebook (with shared video memory) only supports the minimum OGL requirement, yet I still get a clean viewport. Working in it is just slow as molasses in a Siberian winter and I do seem to get UV mapping assignment issues from time to time.

This kind of thing should not be happening with a Quadro400 for (as I remember) it supports OGL4.1 which is well above is the “recommended” version according to the application’s system specs.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2012 09:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1613
Joined  2008-11-10

Sounds like a driver issue. Right now I’m running DS 4.5 in a Parallels virtual machine on a Macbook Pro and the response of the UI is surprisingly snappy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2012 09:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1861
Joined  2006-02-17

This is a bug in 3delight.  It happens in Maya and others as well.  It is linked to a bug in the pixelsamples directive.  The issue has been fixed in the latest release of 3DL.

If more info is required I can provide a workaround.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 05:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2003-10-09

Thank you for the replies
I’m at work but later i’ll try to reload Ds4.5 and install it in another location.
I’ll check the video cart again et verify the drivers.
If it doen’t work I’ll go back to DS4, but I’n not à ease with it and if some fomats have change ; i’‘l have have to let it a day.
I use 3 d softwares as an hobby, and I’m not a computer technician. 
So better to invest in the other software that works like a charme in my computer.
I’m more frustrated than in anger.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 09:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  754
Joined  2011-05-17

DS is free, so there is almost no downside to keeping it, unless you’re really strapped for harddrive space. Also, I agree that it looks like your video card drivers are bungled pretty bad.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 04:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2003-10-09

I’ve redownload, réinstall in another location. Drivers updated. No changes in rendering.
Back to DS4 and it renders well.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 09:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1161
Joined  2003-12-16

And both instances it looks like Quadro cards are used.

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 10:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1861
Joined  2006-02-17

This is from 3Delight standalone 10.0.50 Linux version.  This is an example of the PixelSamples bug.  As you will see, it has nothing to do with the Video Card.

Kendall

Image Attachments
Screenshot-52.png
 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 02:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1161
Joined  2003-12-16
Kendall Sears - 18 September 2012 10:05 AM

This is from 3Delight standalone 10.0.50 Linux version.  This is an example of the PixelSamples bug.  As you will see, it has nothing to do with the Video Card.

Kendall

yes, and oliver said it’s fixed. Question now is will Daz apply this fix if it’s the cause.

 

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 05:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1861
Joined  2006-02-17
StratDragon - 18 September 2012 02:12 PM
Kendall Sears - 18 September 2012 10:05 AM

This is from 3Delight standalone 10.0.50 Linux version.  This is an example of the PixelSamples bug.  As you will see, it has nothing to do with the Video Card.

Kendall

yes, and oliver said it’s fixed. Question now is will Daz apply this fix if it’s the cause.

But Oliver DIDN’T say what revision it is fixed in…  The image I posted here was submitted on 8/28/2012.  Here is part of a conversation I had with Oliver in a different thread:

me: Is there any release schedule on the 3Delight 10.0.62 version?  Specifically, for Linux?
Oliver: 10.0.62 was released nearly a month ago. ...

Which puts the version that D|S is using being released prior to the PixelSamples error submission.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1