Digital Art Zone

 
     
Changing Default Location for Libraries for Studio
Posted: 14 September 2012 06:04 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  96
Joined  2003-10-09

Hi,

I have partitioned my hard disk, with a view to moving “most” of my data (as much as possible) from my installed programs to the second partition.

As part of this overall operation, I wish to move the DAZ Studio default installation library C:\users\...\documents\...\My Library to D:\users\...\documents\...\My Library..

This should extend to the point where if I am installing a new DS product the default library during the installation should point to the location in the second partition.

I could not find this in the preferences.

Any help appreciated.

thanks,
Andrew

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 06:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

No such animal: You need to point everything by hand. Prefs> Content Library>Content Directory Manager to set your new content path/s in DS. You will need to Point all installers to the new path at install time. Some will default to the last path used but always check never just assume.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 06:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

That’s usually a registry entry.  It’s not exposed in any preferences, but the next time you run an installer, if you select Custom, you should be able to tell it to go where you want and then that should (hopefully) update the location for future installs.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 08:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2347
Joined  2003-12-06
Jaderail - 14 September 2012 06:19 PM

Some will default to the last path used but always check never just assume.

<nod> Several people have been bitten by this since D|S4.0 came out — the new version changed the default content location, but older installers didn’t know about this. Anyone just clicking through “install with default settings” frequently ended up with the new files in the wrong place because the installer assumed the old default was still valid. Never install with defaults, always use the customise setting so you can see if the installer is actually about to put files in the right place.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile