Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 5
3
Recommendations for a rendering computer?
Posted: 18 September 2012 09:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
Patience55 - 18 September 2012 09:24 AM

Found “the” computer store here in the city. Had a nice chat with a knowledgeable salesperson who’ll be emailing some specs over.
Sounds like he can put together exactly whatever one wants.
i7
4 or 6 core?
Motherboard can take 32G with W7Pro
openGL NVIDIA card of somekind with lots of memory [I also make home movies so need a good vid card with memory for that program]
2Tb harddrive.
fans
750W
Battery BackUp tower

anything else to inquire about for it?

For the money, much better deal than the laptop!

All those specs are fine for most people, the only thing I would say to keep in mind is that in a year or two worth of time these specs could become somewhat obsolete. In other words don’t buy such a system thinking it’ll be state of the art for years to come. Technology advances too fast these days to think like that anymore. On the good side though given where Bryce is in developement such a system will remain plenty powerful enough for most people for years to come, in terms of using it for Bryce.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 09:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5121
Joined  2012-04-07
Gedd - 18 September 2012 09:37 AM

If it’s being built and you plan on doing GPU rendering in the future, see about a system board (motherboard) that supports dual video cards for future expansion capabilities.

Also, have the salesperson list the parts they plan on putting into it and go to newegg and amazon and look up the parts, read the reviews to make sure those are the parts you want. All manufacturers have good and bad models of anything they make so the only way to know is to look up each specific model. Look at the # of reviews, the # of bad reviews, and what the people who are giving bad reviews are complaining about. No item will be perfect but it will help avoid lemons.

Just got the list and that’s a great idea!

 

 

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 09:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5121
Joined  2012-04-07
LordHardDriven - 18 September 2012 09:39 AM
Patience55 - 18 September 2012 09:24 AM

Found “the” computer store here in the city. Had a nice chat with a knowledgeable salesperson who’ll be emailing some specs over.
Sounds like he can put together exactly whatever one wants.
i7
4 or 6 core?
Motherboard can take 32G with W7Pro
openGL NVIDIA card of somekind with lots of memory [I also make home movies so need a good vid card with memory for that program]
2Tb harddrive.
fans
750W
Battery BackUp tower

anything else to inquire about for it?

For the money, much better deal than the laptop!

All those specs are fine for most people, the only thing I would say to keep in mind is that in a year or two worth of time these specs could become somewhat obsolete. In other words don’t buy such a system thinking it’ll be state of the art for years to come. Technology advances too fast these days to think like that anymore. On the good side though given where Bryce is in developement such a system will remain plenty powerful enough for most people for years to come, in terms of using it for Bryce.

Oh I know ... like a car it devalues as it leaves the lot!

However I think it should work well for the next couple of years for me.

From the quote list:

Gigabyte (GV-N66TOC-2GD) GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB GDDR5 | 1032 MHz Base Core Clock, 1111 MHz Boost Clock, 6008 MHz Memory | PCI Express 3.0, Dual Display, DVI-I, DVI-D, HDMI, DisplayPort

G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1600MHz CL10 Quad Channel Kit (F3-12800CL10Q-32GBXL)

Corsair Professional Series Gold AX750 Fully-Modular 750 Watt 80 PLUS Gold Certified Power Supply (CMPSU-750AX)

Asus P8Z77-V LX Socket 1155 Intel Z77 Chipset Dual channel DDR3 2400(O.C.)/2200(O.C.)/2133(O.C.)/1866/1600/1333/1066 MHz 1x PCI-Express 3.0 x16 1x PCI-Express 2.0 x16 GLAN 8-CH High Definition Audio 4x SATA 3.0Gb/s 2x SATA 6.0Gb/s 2x eSATA 6Gb/s 4x USB 3.0 10x USB 2.0 HDMI/DVI/VGA ATX

Seagate Barracuda (ST2000DM001) SATA3 6.0Gb/s 2TB 64MB Cache

LG BH14NS40 14x Blu-ray Writer, Support M-Disc, BDXL (128GB) Disc, Black, SATA| Featuring 16x DVD Write, 4MB Buffer

Intel Core i7-3770 Quad- Core Socket 1155, 3.4Ghz, 8MB L3 Cache, 22nm (Retail Boxed) Gen3 (BX80637I73770)

...............................

Nothing is finalized yet so if any of the above should be changed this is a good time to make mention.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 10:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
Patience55 - 18 September 2012 09:53 AM

Oh I know ... like a car it devalues as it leaves the lot!

However I think it should work well for the next couple of years for me.

From the quote list:

Gigabyte (GV-N66TOC-2GD) GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB GDDR5 | 1032 MHz Base Core Clock, 1111 MHz Boost Clock, 6008 MHz Memory | PCI Express 3.0, Dual Display, DVI-I, DVI-D, HDMI, DisplayPort

G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1600MHz CL10 Quad Channel Kit (F3-12800CL10Q-32GBXL)

Corsair Professional Series Gold AX750 Fully-Modular 750 Watt 80 PLUS Gold Certified Power Supply (CMPSU-750AX)

Asus P8Z77-V LX Socket 1155 Intel Z77 Chipset Dual channel DDR3 2400(O.C.)/2200(O.C.)/2133(O.C.)/1866/1600/1333/1066 MHz 1x PCI-Express 3.0 x16 1x PCI-Express 2.0 x16 GLAN 8-CH High Definition Audio 4x SATA 3.0Gb/s 2x SATA 6.0Gb/s 2x eSATA 6Gb/s 4x USB 3.0 10x USB 2.0 HDMI/DVI/VGA ATX

Seagate Barracuda (ST2000DM001) SATA3 6.0Gb/s 2TB 64MB Cache

LG BH14NS40 14x Blu-ray Writer, Support M-Disc, BDXL (128GB) Disc, Black, SATA| Featuring 16x DVD Write, 4MB Buffer

Intel Core i7-3770 Quad- Core Socket 1155, 3.4Ghz, 8MB L3 Cache, 22nm (Retail Boxed) Gen3 (BX80637I73770)

...............................

Nothing is finalized yet so if any of the above should be changed this is a good time to make mention.

I’ve had lots of bad experiences with Seagate and so have many other users. To be fair though I’ve seen people who rave about their seagate drives. Personally I prefer Western Digital for hard drives and they’re usually in that same ballpark price wise with Seagate. I would definately read the reviews on that one first. Everything else sounds good on the surface and the brand names are quality names, Gigabyte, Asus, Corsair, LG, Intel. However one concern is that Corsair has it’s good reputation in Memory, I’m not sure how they are on power supplies so you may end up paying more for the name then you should, I would check reviews on that one too. A solid brand name for power supplies is thermaltake.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 11:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16

All manufacturers lately have had good and bad. Going on a manufacturer’s name is not enough, one *must* research the particular model also.

As for the Seagate drives, yes they seem to have a little higher bad rate but all drives suffer from this to some extent anymore. I buy Seagate myself because they are usually the cheapest per gig, but I buy 2 so I can image things, and I make sure I use/test them a lot during the initial return time. This is where working with a local shop should be beneficial, *if* they have good warranties, stand behind their warranties, and have a decent turnaround. Waiting weeks for a system happens all too often and can be very frustrating.

Consider a solid state drive for the main (not data) drive, it doesn’t have to be big since it is for software only… 128gb would probably suffice, and consider keeping data on a separate standard hd.

The real issue here imo is to make sure one has a good backup system and back up as often as one doesn’t want to loose anything. Get imaging software, such as Acronis and *after installing/updating everything but before using it, image the system. Imaging is not the same thing as backing up.. Imaging is the system, backing up is the data. The default when imaging is often data and system which is retarded, don’t do this.

As for memory, get memtest and do a burn in test, it’s free and easy to run. It is well worth researching “burn in testing” on google and running some tests.

 

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 12:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16
Gedd - 18 September 2012 07:33 AM
LordHardDriven - 17 September 2012 09:36 PM

I would reccommend against using a laptop as a rendering computer…

Donno, a laptop system could work great.

Here ya go wink

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 12:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
Gedd - 18 September 2012 12:10 PM
Gedd - 18 September 2012 07:33 AM
LordHardDriven - 17 September 2012 09:36 PM

I would reccommend against using a laptop as a rendering computer…

Donno, a laptop system could work great.

Here ya go wink

Is there a video showing the extreme poverty one can expect building such a system? I mean seeing as how decent video cards are generally the most expensive componant these days. wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 September 2012 06:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5121
Joined  2012-04-07

Computer purchase made!

And guess what! Found another Brycer!!! He hasn’t been here for awhile and didn’t know, now does, about 7Pro.

Computer should be ready to pick up next week. Part of it all is already here ... nice BIG screen. Yes! I’m happy.
Thank you everybody for the suggestions.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 September 2012 10:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  36
Joined  2012-03-25

I see the OP has already purchased. But I guess if someone else out there with the same question should stumble on this thread it may be of benefit to them.

chohole - 18 September 2012 04:05 AM

Just popping in to say that I know that Patience is not resident in the US, so any reccomendations about good stores to buy from, even Web based stores, may not be helpful.

There is a way to overcome the cost of shipment?... don’t ship…... 

.... a friend from Australia got an excellent PC custom build specifically for professional audio and graphics/video editing use with help (step-by-step guidance) from experienced professionals in the US.

This is how…. they provide a list of recommended hardware specific to the requirements (intended use) with consideration to budget without compromising quality.  If the Aussie is experienced enough he/she can build it themselves with step-by-step guidance from the US.  The Aussie simply buys the hardware in Australia and either build it themselves or have someone else build it for them in Australia.

Having step-by-step guidance from professionals is actually a great learning experience. Having total system builds to upgrade hardware’s all done easily, efficiently and successfully thanks to their exemplary services. Seriously, honestly the PC I got years ago is truly rock solid, the temperature is always well within safety and the whole system is so quiet I forget it’s still running, seriously I have to look to see if the light is on.

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 September 2012 12:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5121
Joined  2012-04-07

Got something with this setup called a ‘gaming mouse’. Cute 2 colour cord! [black and orange]. 
edited to remove question ... no I don’t to install the software for the extra buttons to work.

And the keyboard, whoa! Okay, I didn’t break any off yet; but one is supposed to be able to remove the keys for cleaning, yes. What thoughtful designers grin

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 12:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1245
Joined  2010-01-23
David Brinnen - 16 September 2012 03:38 AM

I notice Horo has responded also, and having read what he put, it occurs to me to point out that my application is somewhat specialised for a my hobby because I am most interested in researching for Bryce development.  This is very demanding, because of the number of long running tests performed.  But I still consider myself a hobbyist, just one that is particularly cruel to his computers.

So the most sensible answer, in terms of cost effectiveness, is to consider upgrading the cooling for your desktop PC.  You have the advantage of owning a laptop, so you can use that while your desktop is tied up rendering.  I do everything on one PC, fore purely economic reasons, and control CPU usage via the Task Manager - switching the allocation of CPU cores around when I need to get on with something and let the render tick over in the background.  So that is another strategy.

Sorry to revive such an elderly thread, but I’ve just bought a new PC and was reading threads about rendering performance and found this one.  I have a question: where in “Task Manager” can you control CPU usage? You mention “switching the allocation of CPU cores” but I don’t see how to do this (and my “Windows 7 Inside Out” book is not help either.
Thanks for any help…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 02:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3648
Joined  2004-10-01

Task manager, process tab, find Bryce in the list, select it, right click, in the context menu priority. Sorry, I haven’t got the proper English names, I’d have to start up the machine with an English opsys. Hopefully, you can locate it with this description. By the way, I have it at Normal.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 03:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1245
Joined  2010-01-23

Thanks - I didn’t think of right-clicking!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 10:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  389
Joined  2009-10-02

A few months ago I have upgraded my PC with new Mainboard, 8 GB RAM (max. 16), intel core i5 2500 k (max. i7 3770 k), graphic card nvidia GTX 550 TI 3 GB, Win 7 64 bit.

Previously I had

core 2 quad 8300, 4 GB RAM (max. 16), graphic card nvidia GT 7300 512 MB, Win 7 32 bit.


Now I should be happy (and I’m happy because I can now use Bryce full potential), but I believe that my PC could be even a bit faster and now i have the following options:

RAM max = 16 GB

HD = SSD with 250 GB

and / or a new CPU = core i7 3770 k

Now my question:

Is it absolutely necessary to upgrade the cpu again, as the i5 2500 k is relatively new ?

I read it in some test that the i7 3770 k (300 €) should not be much faster than the i5 2500k.

Please help me to find a good solution

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 01:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
Roland4 - 24 November 2012 10:42 AM

A few months ago I have upgraded my PC with new Mainboard, 8 GB RAM (max. 16), intel core i5 2500 k (max. i7 3770 k), graphic card nvidia GTX 550 TI 3 GB, Win 7 64 bit.

Previously I had

core 2 quad 8300, 4 GB RAM (max. 16), graphic card nvidia GT 7300 512 MB, Win 7 32 bit.


Now I should be happy (and I’m happy because I can now use Bryce full potential), but I believe that my PC could be even a bit faster and now i have the following options:

RAM max = 16 GB

HD = SSD with 250 GB

and / or a new CPU = core i7 3770 k

Now my question:

Is it absolutely necessary to upgrade the cpu again, as the i5 2500 k is relatively new ?

I read it in some test that the i7 3770 k (300 €) should not be much faster than the i5 2500k.

Please help me to find a good solution

Well as far as Bryce goes the additional RAM shouldn’t make a difference since it can’t access more then roughly 3.5 GB (with the LAA tool). It could however make a difference in other things you do. Same for the SSD but because Bryce does everything in memory. I’m not really that up on Intel CPU’s to really answer the question of the differences between i5 vs i7 but it seems like that’s the only upgrade option you’ve presented that would make any noticeable difference even if it’s small. Keep in mind though I’m just talking in terms of bryce. Any of these upgrades could make bigger impacts in other areas. If this were an upgrade as a gift and the giver could easily afford any of these options then I’d go with either the CPU or the SSD as those are likely much more expensive then the memory. If it had to come out of my own pocket then I’d probably go with the memory but I say that mostly because I’m poor. smile

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 5
3