Digital Art Zone

 
     
Content Database Manager Stopping
Posted: 16 September 2012 12:57 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2009-06-17

I haven’t had any problem with the content Database Manager since DS4 was realeased, until now.

Yesterday my smart content disapeared.

I have tried re-importing metadata.  I tried resetting the database.  I’ve stopped and started the database.

I am getting an error in the DS log that may be related but I don’t know what it means -

WARNING: dzvalentinaobjectdatabase.cpp(36): DB Register Open error: Stream read error.
DB Register Open error: Stream read error.


It is possibly a Goz issue (zbrush).  I have had problems with goz and Poser.  So I have force reinstalled and cleared cache in zbrush (that’s how I fixed the poser problem) as well as used goz from DS4.5 to Zbrush and back - worked no problem.


I have also completely uninstalled and reinstalled Daz studio 4.5 official release (the same one I was using). 

One final note.  When I start up DS and check the task manager - the Database is NOT running. 

Windows 7 ultimate, I7, 16 gigs ram, Nvidia geforce 420

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Gallery http://namrettek.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 11:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2009-06-17

Well, now I have discovered a few things.


the database vlog says

on Sep 17 2012 16:30:07.941000 ContentManagementServer (4.8, Kernel 4.8 )
Licence license_emb_4422548148518942 is registered to DAZ3D.
Valid until 9999-12-31. Subscription valid until 2013-02-08.
Maximum number of connections: 5

Mon Sep 17 2012 16:30:10.172000 (TID 2300): VProject facilities are disabled since no appropriate license found
Mon Sep 17 2012 16:30:10.172000 (TID 2300): Server started
Mon Sep 17 2012 16:30:10.172000 (TID 2300): Non-secure port: 27997
Mon Sep 17 2012 17:24:17.623000 (TID 2536): (UID 604) ERROR 0x99503: “FILE: ..\..\sources\VKernel\Fbl\prot\Structure\VarChar\FBL_VarCharFile.cpp FUNCTION: fbl::VarCharFile::BinarySearch LINE: 497” Varchar data “” is corrupted.
Mon Sep 17 2012 17:24:18.122000 (TID 2540): (UID 604) ERROR 0x99503: “FILE: ..\..\sources\VKernel\Fbl\prot\Structure\VarChar\FBL_VarCharFile.cpp FUNCTION: fbl::VarCharFile::BinarySearch LINE: 497” Varchar data “” is corrupted.
Mon Sep 17 2012 17:25:27.449000 (TID 2552): (UID 604) Client has been suddenly disconnected

I checked out my DS 4.5 and it was not registered.  I tried registered it with my purchased DS 4 Pro serial number - it came up with a green check mark but does not update.

Then I tried with my free serial number - nothing.

I cannot register it.

I would try reinstalling, but I don’t think that will do anything.  unless I delete the files that are causing this coruption.

Any ideas?

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Gallery http://namrettek.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 11:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

Yup, the databases are left behind on a re-install. 

It looks like your database is corrupt for some reason.

I would:
Manually uninstall DAZ Studio via add/remove programs.
Manually uninstall the DAZ Content Management Service via add/remove programs.
Remove the databases folder.
Reinstall DS4 which will reinstall the CMS and the default database.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 12:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2009-06-17
adamr001 - 17 September 2012 11:43 AM

Yup, the databases are left behind on a re-install. 

It looks like your database is corrupt for some reason.

I would:
Manually uninstall DAZ Studio via add/remove programs.
Manually uninstall the DAZ Content Management Service via add/remove programs.
Remove the databases folder.
Reinstall DS4 which will reinstall the CMS and the default database.


Thanks for the suggestion.

That’s what I did the first time.  I did it again.  And just to go overkill I deleted all the folders, restarted, ran ccleaner and cleaned the registry, restarted.  Reinstalled and it is RUNNING again.

Now to test Goz again and see if it chews up my database.  I suspect Goz is what did it.  Because it ruined Poser pro, too.  But I did find a fix for that.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Gallery http://namrettek.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 12:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

GoZ shouldn’t have anything do with the database.  It really sounds more like a file system corruption to me…

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2009-06-17

I honestly have no idea. 

I just know that my database was working fine ever since I installed DS4.5 official release.

Then I have been doing a figure in zbrush that I have taken in to DS.  After a few days suddenly my database went crazy.  Started showing exclamation marks.  Died.  Resurected in a messed up state and then stopped running altogether.

One thing that I did do was I stopped my database and then restarted as per a tutorial suggestion - I did that while Daz Studio was NOT running.


But either way - It’s working again now!!

Thanks for your advice.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Gallery http://namrettek.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2012 02:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2012-01-09

I think I found out what the cause of the Content Management Service corruption issue may be.

http://daz3dstudiolibrary.wordpress.com/2012/09/12/daz3d-studio-4-tips-and-tricks-content-management-service/

Instead of explaining it I wrote a blog post. Everything has been running smoothly since.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 06:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2004-10-04

I’m having the same issue in that my CMS stops working shortly after I load up Daz.  Here’ my vlog:

Mon Apr 8 2013 17:50:36.322000 ContentManagementServer (4.8, Kernel 4.8 )
Licence license_emb_(deleted) is registered to DAZ3D.
Valid until 9999-12-31. Subscription valid until 2013-02-08.
Maximum number of connections: 5


Mon Apr 8 2013 17:50:36.354000 (TID 5044): VProject facilities are disabled since no appropriate license found
Mon Apr 8 2013 17:50:36.354000 (TID 5044): Server started
Mon Apr 8 2013 17:50:36.354000 (TID 5044): Non-secure port: 27997
Mon Apr 8 2013 17:51:45.992000 (TID 5400): (UID 444) ERROR 0x99503: “FILE: ..\..\sources\VKernel\Fbl\prot\Structure\VarChar\FBL_VarCharFile.cpp FUNCTION: fbl::VarCharFile::BinarySearch LINE: 497” Varchar data “” is corrupted.

Before I try the fix you posted here I wanted to know if I am going to loose all my category links I’ve created with my content.  The Daz/poser file structures are a nightmare for me to find anything so I have all my content organized under categories in the content library.  I really really don’t want to have to recreate that again if I don’t have to.  If I do the fix posted above…ie uninstall and re-install Daz and the CMS will I loose all those connections?  And if I do, is there a way I can back those up now before I uninstall?


thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 07:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13601
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, you will lose your customisations if you remove the database as a whole. Try stopping the CMS (if it isn’t already), going to the folder with the database files in it and removing only the .ind file, then restart the CMS and then DS. That may fix the issue, and won’t remove your existing customisations.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 April 2013 06:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2004-10-04

It seems like it’s the older Gen 3 poses (and some older Gen 4) that cause the CMS to shut down. If I uninstall them, Daz goes back to working as normal.  Are older poses a known issue or is that something I should bug report?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 April 2013 07:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13601
Joined  2003-10-09

I doubt it’s the content, but it might be a bad .dsx file in the Support folder so if you can figure put which that would be worth a report.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile